$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

4 stars
View map of West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, Effingham, RH10 3EU

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
8 reviews
Very pleased at short notice business stay

I was very pleased to be a le to get a room on the night of a major business awards do at a... See full review

  • Fiona M.
  • Mar 24, 2015
My Incredible Stay

The Front Office staff [...] were absolutely incredible. The staff at the Terrrace - Stupendous. ... See full review

  • Peter Isaac
  • Nov 13, 2009
The Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick is an impressive 122 bedroom hotel built around an historic country house and set in 40 acres of parkland. Located just ten minutes away from Gatwick airport, we offer inclusive long-term airport parking packages, so you can start your holiday stress-free. The hotel boasts its own challenging 9-hole golf course as well as a 20m swimming pool, floodlit tennis courts and outstanding health club. The hotel is ideally located, close to many attractions and the South Coast. Our Terrace Restaurant, recipient of 2 RAC dining awards, offers innovative international cuisine with an accent on Mediterranean dishes together with an extensive selection of fine wines. Relax and unwind in our lounge Bar which is adjacent to our Terrace Restaurant overlooking our 20m indoor swimming pool or enjoy the sporting action in our Sports Bar, a relaxed bar serving informal snacks throughout the day. The hotel is ideally located close to many attractions such as Brighton, Tunbridge Wells, High Beeches Gardens, Hever Castle, Chiddingstone Castle, Hadlow Castle & Lullingstone Roman Villa and the South Coast. The Hotel is also unique in its conference facilites, providing the Millennium Suite which can accommodate 600 delegates-the only conference room of that size in the area. There is a shuttle service to and from the hotel to Gatwick airport approximately every hour, leaving the hotel from 04:20 to 00:20, from South Terminal 04:46 to 00:46, from North Terminal 04:53 to 00:53. The cost for adults at GBP 4.50 and children between 6 - 12 at GBP 2.50 each way.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$74
3.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$48
3.7 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$99
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$56
2.8 / 5 21 reviews
★★★
$61
3.5 / 5 27 reviews
★★★★
$93
4.3 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$73
3.8 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$86
3.6 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$123
4.8 / 5 5 reviews

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick Rooms

Classic Twin
With Standard Double or King beds, or two Standard Single beds, these rooms are spacious with a comfortable seating area and charming views of our extensive grounds and golf course. They are well appointed with features including satellite TV, Internet access via TV, pay movies, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and trouser press. One FREE movie is also included.
Club Room
This luxurious accommodation offers a King size double bed with private balcony from which to appreciate the superb views of the grounds. These rooms are well appointed with features including satellite TV with FREE movies and high speed Internet access, use of bathrobes, bottle of mineral water and chocolate bar. Also included are direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press and iron and ironing board.
Classic Double
With Standard Double or King beds, or two Standard Single beds, these rooms are spacious with a comfortable seating area and charming views of our extensive grounds and golf course. They are well appointed with features including satellite TV, Internet access via TV, pay movies, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and trouser press. One FREE movie is also included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Millennium Suite boasts over 1100m2 of uninterrupted floor space, accommodating 650 Dinner Dance, Reception or Theatre Style. A further 12 meeting rooms accommodating from 2 to 150 people. All meeting rooms have natural daylight and blackout facilities.

Dining

Sports Bar
The Sports Bar offers the perfect blend of an informal atmosphere and friendly service. Offering an extensive bar menu and wide selection of drinks. All major sporting events shown on the large screens.
Lounge Bar
Relax and unwind in our lounge Bar which is adjacent to our Terrace Restaurant overlooking our 20m indoor swimming pool.
Terrace Restaurant
The Terrace Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner, serving a variety of dishes to suit everyone's needs. The menu has a traditionally British theme which proves very popular.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiona M.
Business
N/A
Mar 24, 2015

Very pleased at short notice business stay

I was very pleased to be a le to get a room on the night of a major business awards do at a reasonable price. I was delighted with the room especially as it had an unexpected balcony (though too cold to use!). I usually struggle to sleep ina new bed but found the king size remarkably comfortable. Staff were very friendly and breakfast good. Some carpets are showing signs of wear but a very enjoyable stay and appreciated the lat check out time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smokey - the Traveller
Couples
San Francisco, Ca.
May 30, 2011

A mixed bag

Modern? No. Luxurious? No. Just an old faded beauty queen whose best years are long past. Big need for facelift and quality plastic surgery. The countryside/golf course setting is fantastic though - its too bad the facility does not come close to matching it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honeymooningpair
Couples
Nottingham
Nov 29, 2010

copthorne hotel

Takes about 8 mins in a taxi from Gatwick (cost £17!) but shuttle bus available during the day. Large gym and pool, both of which free to guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honeymooningpair
Couples
Nottingham
Nov 29, 2010

copthorne hotel

Takes about 8 mins in a taxi from Gatwick (cost £17!) but shuttle bus available during the day. Large gym and pool, both of which free to guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 5, 2010

Quaint little get away

The location was off the beaten path which made for a good getaway. The location did have disadvantages such as to and from travel relying mostly on bus travel on schedules. The staff was very friendly and helpful when asked or if questioned about places to see. Overall for a couples weekend I would recommend the hotel but for family there was limited activities for children. The family activities should be considered if your planning a trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pauline's cousin
Single
atlanta, ga
Jan 5, 2010

wonderful staff

the hotel was adequate for my needs, however the staff was exceptional. Very friendly and helpful. A little far from London for me but the bus service from the hotel to connection (train and other bus service) was very punctual to and from hotel. Wish there was a free shutle service from airport to hotel since I had not had a chance to change U.S. currency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter Isaac
Business
Chicago
Nov 13, 2009

My Incredible Stay

The Front Office staff [...] were absolutely incredible. The staff at the Terrrace - Stupendous. The lady who relentless kept my room clean throughout the week. I thank each one of you for one of the most memorable stays. You have a great bunch of people and that is what makes your place tick. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get On Line and Order from Cuzzino a Sri Lankan Take Away place, Amamzing Indian / Srilankan Foood.

Review of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Helena, Montana
Apr 22, 2009

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Their attention to detail and attentativeness to us were splendid. We have sailed on cruises for more than one hundred twenty nights in total and never received better care. The grounds are truly what one dreams they would be. I am not able to fully express my pleasure at having chosen the Copthorne for our stay. Lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top