$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

The Scotsman Hotel

5 stars
20 North Bridge, Edinburgh, EH1 1TR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
54 reviews
Great Location!

Wonderful and courteous staff! Hotel was in great spot for walking to local attractions. Only... See full review

  • GeorgiaGal
  • May 25, 2014
Romantic city break

The Scotsman Hotel is a fantastic five star hotel. The staff from receptionist, maids and other... See full review

  • Stevie Bal
  • Feb 28, 2014
City center hotel housed in the Scotsman Newspaper’s former offices

The Scotsman Newspaper's baronial offices now house one of the most stylish hotels in the city. The hotel is just a minute's stroll from both Princes Street and the Royal Mile. The Scotsman blends the efficiency of the 21st century with careful design, attention to the comfort of guests, and the best in Scottish hospitality. Novel features throughout the building create a unique experience.

Highlights
  • Historic and cultural setting
  • Central location
  • Fitness and leisure facilities
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
Rooms

The hotel carefully preserved original features of the newspaper printing house. Each bedroom at The Scotsman is individually designed, with great attention to detail, offering the highest level of comfort. Twin, double, suite, and family rooms are available, as well as a penthouse. Egyptian cotton bedspreads, safes, privacy hatches, satellite television, DVD players, and voicemail are standard in all rooms. Guests receive a complimentary Edinburgh Monopoly board and have access to 24-hour room service.

Features

North Bridge Brasserie & Bar fuses grand Victorian architecture, dramatic interiors, and contemporary styling. The building, more than a century old, housed The Scotsman newspaper. The restaurant was cleverly converted from the newspaper's old reception hall, where traders and merchants would buy copies of the newspaper or place their advertising. The brasserie serves modern Scottish dishes celebrating the best of Scotland and offers a carefully planned wine and whisky list. Lunch, dinner, and afternoon tea are served daily. Private dining facilities are also available.


Guests have complimentary access to the hotel's spa, which features seven treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, swimming pool, and fitness classes, such as yoga and Pilates.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.3 mi/13.35 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from Airport to city center
Nearby attractions
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.32 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11 km)
Business
  • Eight individually styled meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Portable CD player and flip chart with pad and pens provided free
  • Other equipment available for hire (48 hours notice required)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

Hotel Map

55.9504 -3.1877
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport.
Area description
The Scotsman Hotel is located on North Bridge, right in the centre of Edinburgh. North Bridge runs from Princes Street to the Royal Mile, two of Edinburgh's most famous and historic streets. All main tourist attractions, shopping areas and business districts are easily accessible from North Bridge. The main Edinburgh Waverley train station is situated under North Bridge and is only two minutes from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Scotsman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Scotsman Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
With an average size of 34m2 and offering a choice of Double, Queen, King or Twin size beds. Our Classic rooms are ideal for a couple's retreat, a break away with friends or for that extended stay for an individual traveller. The Classic room allows for a comfortable and relaxed stay while in the capital city of Scotland.
Executive Room
With an average size of 40m2 and offering King and Twin size beds. Our Executive rooms are ideal for all occasions. Converted from the original offices of the Newspaper Editors, their unique and individual features set these rooms apart from any bedroom in the city of Edinburgh. Some of these rooms boast spectacular panoramic views of Scotland's Capital from Princes Street to the Firth of Forth; you will not want to leave.
Junior Suite
With an average size of 52m2 and offering King, Queen and Twin size beds. Our Junior Suites are perfect for those family breaks, romantic occasions or for that important business client. Originally the offices of the Newspaper's Publishers and Directors, they offer you that extra space and comfort to use for relaxing and unwinding with your family, friends or business acquaintances.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.8 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1.1 mi
  • Powderhall: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1.2 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.2 mi

Dining

North Bridge Brasserie
Mix of Classic and modern-style brasserie with an informal atmosphere. The architecture alone is stunning with mouth-watering contemporary dishes to match. Open Sun-Thurs- 11am-11pm, Fri and Sat- 11am-1am.Lunch Prices - Starters from GBP 5.50-Mains from GBP 9.Dinner Prices - Starters from GBP 5.50-Mains from GBP 9.Informal attire, reservations recommended on Fridays and Saturdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Scotsman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 54
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil La
Business
Slidell, La
Jul 12, 2014

Wonderful location and staff

My wife and I couldn't believe how great the location for the Scotsman was! It really made our trip because we are big walkers. The staff, including the front desk, bell and concierge staff, were always accommodating. Our room was very nice as well. No regrets or complaints at all. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeorgiaGal
Business
Atlanta
May 25, 2014

Great Location!

