Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

4 stars
Copthorne Way, Copthorne West Sussex, Gatwick, RH10 3PG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
15 reviews
A nice surprise

Apart from the excellent hotel and its amenities the best part of out stay here was Marina at... See full review

  • B Grant
  • Dec 10, 2013
Just a short stay

I was so thrilled i finally found a really nice hotel, i stayed there coming into England &... See full review

  • Mauren Parker Mo
  • Mar 26, 2013
The Copthorne Hotel Gatwick is a charming 4-star country house-style hotel only a few minutes from London Gatwick Airport and the M23, with inclusive long-term airport parking packages available. The hotel is ideally located, with easy access to the many attractions in the local area such as Wakehurst Place, Brighton Sea Life Centre, Leonarslee Gardens, Nymans Gardens and Lingfield Park Race Course. Our rooms are spacious and well appointed with a comfortable seating, with features including satellite TV, pay movies, internet via TV, trouser press, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. All beds have duvets to provide that extra level of comfort. Set in 100 acres of tranquil woodlands and gardens, when it's time to unwind, try the leisure club, with its fully-equipped gym, squash courts, swimming pool and steam room. The Brasserie restaurant has an excellent choice from the char-grill or the stove and also includes a visit to our salad bar with a choice of freshly prepared salads and individual dressings. Enjoy afternoon tea, a light meal or a selection of salads and sandwiches in the tranquil library bar. The White Swan, our quaint traditional Sussex pub offers tasty rustic meals and overlooks the pond and spacious garden. For a special treat, visit our sumptuous Lion D'Or restaurant where you can enjoy fine dining in an intimate setting. There is a small overnight charge of 5.00 gbp for parking whilst resident at the hotel. There is a shuttle service to and from the hotel to Gatwick airport approximately every hour, leaving the hotel from 04:27 to 00:27, from South Terminal 04:46 to 00:46, from North Terminal 04:53 to 00:53. The cost for adults at GBP 4.50 and children between 6 - 12 at GBP 2.50 each way.

Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick Rooms

Club King
Executive Club King room with king size bed and bath including access to Club Lounge with complimentary tea and coffee and free use of the PC. These rooms are well appointed with features including satellite TV with free movies and high speed Internet access, bath robes, chocolates, a bottle of mineral water, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press and iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
These rooms are spacious with a comfortable seating area. They are well appointed with features including satellite TV, pay movies, internet via TV, trouser press, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. All beds have duvets to provide that extra level of comfort and one movie is included FREE.
Club Room
Club rooms offer exclusive access to the Club Lounge and are specifically designed with the business traveller in mind. The Lounge offers complimentary tea and coffee with free use of the PC and is an ideal working environment for meeting colleagues. In room facilities include satellite TV with free movies and High speed Internet access, a bottle of mineral water, air conditioning, trouser press, iron and board and safe. All beds have duvets to provide that extra level of comfort.
Club Plus Room
Exclusive access to Club Lounge; Complimentary wifi & continental breakfast, free newspaper and mineral water, selection of upgraded toiletries
Superior Room
Family room includes one double bed and two single beds, accommodating a maximum of 4 guests with a maximum of 3 adults.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

51.1327 -0.1242
Area served
Hever Castle, Brighton Pavilion, Wakehurst Place, Bluebell Railway, Lingfield Park, Hickstead Jumping Course, Sheffield Park Garden, Denbies Wine Estate
Nearby airports
Gatwick International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is ideally located with easy access to main attractions in the local area and only a short drive to Brighton, or a short hop to Gatwick Airport which takes just ten minutes. Leave at Junction 10 of M23, take first exit towards East Grinstead and at the next roundabout take the third exit into the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Wide range of flexible rooms and suites accommodating up to 150. Extensive selection of executive meeting and private dining rooms. Four well-appointed boardrooms each comfortably accommodating up to 12 delegates. WiFI connectivity and advanced audio-visual support with enhanced accoustics. Licence for civil wedding ceremonies.

