$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Scotsman Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh, EH1 1TR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
67 reviews
February vacation: Edinburgh

Edinburgh in February is great, we had blue skies and temps in the 40's which was balmy for us, we... See full review

  • Veronica
  • Apr 19, 2015
Lovely Luxury Treat

The hotel was fantastic. I wanted an early check-in an to accommodate this I was allocated a... See full review

  • adele c.
  • Apr 10, 2015

The Scotsman Newspaper's baronial offices now house one of the most stylish hotels in the city. The hotel is just a minute's stroll from both Princes Street and the Royal Mile. The Scotsman blends the efficiency of the 21st century with careful design, attention to the comfort of guests, and the best in Scottish hospitality. Novel features throughout the building create a unique experience.

Rooms

The hotel carefully preserved original features of the newspaper printing house. Each bedroom at The Scotsman is individually designed, with great attention to detail, offering the highest level of comfort. Twin, double, suite, and family rooms are available, as well as a penthouse. Egyptian cotton bedspreads, safes, privacy hatches, satellite television, DVD players, and voicemail are standard in all rooms. Guests receive a complimentary Edinburgh Monopoly board and have access to 24-hour room service.

Property features

North Bridge Brasserie & Bar fuses grand Victorian architecture, dramatic interiors, and contemporary styling. The building, more than a century old, housed The Scotsman newspaper. The restaurant was cleverly converted from the newspaper's old reception hall, where traders and merchants would buy copies of the newspaper or place their advertising. The brasserie serves modern Scottish dishes celebrating the best of Scotland and offers a carefully planned wine and whisky list. Lunch, dinner, and afternoon tea are served daily. Private dining facilities are also available.


Guests have complimentary access to the hotel's spa, which features seven treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, swimming pool, and fitness classes, such as yoga and Pilates.

Highlights
  • Historic and cultural setting
  • Central location
  • Fitness and leisure facilities
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
Nearby attractions
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.32 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11 km)
Business
  • Eight individually styled meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Portable CD player and flip chart with pad and pens provided free
  • Other equipment available for hire (48 hours notice required)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.3 mi/13.35 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from Airport to city center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Scotsman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Scotsman Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
With an average size of 34m2 and offering a choice of Double, Queen, King or Twin size beds. Our Classic rooms are ideal for a couple's retreat, a break away with friends or for that extended stay for an individual traveller. The Classic room allows for a comfortable and relaxed stay while in the capital city of Scotland.
Executive Room
With an average size of 40m2 and offering King and Twin size beds. Our Executive rooms are ideal for all occasions. Converted from the original offices of the Newspaper Editors, their unique and individual features set these rooms apart from any bedroom in the city of Edinburgh. Some of these rooms boast spectacular panoramic views of Scotland's Capital from Princes Street to the Firth of Forth; you will not want to leave.
Junior Suite
With an average size of 52m2 and offering King, Queen and Twin size beds. Our Junior Suites are perfect for those family breaks, romantic occasions or for that important business client. Originally the offices of the Newspaper's Publishers and Directors, they offer you that extra space and comfort to use for relaxing and unwinding with your family, friends or business acquaintances.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.8 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1.1 mi
  • Powderhall: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1.2 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.2 mi

Dining

North Bridge Brasserie
Mix of Classic and modern-style brasserie with an informal atmosphere. The architecture alone is stunning with mouth-watering contemporary dishes to match. Open Sun-Thurs- 11am-11pm, Fri and Sat- 11am-1am.Lunch Prices - Starters from GBP 5.50-Mains from GBP 9.Dinner Prices - Starters from GBP 5.50-Mains from GBP 9.Informal attire, reservations recommended on Fridays and Saturdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Scotsman Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 67
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
staceeeeeee1
Business
Glasgow
May 20, 2015

Couples night.