Wonderful and courteous staff! Hotel was in great spot for walking to local attractions. Only drawback is lack of close parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevie Bal
Business
St Helens, England
Feb 28, 2014

Romantic city break

The Scotsman Hotel is a fantastic five star hotel. The staff from receptionist, maids and other personell were brilliant at their jobs. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. I had asked for some extras to be in my room on our arrival as a treat from me to my wife for her birthday. Not only was everything there but also a lovely birthday card from the hotel. Our stay at the hotel was very satisfying. The resteraunt is a must and the food exquisite and resonably priced. The location of the hotel is ideal if you have travelled by train as only across the road. The room was clean, bright, well aired and the bed very comfortable. The bed being turned of an evening by a maid, with your dressing gown and slippers being put on the bed, was a lovely touch. A gorgeous city to visit made that more memorable by the accommodation we stayed in. If we visit Edinborough again, then the Scotsman will defiinatly be our choice of hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all amenities especially if you've travelled by train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whatever...
Business
London
Jan 18, 2014

Completely ignored customer request

Was asking for for an oak-panelled room when I did the booking 3 months in advance. When I arrived there, the receptionist told me that there's none of this rooms available. Obviously, customer requests are not very important to the hotel. The room categories on here don't mach with the ones of the hotel. So basically you don't know what you are paying for and when you see the room you don't know if it in fact is the category you booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon Adventure
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Unforgettable Honeymoon Adventure

Our experience was phenomenal!!! One of the concierges, Frasier, showed us to our amazing room upon our arrival and set us up with a dinner reservation as well. He and Douglas and Barry always made sure our needs were taken care of, our bags were attended to and gave us great tips on places to go and see. Jennifer and Mary in reception were very helpful with the city's attractions also. The location was superb. We were able to walk to Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Calton Hill and the Scott Monument with ease and in a minimum of time. Any time, my new wife and I are able to make it back to Scotland from the U.S., we will be staying at the legendary (at least to us) Scotsman Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking for the hotel is not actually on North Bridge with the hotel. It is in Waverly Station. We drove around the hotel twice trying to figure out where to pull up and drop off bags and check in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blah5551
Business
Edinbaurgh
Sep 5, 2013

Unimpressed

Have been to many 5 star hotels and was looking forward to staying at the Scotsman. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with the whole experience! I guess my expectations were too high. The one plus was Barry, our concierge, who was informative and extremely helpful during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going My Way
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2013

Great Hotel - Watch What Room You Get

The service, cleanliness and staff were very good. The staff just couldn't be better. The restaurant was great - we ate breakfast there every morning, and had lunch and dinner once. The hotel has the best location and the "Royal Mile" is a few steps from the front door. It is across the street from the main train station, and a variety of buses stop at the front door. That said, it is a hotel in a city. Parking is off site (but not as expensive as other cities). When we checked in, we were taken to a room with the view of the wall of an adjacent building. What was unclear in the description and the pictures is that a very small portion of the rooms have a poor view, others have the view of a courtyard and the majority (I believe) have a nice view of the city. After a discussion with the front desk staff, we were moved to a room with a much nicer view. The hotel has an indoor pool and exercise room which we did not explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Worlds End pub has good food and a great Scottish atmosphere. The Witchery has excellent food and a great menu. The cafeteria at the Royal Palace had surprisingly good food including the first haggis that I have had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manning56
Business
Edinburgh
Jun 11, 2013

Incredibly noisy- Don't Stay here!

In sure it's a lovely hotel in the winter when you can take advantage of their never ending heat. In the spring or summer you are out of luck because there's no AC. Why not open the windows(as we did) to get some fresh air? Because there are screaming, singing herds of Walking Dead drunks outside your windows all night long. We even had someone doing construction including hours of banging pipes. After the first night of no sleep, despite earplugs, we asked for a quieter room. They moved us from room 605 to room 609 which was even closer to the Castle side of the hotel (on the Fleshmarket Close side which is packed with pubs). Room 609 featured a leaking sink and a room that wasn't cleaned until I hunted a maid down to clean it about 4 pm. When we told the manager about our stay, he said we could have an upgrade if we come back again- NOT likely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CC from Dallas
Business
Dallas TX
Jun 1, 2013

Fab-u-lous!

Can't get much better than this hotel. Location is perfect (North Bridge, next to Waverley Station), clean, roomy, great views, nice staff, not alot you can say negative here. Wasn't cheap, but this is a 5 star hotel. Laundry service was a bit pricey, but no complaints on the result or turn around time. Side note, we actually stayed twice, and the first time was during the week. Got a free upgrade that time! Very nice suite which included a dining area, living area, work area, bedroom and 1 1/2 baths!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clets
Business
México
May 27, 2013

Great location

Great location everything was good, staff súper helpful but the matress in our room was not comfy it was old need to change them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a day tour in the highlands

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top