$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

4 stars
Southernhay East, --, EXETER, EX1 1QF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
6 reviews
birthday celebration

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at this hotel. We all enjoyed it enormously. We always had smiling... See full review

  • Ann and Co
  • Apr 22, 2014
Great hotel !

We stayed in a family room - 2 adults and 2 kids under 5 - during the University of Exeter... See full review

  • Jon
  • Jan 10, 2011
Contemporary 4 star hotel located in the heart of Exeter, the Mercure Southgate Hotel neighbours the Cathedral, the shopping areas of Princesshay, Bedford Square & the historic Quay. The hotel is perfectly situated for short breaks & en-route to Cornwall.Flexible dining options suiting all tastes & occasions whether you are coming for business or for leisure. The hotel has a spa facility, with an indoor heated pool, sauna and fitness room. Free unlimited WIFI access.

Hotel Map

50.7222 -3.5267
Nearby airports
EXT, (EXT), 10.30, KM, W; PLH, (PLH), 73.50, KM, NE; BRS, (BRS), 108.00, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Rooms

1 Db bed Sup
Classic Family Guestroom. Classic Family Guest Rooms are spacious modern bedrooms with flatscreen TV and WiFi. Each room has a double bed, a sofa bed as well as en suite facilities. Climate Control in each room. Rollaway bed available on request.
1 Db bed Sup NS
Superior Double Guestroom. Superior Rooms in contemporary design. All rooms have double beds with ensuite facilities, AirCon, complimentary tray charge, newspaper and mineral water. In addition the rooms have TV, telephones & WiFi plus tea & coffee maki
1 Db bed Std
Classic Double or Twin Guestroom. Classic double rooms with en suite facilities providing bath & shower. Rooms are furnished with a modern and comfortable feel and are equipped with climate control, TV, telephone, tea & coffee making facilities plus fre
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 single beds. Classic twin rooms with en suite facilities providing bath & shower. Rooms are furnished with a modern and comfortable feel and are equipped with climate control, TV, telephone, tea & coffee making facilities plus free
1 Db bed Exec
Mercure Privilege Guestroom. Privilege Rooms are newly built in modern & contemporary design. Rooms include TV, newspaper, air conditioning & free WiFi, safe, a selection of refreshments plus bathrobe, slippers, bathroom with walk-in shower & full range

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Bath tub

Dining

CLOISTERS RESTAURANT
Cloisters restaurant features a wide range of Modern and traditional dishes in an elegant yet relaxed setting. Please note the Restaurant will be closed at selected times over the christmas period, please check with the hotel for opening times.
LOUNGE BAR & TERRACE
The lounge bar and Terrace are open all day, for a drink or for a light meal. 24 hour room service is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann and Co
Business
Aylesbury
Apr 22, 2014

birthday celebration

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at this hotel. We all enjoyed it enormously. We always had smiling friendly staff, from the managers to the cleaners. Breakfast was expensive for it not for a 2 for 1 deal they had for that weekend. The location of the hotel in Exeter could not be beaten. It was 5 minutes gentle walk from the shops and 5 minutes to the Quays. Our only problem was that we did not have enough time during our 3 day stay to enjoy the leisure facilities as much as we would have liked. Dinner at the hotel was excellent and we felt priced right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lazy Toad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GibboLesPaul
Business
West Sussex
Sep 13, 2012

Please can someone anser the phone!

On arrival in my room I noticed the toilet seat was loose and I went down to reception to ask to get it fixed which did happen while I was out eating. On return to hotel I fancied a drink (night cap) and could not be bothered to go down to the bar. I called room service and got no reply I called front desk and the same response, no reply! This is totally unacceptable for a 4* hotel. When I checked out another guest was also complaining about the lack of phone answering from front desk and room service. I expect this from an £80.00 a night 3* hotel. Would not stay at the any other Mercure hotels from now on, that will tell em!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bills - great breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
canda
Business
Athens, Greece
Oct 12, 2011

Charming English Hotel

Lovely hotel, well situated for Exeter. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent, especially dinner. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey for what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy eating a delicious dinner sitting in comfortable chairs in the bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon
Business
Whitstable
Jan 10, 2011

Great hotel !

We stayed in a family room - 2 adults and 2 kids under 5 - during the University of Exeter Graduation week. Despite the hotel being fully booked, staff were very professional, and we got an excellent family room. The bar and breakfast room were very modern with a great ambience. The hotel was in a great central location - it more than exceeded our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
May 21, 2010

Modern Hotel

The pool and hot tub were some of the best features of the hotel. Rooms were very large and clean and include use of a refrigerator. Would have liked free wireless internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Uland, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Great hotel

The only problem with the hotel is the limited parking. More limited now that they are adding 44 rooms and the parking area is smaller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top