Dining

The Brasserie
The Brasserie restaurant has an excellent choice from the char-grill or the stove and also includes a visit to our salad bar with a choice of freshly prepared salads and individual dressings
White Swan Pub
Our quaint traditional Sussex pub is located within the original 16th century farmhouse, overlooking the pond and spacious garden area and serves tasty rustic meals.
Library Bar
Enjoy afternoon tea, a light meal or a selection of salads and sandwiches in the tranquil library bar.
Lion D'Or Restaurant
For a special treat, visit our sumptuous Lion D'Or restaurant where you can enjoy fine dining in an intimate setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Grant
Business
uk
Dec 10, 2013

A nice surprise

Apart from the excellent hotel and its amenities the best part of out stay here was Marina at reception. She was friendly, warm and welcoming and the perfect addition. This place is good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to the airport with airport parking right there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauren Parker Mo
Business
North Carolina, USA
Mar 26, 2013

Just a short stay

I was so thrilled i finally found a really nice hotel, i stayed there coming into England & leaving. It was so relaxing there, good food, cosy, and the staff was outstanding. Then when I got to the airport to fly back to the US. I was told that US AIR will not be coming into Gatwick anymore after March 31 2013. That is a big disappointment, I hate Heathrow airport and so do many many other people, US & British.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sleepy
Business
Bedford, UK
Sep 3, 2012

Very polite staff

It was so refreshing to come to a hotel whereby the staff (including management) actually smile at you and greet you regardless of the time of day - well done. We did have an issue to which the management solved quite happily without making me feel akward - which is the character of good quality. The room was fine, but perhaps a little musty as iy may not have been used for a while (there were two cobwebs above the bed - not a big deal, but for someone who does not like spiders it can be). Quality of food was good, perhaps the club lounge could be better stocked in the future with bottles of water (nice for those who don't drink tea or coffee). Overall a good hotel, and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolina Bob
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Fell short of expectations

This is the 4th or 5th time I have stayed at this hotel when passing through Gatwick, and for the first time my expereince wasn't so good. The room air onditioning wasn't working which meant the room got quite warm. Also the carpet in the room was dirty and in need of replacment. It is however still good value and very convenient for a one night stop at Gatwick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Normalnorm
Business
Carolina usa
Dec 23, 2010

Good basic hotel

The front desk was well run and efficient and speedy. The room although quite spacious was less than well planned. For some reason there was no hair dryer in the room, less costly rooms do have them. The rooms did look a little tired and need of a make over. Bed was comfortable and clean. I was using the shuttle to Gatwick but it seemed the hotel staff and transportation did not communicate with each other, you were on your own in that regard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Oct 7, 2010

Would recommend this hotel to everybody

location was perfect for our travels up to London, and the south coast. Quiet, helpful staff. Would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bus service was perfect,to either Crawley, or Gatwick. The food at the Hotel was very good, and the staff, well just great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga USA
Aug 1, 2010

Would not recomend!

The hotel grounds were the only nice thing about the hotel. The stay was so unpleasent that I forfetted the last nights charge for the room and relocated to the Holliday Inn Express in Crawley. The hotel was so dank and musty, it was unpleasent. I would not recommend this for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLORIDA, USA
Jun 6, 2010

GREAT PLACE***GREAT PRICE

This is the second time I have stayed here. First time with my wife, this time alone. Both were great experiences. The price is right....less than half of prices in London city....it is 10 min from Gatwick..... total 1hr from downtown London and the sights. Bus to/from Gatwick is at least 1/hr and sometimes 2/hr. The hotel is an old farmhouse...added to. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very attentive. There is a fine dining restaurant, a good breakfast/lunch restaurant, and a pub. What else do you need. The fitness center is an LA FITNESS club....fully staffed. The local village is walking distance and there is bus service to Crawley (4 miles) with lots of shopping, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Crawley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Ga
May 29, 2010

great location for London Gatwick

This is our fourth time at this hotel and we love it evey time. Great staff,easy accss to London Gatwick hotel, extremely peaceful cetting, wonderful rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albuquerque, NM
Apr 5, 2010

overall good hotel

the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. the guy at the front desk was able to help me with tips on the best way to travel and offered cheap things to do as a tourist. the area was very nice with lots of green, lots of trees and a great view from my hotel. it wasn't very far from the gatwick airport and therefore taxis were relatively cheap. the room was very clean and quaint and the staff did an excellent job of cleaning and straightening up every day. breakfast was good but on the expensive side as well as one of the hotel restaurants (lion d'or) but the food was still good. the only things i didn't like were there was no air conditioning in my room (or it just didn't work) and my room was on the top floor so it was very hot. also, the shuttle only runs once every hour which made it inconvenient to come and go as i pleased and so i took a taxi most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you want a great tour of london, take "the big bus tour". it's only 25 pounds for 24 hours and 30 pounds for 48 hours. i found other tours of london online and one of them was $140, so lots cheaper! you can also get on and off the bus as you please if you want to check out attractions along the way. it also includes one or two (can't remember) types of boat rides of the river thames. another money saver is a day travel card which you can buy at the train station. it allows you to take the train anywhere on the southern rail all day and it's also good for the underground so you can get around central london easier. it's only about 13 pounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top