$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Travelodge Edinburgh Central

2 stars
33 St. Mary's Street, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, EH1 1TA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
14 reviews
Five Star Value For Money

All other Hotels in Edinburgh were grossly over priced due to the Tattoo and Fringe Events. This... See full review

  • Grantyboy
  • Aug 12, 2012
Great location

The Edinburgh TraveLodge central is in a great location for just about everything. It's a... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 12, 2007
From the A1, follow signs to the city centre. After Meadow Bank Stadium take the left hand fork at the lights and follow the signs for the Royal Mile and Dynamic Earth Museum. The hotel is at the next lights after the Dynamic Earth Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Edinburgh Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rooms

DN
Description not provided
DSPN
Description not provided
DHZN
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Continental breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Express checkout
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Mile: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • People's Story: 0.2 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.2 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • People's Story: 0.2 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.2 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.5 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.5 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.7 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.8 mi
  • Newington: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity House: 1 mi
  • Georgian House: 1 mi
  • Arthur's Seat: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1.1 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Meadowbank: 1.1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1.1 mi
  • Mayfield: 1.2 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 14
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
2.7

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Natty
Business
Greater Manchester
Aug 22, 2012

During Festival Fringe / Tattoo

We'd struggled to find a hotel in Edinburgh even though we were booking 5 months in advance of our trip. We stumbled accross the Travellodge, and the location was what we were most interested in. It is quite central, and offered us easy access to both the castle and the various fringe locations we would be visiting during our stay... However, upon arriving I was very disappointed to see a billboard outside the front door advertising 'Rooms from £19'. We had paid a total of £264 for 2 nights Room Only. The price is ridiculous for what you get... Yes the room was clean, but the decor is tatty and needs replacing. The bathroom was also tatty, and we were only provided with one towel. Noisy neighbours isn't the hotels fault... but surely they can do something about the door closers which slam if you don't hold the door until it's fully closed. I would only stay here again if they re-consider the price. It is NOT a budget option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shsh
Business
E yorks
Aug 18, 2012

Terrible road noice

Right on main road which is cobbled. Closing window made virtually no difference to road noice. Could not hear tv over it and it went on 24/7! No sleep and terrible mattress didn't help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grantyboy
Business
Dundee
Aug 12, 2012

Five Star Value For Money

All other Hotels in Edinburgh were grossly over priced due to the Tattoo and Fringe Events. This was an excellent price for a stay in a Quality Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Everything was spot on and we could not fault the levels of service we received. Food and drink in the Hotel was excellent and well priced. Overall a five star experience for a budget cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Edinburgh Fringe and Tattoo Events nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becs
Business
Lancashire
Aug 11, 2012

Fringe Hotel

Stayed here as a young couple- we were only looking for something cheap and cheerful and that can be pretty hard to come by during August when the Fringe Festival is on, but it was good value for money and we had a quiet and comfortable stay. If you're looking for something special though- this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Byposax
Business
Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Jan 4, 2012

Hogmanay 2011/2

Mould in shower and also on walls by the windows - a bit of housekeeping care could remove it. Otherwise room OK. Car parking a bit of a problem. Appreciate it was hogmanay but £200 was still a bit steep but paid it anyway for the experience. Staff seemed a bit stressed on the night. Pleased there w s a bar and overall enjoyed stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Circus cafe in St Mary's street does excellent breakfasts/food and v friendly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centralia
Sep 15, 2008

One step above a Hostel

The location is great. That is the only positive thing I can say. Very primitive, No phones, housekeeping poor, towels are few and far between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 12, 2007

Great location

The Edinburgh TraveLodge central is in a great location for just about everything. It's a half-block to the Royal Mile and a short walk to the train station and bus. The price is right for the location. Didn't try the breakfast, but it appeared that those who did were satisfied. Spacious room compared to other central city hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a half-block to the Royal Mile and a short walk to the train station and bus (Princes Street between them), or to the old castle or the working palace. Our tour bus to the Highlands (Scotline) was right around the corner. Use the cash machine at the RSB a block or so away for the best exchange rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top