$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Thistle Glasgow Hotel

4 stars
View map of Cambridge Street, Glasgow, G2 3HN

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Perfect overnight stay

Just what I wanted! A restful, quite luxurious overnight bath & bed before continuing my journey.... See full review

  • Mrsdavesmum
  • Dec 4, 2014
great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions. See full review

  • munchies
  • Mar 30, 2014
Located in Glasgow's city center, near the Central Train Station, Thistle Glasgow is an ideal base for exploring the many galleries and museums. The Hotel is near Princes Square as well as near Hampden Park for football or music events or The Armadillo at SECC, making it the perfect hotel for concerts in Glasgow. Scotland's largest city, Glasgow now rivals London as a place to shop, dine and do business. Thistle Glasgow is located in the so-called 'Golden Z' formed by Buchanan, Sauchiehall and Argyle Streets - two-and-a-half miles of shopping heaven right in the city center. Thistle Glasgow makes an ideal base for exploring the city's many galleries, museums and other attractions. The birthplace of Art Nouveau pioneer Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Glasgow is a former European City of Culture and is a fantastic short break destination. At Thistle Glasgow, the hotel have 300 bedrooms and 18 meeting rooms; the largest, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 people theater-style. The hotel also have 200 on-site parking spaces available at an additional charge. The Thistle Glasgow is a non-smoking hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Glasgow Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Thistle Glasgow Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer TV and ensuite bathroom with bath and shower as well as BT Openzone wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel are quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, TVs and ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. Our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. The hotel is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed and a large work desk. And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax and unwind in the luxury ensuite bathroom.
Executive King Room
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms at our hotel in Glasgow offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast a flat screen satellite TV and ensuite bathrooms with walk-in power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. You'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. And with fantastic views overlooking the city, your stay will feel just that bit extra special, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Executive 2 Double Room
Larger than our Standard rooms, Executive Double Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow provide plenty of space for two luxury double beds and a large work desk. The rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast of a LCD colour TV and en-suite bathrooms with power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The hotel room also benefits from BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. With fantastic views of Glasgow city, Thistle Glasgow hotel is perfect for business and pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Celtic Park: 2.2 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 7.6 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.7 mi

Dining

The Annlann Restaurant
The Annlann Restaurant offers a choice of delicious home cooked British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines to complement your meal.
Cabin Bar
The informal Cabin Bar is the perfect place to relax with a wide selection of hot and cold drinks available throughout the day along with a wide range of mouth-watering snack and light meals.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's largest function room, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 guests, making it suitable for large conferences, gala dinners and awards ceremonies: it's also one of Glasgow's most glamorous wedding venues. The hotel also have 17 further meeting rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tracie
ayrshire scotland
Jul 11, 2012

great deal

i dont have a bad word to say about my stay at the thistle hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pesto on st vincent street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNH
Business
Aberdeen
Apr 14, 2015

Weekend break

Enjoyed our two days break n the hotel was great .. Only felt that swimming pool n dining room were not big enough for size if hotel but would recommend hotel to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNH
Business
Aberdeen
Apr 8, 2015

Great weekend

The room was twin n adequate n comfortable ... My only slight problem was the restaurant ... tables are so close together we found it uncomfortable n the breakfast food although good was not always hot ... The whole place did not seem big enough for the occupation capacity ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNH
Business
Aberdeen
Apr 8, 2015

Theatre weekend

Comfortable n friendly n secure but pool and restaurant far too small for the amount of people and rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parent
Business
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

Lovely hotel location

Lovely hotel location! Beautiful lobby & great front desk attentive staff. However, if you have any children- be warned, they won't allow them in the pool or spa tub unless you are in the water in suit WITH them. Ratio of 1 adult per 2 children. I understand water safety- but my kids are advanced swimmers. These rules are not publicized and therefore I did not pack a suit ( coming from states) and I had 3 very sad kids for 8 days/ 7 nights. They would even let me sit poolside and allow them in. Think with paying for amenities, I would be able to use them . Also front desk told me they couldn't get restaurant res at a place I found on yelp- but when we walked there, the place was empty & tables & dining was very much available.... Weird. I don't want to bring the review down- it's a lovely hotel & great location! Just a warning to families!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Audrey G.
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Valentine treat

Lovely hotel, food nice, amenities good buthing drinks in the bar very overpriced. Better going to jacksons pub across the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsdavesmum
Business
Cardiff, Wales
Dec 4, 2014

Perfect overnight stay

Just what I wanted! A restful, quite luxurious overnight bath & bed before continuing my journey. Reasonable taxi trip from the airport, though I should have researched the walk to the train station next day! Very helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baldie
Business
Fence Lancashire
Aug 30, 2014

Business show

Good hotel, good sized car park. Good location (useful for customer visits).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Huffy
Business
Stirling
Aug 18, 2014

Excellent

I attended tha Team Scotland dinner at the hotel and stayed overnight! The food at the dinner was superb and of such high quality that made for a brilliant evening. The room was huge with 2 double beds and breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. I would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
munchies
Business
swansea
Mar 30, 2014

great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
feefee
Business
dumfries
Jan 21, 2014

Great Stay...but

Great Stay, lovely hotel, although this time did see the room needing a bit of tarting up. Stains on bathroom ceiling and shower not in good working order. Food fabulous. All in all had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top