$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

3 stars
Charlwood, CHARLWOOD, London Gatwick, RH6 0EL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
13 reviews
Not having to travel overnight!

good price for staying before flying and so not completely worn out on arrival of holiday. Food not... See full review

  • Birthday treat mum
  • Jun 3, 2013
Excellent stopover hotel

Spacious "faded glory" style, fully updated and functional Victorian hotel in a very pleasant rural... See full review

  • Edderwin
  • May 9, 2013
The Russ Hill Gatwick airport hotel is located just 4 miles from the airport in the charming village of Charlwood.Set in nine acres of countryside, The Russ Hill Hotel offers friendly service, a convenient location and excellent facilities The Charlwood hotel combines 19th century architecture and the serenity of the countryside with modern amenities. Russ Hill Hotel offers 130 bedrooms and conference facilities for up to 300 people.The Russ Hill Hotel's excellent location makes it the perfect value stopover before or after flying. The Charlwood Hotel offers plenty of on-site parking and you can book any of the Park, Stay and Fly Packages online.Please Note* From 6th September 2014 our bus service will change to Service 40 from the Russ Hill Hotel to Gatwick Airport Starting from 4am - 20.30pm and Service 50 from Gatwick to The Russ Hill Hotel starting 4.15am -20.45pm. Charges are Adults 3.50 and Child 2.00 each way.

Hotel Map

51.1472 -0.2444
Area served
Gatwick Airport; Charlwood
Nearby airports
Gatwick Airport
Area description
The Russ Hill Hotel in Surrey is situated in charming English countryside in the village of Charlwood, only 4 miles from Gatwick Airport.

London is within easy reach of Gatwick airport hotel with The Gatwick Express train running non-stop from London Victoria every 15 minutes. The journey takes 30 minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The 3 star hotel is located in a historical 19th century manor house and so each of rooms is unique. The hotel rooms near Gatwick are decorated with cosy wood panelling and fresh modern interiors.The 3 star Gatwick accommodation features En-suite bathroom * TV * Direct dial telephone * Tea and coffee making facilities * Hairdryer

Amenities

Services
Conference facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Russ Hill Hotel offers conference facilities to meet the needs of the discerning delegate with 5 meeting rooms in Gatwick. The Russ Hill Hotel can accommodate up to 300 delegates in largest meeting room the Kendal Suite. The Kendal suite offers 4,860 square feet of conference space.

Manor Royal Industrial Estate which hosts many local and international businesses is just 3 miles from business hotel in Gatwick.

The Russ Hill Hotel offers guests the opportunity to celebrate their marriage in style. The hotel is licensed for weddings and civil partnerships and provides the perfect wedding venue. The hotel has the ideal English countryside setting for anything from an intimate reception to a wedding with 300 guests. The hotel will create a bespoke reception and ensure the hotel provides a day for you to remember.

The Russ Hill Hotel offers excellent support services provided by friendly and efficient staff and delightful countryside surroundings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hemo
Business
devon
Oct 17, 2014

not very good

the room was so bad that we never stayed there we booked in then went to the room took one looked in and walk out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justyna
Business
crawley
Oct 14, 2013

ic could be better..

We came to hotel around 10:30,to smoking room. We forgot our lighter from the car. When we ask one of the staff he said "if u want to smoke,bring Your lighter" and just went. Fuuul of dust,specialy on pics,in wardrobe. Carpet not hoovered for ages,specially carped edges. Dirty glass,dirty pillowcase. A lot of things about clininess. No cosmetisc-just a little bit in box(almost end...).Only 2 coffee. ONe of the worst...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reallya3star
Business
Florida
Oct 6, 2013

I cried

I was overwhelmed by the old musty smell and the staff was scary. The room was the kind you don't want to put your feet on the floor, the furnishings were outdated and tacky and my husband was checking the bed in the middle of the night for crawly things. I really have no idea why they are a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Half Moon for dinner and the public path walk were the only saving graces of this hotel stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday treat mum
Business
Southampton
Jun 3, 2013

Not having to travel overnight!

good price for staying before flying and so not completely worn out on arrival of holiday. Food not overly wonderful but adequate - rather crowded when everyone wanting to eat at around the same time Stayed on way back too - to be rested for drive home - unfortunate that return stay had been booked for wrong day & even year! but hey ho

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edderwin
Business
Suffolk UK
May 9, 2013

Excellent stopover hotel

Spacious "faded glory" style, fully updated and functional Victorian hotel in a very pleasant rural location, with ample parking and just 4 miles from Gatwick. The staff were helpful (whatever time of day or night) and whilst many families with young children were guests, rooms were peaceful, clean and fully equipped. Airport shuttle frequent and efficient - all in all a restful, easy and economic overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check shuttle times and meeting point location at airport, with the hotel before travelling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Royledivat
Business
Suffolk
Feb 16, 2013

Good value

I thought the Russ Hill hotel was very good value for money, having paid £25 for a room. We also found the room was very quiet and the buffet in the restaurant good value as well in addition to being decent quality. The only thing we would complain about is the 'complimentary bus service to and from the hotel'. It was free to get to the hotel but £5 each to get back to the airport. Seems like a trades description issue. However, hotel much better than I anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gwapomaxi
Business
Southampton
Jan 23, 2013

Cheap and nice!

Paid 25£ for overnight !!! The room was clean and big enough!! Old furnished but I like it !!! Free car park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expatricia
Business
France
Sep 22, 2012

Good basic value

Having read some horrific reviews after booking this hotel I arrived in some trepidation! I found reception staff helpful, entrance clean. My room was basic but clean, well stocked with tea/coffee and a tv that worked. Yes the bathroom was a little disapointing (flush didn't work without a bit of tlc) but again it was clean. Could do with a fresh lick of paint, but overall it was good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poppyroz
Business
Wales
Sep 1, 2012

Very good value but noisy

We paid £38 for a twin bedroom for one night - the room was small but clean and had everything we needed including comfortable beds. The hotel has very friendly and helpful staff and a delicious eat all you want carvery on site. Lovely location and close to the airport. My only complaint would be that the room was not in any way sound proofed and we were woken up at night by loud people coming back from the bar (It sounded like they were in opur room!) and again in the morning by people who were presumably getting up for an early flight and the start up of a generator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLett
Business
Killeen, TX
Jul 2, 2012

Charming Hotel

Although this is a hotel it seems more like a little B&B. It is in a remote part of town. They provide a free shuttle from the Gatwick airport to the hotel. The shuttle from the hotel to the airport is £5 per adult, which is a little expensive but you can catch a train from the airport, which helps you get out & about. They have a bar that we enjoyed. The Steak & Chips deal was well priced & very good. Our biggest complaint was that the description said internet access included which we took to mean there would be internet in the room but that was not the case. They do have free wifi available in the public areas but not even hard wired in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There is no internet available from your room, only in public areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top