$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Glasgow Pond Hotel

3 stars
Great Western Road, Glasgow, G12 OXP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
18 reviews
Glasgow trip made comfortable from the pond hotel

A last minute booking, which was a easy service to follow, we arrived for an event held in the city... See full review

  • bakess
  • May 22, 2014
Visiting family

This hotel ticked just about all of our boxes; we come up to Glasgow quite a lot and our... See full review

  • Geordie Marian
  • Jun 25, 2014
Free Internet at convenient and affordable hotel in Glasgow’s West End
The Glasgow Pond Hotel, located in Glasgow's West End, offers guests an affordable option without compromising quality service and accommodations. Conveniently accessible to the city center, the hotel boasts a bar and brasserie, meeting and event space, free Wi-Fi Internet access and free guest parking. Guests of the Glasgow Pond Hotel also enjoy room service in 137 comfortable suites and 24-hour reception in case a question or concern should arise.

 

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free guest parking
  • On-site dining
  • Guests under 15 stay for free with paying adults

 

Rooms
Expect simple, modern-esque accommodations with colorful, padded headboards and functional furnishings at the Glasgow Pond Hotel. Guests choose between double or twin superior rooms. Double rooms include queen beds while twins offer two twin beds. Both rooms include cable TV, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi Internet access, kettle, radio, room service, private bathroom, coffee maker and telephone. Family rooms, built to house two adults and two children, include complimentary cots and highchairs and offer a children's menu. Guests under 15 stay free when sharing a room with two adults. Additionally, laundry service is available six days a week and guests enjoy all-day dining at the on-site Brasserie at the Pond.

 

Features
Aside from the free Wi-Fi Internet access, the Glasgow Pond Hotel's easy accessibility to the airport and city center makes it a viable option for an affordable, yet convenient, stay. Take the hotel shuttle downtown and enjoy a day of culture and excitement including a stroll through the Golden Z, a stretch of premier shopping. Or visit any number of museums such as the Museum of Religion, the Gallery of Modern Art or the renowned Burrell Collection in Pollock Park. The Glasgow Pond Hotel is close to many sports venues and widely supports the Scottish Premier League Football team. People watching, mixed with an architecture tour is a perfectly viable option as a way to spend the day.

 

Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Queen Street rail station (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Glasgow Central train station (3.6 mi/5.6 km)

 

Attractions
  • Glasgow School of Art (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Golden Z (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Hampden Park (6 mi/9.7 km)

 

Business­
  • Four meeting rooms with seating for 10 to 130 attendees
  • Business center and services available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Glasgow Pond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Glasgow Pond Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with double bed, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, hairdryer, laptop safe and blackout curtains. Sleeps 2 (space for a cot)
Double or Twin Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with king bed as standard*, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom with power shower, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, hairdryer, laptop safe and blackout curtains. *Should you require the room to be set with two single beds please advise the hotel. Sleeps 2 (space for a cot)
Twin Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with 2 single beds, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, hairdryer, laptop safe and blackout curtains. Sleeps 2 (space for a cot)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.3 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 1.9 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.9 mi
  • SECC: 2.1 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 2.2 mi
  • King's Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 2.6 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 2.6 mi
  • ScotRail: 2.7 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 2.7 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 3.1 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.3 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 1.9 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.9 mi
  • SECC: 2.1 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 2.2 mi
  • King's Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 2.6 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 2.6 mi
  • ScotRail: 2.7 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 2.7 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 3.1 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 3.6 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hampden Park: 4.4 mi
  • Celtic Park: 4.6 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 5.9 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 10 mi

Dining

Brasserie
The Brasserie is a great place to meet, eat and drink in stylish and vibrant surroundings. Enjoy great value food all day every day!
Brasserie Bar
Brasserie Bar is a place where you can relax in style. Open all day, you can enjoy great coffee and homemade cake or fine wine, beer and malts. Lite bites are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Glasgow Pond Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geordie Marian
Business
Stockton on Tees
Jun 25, 2014

Visiting family

This hotel ticked just about all of our boxes; we come up to Glasgow quite a lot and our experiences of some of the hotels we have stayed at has been pretty dire. I am partially disabled and although the room was not fully disbled friendly it was able to accommodate the various gadgets that I travel with. it was clean and comfortable, it was easy to park and it was reasonabley close to our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bakess
Business
bournemouth
May 22, 2014

Glasgow trip made comfortable from the pond hotel

A last minute booking, which was a easy service to follow, we arrived for an event held in the city and it was perfect place to stay. the cleanliness was superb, impressed with the bathroom and facilities available in the room, hot drinks, towels, bathroom accessories. one thing that stood out was how clean all the materials were, bed sheets. top marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

for access and ease, the city is very big and full of shops for a good experience, recommend just jumping a taxi as its busy for parking on the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
needabreak
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Apr 30, 2014

Overnighter

Pleasant and professional. Was happy with my stay. The hotel internal environment was really quiet which was great. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbow
Business
Meriden, CT
Dec 13, 2013

First trip to Scotland

The hotel experience was good from my viee. Minus the construction (which we recieved no warning for) the room and staff were great. I'd come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyndland train takes you right into downtown Glasgow for all shopping needs. Take the same train for an hour ride and be in historical and whiskey central Edinburgh. Easy travel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcoandcarola
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Nov 4, 2013

Pond Hotel

Location made it easy to drive to airport early in the morning. Convenient to bus lines to get to city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Kerr
Business
Poole, Dorset
Oct 28, 2013

Good location & good value

Everything good, staff friendly breakfast good room perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracey D
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Apr 1, 2013

Family visit

The Pond is located in the West End of Glasgow which was perfect for me to visit family and friends in Knightswood and Drumchapel. Excellent location for buses and trains into the center of Glasgow, rooms were kept very clesn and the entire staff is very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bankieboy
Business
Melrose, Scotland
Dec 3, 2012

Overnight stay.

Incredibly reasonable price of £61 after exchange from $. Room cleanliness is marked down only because it was a smoking room but we were apologised to at check-in. Staff is marked down as at 7am on Sunday morning the cleaner came into the room. She was apologetic but key card system should show the room is occupied. Breakfast was surprisingly good and at the price we paid we would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylv
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Jul 29, 2012

A little noisy

The hotel is conveniently located since it has a service station with a small grocery store in front and is well served by buses to the city. Our room was noisy, from people chatting while having a smoke outside or our neighbors having a loud drunk argument. Maybe we were just not lucky with our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
auntie ed
Business
aberdeen scotland
Jun 9, 2012

excellent short stay

Only spent 1 night at this hotel but would be happy to return and recommend it to others. For the very reasonable rate we were charged, there is absolutely nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top