$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

3 stars
Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, Gatwick, RH10 7ZR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
20 reviews
I would definitely recommend this hotel..

Atleast over 25% cheaper than any other hotels.. Its ok for short stay.. Free carpark is my fav.... See full review

  • AnaR
  • Apr 2, 2014
brilliant overnight stay

great experience, lovely location, wish i could have stayed longer!! See full review

  • leanne
  • Aug 26, 2012
This pretty hotel with Spanish and Mediterranean architecture offers comfort, value and first class facilities. The fabulous courtyard with a fountain and landscaped gardens are the perfect place to sit and relax. All 211 traditional styled bedrooms are en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a Health and Leisure club where you can make the most of your stay. The 13 Conference rooms have first class facilities and can hold up to 132 people, great for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas around the hotel. Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: Per Session:- 4.00 for an adult and 2.00 for a child. Gold Card (allows access to the Spindles Leisure Club for up to one week):- 10.00 for an adult and 5.00 for a child. Towels are available for hire at a cost of 1.00. Children under 16 years of age must be accompanied by an adult and are not permitted in the gymnasium Pet policy as follows: Cats and Dogs are allowed at a cost of 10GBP per pet, per night. Other pets are allowed upon request

Hotel Map

51.1054 -0.1445
Area served
Crawley.
Nearby airports
Gatwick International Airport.
Area description
Crawley.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport Rooms

Standard Twin/Double
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes individual heat and A/C.
Standard Single
Room with one twin bed includes individual heat and A/C.
Family Room
Room with one double bed and one twin bed includes individual heat and A/C.
Lodge - 1 double bed
These rooms are located within the Lodge which is situated in the grounds of the Europa Gatwick Hotel. They each offer a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2.9

30% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leanne
nottingham
Aug 26, 2012

brilliant overnight stay

great experience, lovely location, wish i could have stayed longer!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael
Not Provided
Apr 12, 2010

Old hotel in poor condition. Beds

Old hotel in poor condition. Beds very uncomfortable. Would not recommend for more than an overnight/transit stop. Cheap for the area though and does have free parking - if you can find a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnaR
Gatwick
Apr 2, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel..

Atleast over 25% cheaper than any other hotels.. Its ok for short stay.. Free carpark is my fav. Staffs are ok! Never manage to get my smoking room in my last 3 stays which i am extremely unhappy about.. lol.. I would definitely recommend this hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kovah
Nashvillle, TN
Jan 23, 2014

Not bad for a night or two

Room was tiny, electric kettle for coffee was not very clean, but buffet meals were good and staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The Lanes in Brighton

Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet Driver
UK
Dec 19, 2012

Noisy

We stayed two nights one of which was extremly noisy with slamming doors and shouting. If you stay in the side lodges the walls are very thin. I guess you get what you pay for !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
neveragaininthis lifetime
uk
Sep 2, 2013

looking tired.

Looking tired. Thats the hotel not me. Good location, very busy with weddings at weekends, disgusting food (we ordered takeaway pizza in the end) the place is in desperate need of modernisation. Had it on a last minute deal paid 120 for nights. Was amazed it should have cost 300. Would never pay the full price. Very very friendly staff though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike Fox
Crawley
Mar 23, 2013

Frustratingly lacking

All in all this was not a bad hotel, the price was the cheapest I could find and for that it was probably a good deal. They could have charged higher prices for food within the premises, as getting anything outside would have been difficult, there are no nearby shops or restaurants. So fair play for them for being reasonable. Unfortunate that WIFI was not available in the rooms (not even an option to purchase) No hotspots at all! The lack of mobile phone signal anywhere except near windows and outside doors was frustrating. It was not just my carrier. Public areas were cold and noisy at times. Staff could have smiled more. Sometimes the heating in the room just would not work. TV reception was lousy. Though water was hot, rooms were light, quiet and cosy enough. If you are looking for a stop over, just for a bed for a night then this would be cheap and cheerful and I'd have no real justified complaints at all - longer stays where you want to make use of basic things like TV, WIFI, doing some work or even being able to use your mobile then i'd look elsewhere and pay more for these extras - though they should be expected as standard in any hotel these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tempe, AZ
Jan 28, 2010

Not so sure about this one

I was so excited to stay at this hotel but my expectations were sadly misplaced. [...] check-in was O.K., but there was no real friendliness and absolutely no offer to help an older person with her luggage considering that the room was in another building and the way to it outside. While the room was super small, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in at a hotel of this ranking.Parking was the worst issue. I carry a handicapped sticker but there wasn't a parking place to be found closer than approximately 1/4th of a mile from my room. I assumed this was because of functions but no, turns out people can park at this hotel and then go away for a holiday. Instead of having a car park at the back, people park wherever they want. Not once in 48 hours did the cars in the handicapped spaces move. When I spoke to the duty manager about this, he listened but offered no apology and no assurance that he would pass on the concerns to management.In addition, if you were rooming in the Britannia Lodge, you had to walk to the main hotel in order to use the internet (which, it was true, was free). The common spaces in the Lodge did not have internet available.I did not eat at the hotel but my cousin has and assured me that breakfast was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zannah
Bournemouth
Apr 7, 2014

You get what you pay for!

I was a bit disappointed by the room. Admittedly we only paid £35 for a quick over night stay but the room wasn't big enough to swing a cat in and the bed was tiny too. The bathroom left a lot to be desired too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Europa Hotel Gatwick Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ray Allen
Ireland
Aug 11, 2012

Poor Hotel

Room was not clean when we arrived and had a smell of damp. Hallways also had a foul smell in places. Overall hotel could do with an upgrade internally, very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search