Hotel room was roasting hot and hotel stunk of rotten eggs in the morning. The bed was tiny too. Very uncomfortable stay, I was also looking forward to treatments in the spa but the second I walked into the spa area I changed my mind, it's dull and no life or feeling of luxury at all. Half the channels weren't working on the TV either. Prob the worst hotel I have stayed in, would never ever recommend it to anyway. The staff were nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veronica
Business
N/A
Apr 19, 2015

February vacation: Edinburgh

Edinburgh in February is great, we had blue skies and temps in the 40's which was balmy for us, we left 6ft of snow in MA. The Scotsman was a wonderful place to stay, centrally located and the staff is very accommodating. We had one dinner in their restaurant which was good but pricey, very limited menu. There are loads of pubs in the area which serve great food at very reasonable prices. The people are very friendly and the food was great never mind the varieties of scotch, my husband thought he died and went to heaven!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alison
Business
lanark
Jan 4, 2015

over night stay

The room (201), was lovely, bit of an obstructed view but nice big room. However, music from a nightclub kept us awake till the early hours. Not what you expect from a top rated hotel. Even budget hotels guarantee a good nights sleep. Will not use the hotel again as a result.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John2AZ
Business
Arizona
Dec 1, 2014

Perfect Location

The hotel is in a perfect location to explore. The train station is across the road for a quick trip to Dunbar and dine at the Rock restaurant. If you arrive by train with luggage, there is a lower (gym?) entrance if you buzz the reception desk at the door. Elevators to reception inside. The restaurant is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaddieG
Business
Ireland
Oct 29, 2014

lovely break for a cpuple

Very enjoyable, quirky rooms. Friendly & helpful staff. Nice spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil La
Business
Slidell, La
Jul 12, 2014

Wonderful location and staff

My wife and I couldn't believe how great the location for the Scotsman was! It really made our trip because we are big walkers. The staff, including the front desk, bell and concierge staff, were always accommodating. Our room was very nice as well. No regrets or complaints at all. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeorgiaGal
Business
Atlanta
May 25, 2014

Great Location!

Wonderful and courteous staff! Hotel was in great spot for walking to local attractions. Only drawback is lack of close parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevie Bal
Business
St Helens, England
Feb 28, 2014

Romantic city break

The Scotsman Hotel is a fantastic five star hotel. The staff from receptionist, maids and other personell were brilliant at their jobs. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. I had asked for some extras to be in my room on our arrival as a treat from me to my wife for her birthday. Not only was everything there but also a lovely birthday card from the hotel. Our stay at the hotel was very satisfying. The resteraunt is a must and the food exquisite and resonably priced. The location of the hotel is ideal if you have travelled by train as only across the road. The room was clean, bright, well aired and the bed very comfortable. The bed being turned of an evening by a maid, with your dressing gown and slippers being put on the bed, was a lovely touch. A gorgeous city to visit made that more memorable by the accommodation we stayed in. If we visit Edinborough again, then the Scotsman will defiinatly be our choice of hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all amenities especially if you've travelled by train.

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whatever...
Business
London
Jan 18, 2014

Completely ignored customer request

Was asking for for an oak-panelled room when I did the booking 3 months in advance. When I arrived there, the receptionist told me that there's none of this rooms available. Obviously, customer requests are not very important to the hotel. The room categories on here don't mach with the ones of the hotel. So basically you don't know what you are paying for and when you see the room you don't know if it in fact is the category you booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon Adventure
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Unforgettable Honeymoon Adventure

Our experience was phenomenal!!! One of the concierges, Frasier, showed us to our amazing room upon our arrival and set us up with a dinner reservation as well. He and Douglas and Barry always made sure our needs were taken care of, our bags were attended to and gave us great tips on places to go and see. Jennifer and Mary in reception were very helpful with the city's attractions also. The location was superb. We were able to walk to Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Calton Hill and the Scott Monument with ease and in a minimum of time. Any time, my new wife and I are able to make it back to Scotland from the U.S., we will be staying at the legendary (at least to us) Scotsman Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking for the hotel is not actually on North Bridge with the hotel. It is in Waverly Station. We drove around the hotel twice trying to figure out where to pull up and drop off bags and check in.

Back to menu Return to top