$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Scotsman Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh, EH1 1TR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
61 reviews
February vacation: Edinburgh

Edinburgh in February is great, we had blue skies and temps in the 40's which was balmy for us, we... See full review

  • Veronica
  • Apr 19, 2015
Lovely Luxury Treat

The hotel was fantastic. I wanted an early check-in an to accommodate this I was allocated a... See full review

  • adele c.
  • Apr 10, 2015

The Scotsman Newspaper's baronial offices now house one of the most stylish hotels in the city. The hotel is just a minute's stroll from both Princes Street and the Royal Mile. The Scotsman blends the efficiency of the 21st century with careful design, attention to the comfort of guests, and the best in Scottish hospitality. Novel features throughout the building create a unique experience.

Rooms

The hotel carefully preserved original features of the newspaper printing house. Each bedroom at The Scotsman is individually designed, with great attention to detail, offering the highest level of comfort. Twin, double, suite, and family rooms are available, as well as a penthouse. Egyptian cotton bedspreads, safes, privacy hatches, satellite television, DVD players, and voicemail are standard in all rooms. Guests receive a complimentary Edinburgh Monopoly board and have access to 24-hour room service.

Property features

North Bridge Brasserie & Bar fuses grand Victorian architecture, dramatic interiors, and contemporary styling. The building, more than a century old, housed The Scotsman newspaper. The restaurant was cleverly converted from the newspaper's old reception hall, where traders and merchants would buy copies of the newspaper or place their advertising. The brasserie serves modern Scottish dishes celebrating the best of Scotland and offers a carefully planned wine and whisky list. Lunch, dinner, and afternoon tea are served daily. Private dining facilities are also available.


Guests have complimentary access to the hotel's spa, which features seven treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, swimming pool, and fitness classes, such as yoga and Pilates.

Highlights
  • Historic and cultural setting
  • Central location
  • Fitness and leisure facilities
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
Nearby attractions
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.32 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11 km)
Business
  • Eight individually styled meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Portable CD player and flip chart with pad and pens provided free
  • Other equipment available for hire (48 hours notice required)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.3 mi/13.35 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from Airport to city center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Scotsman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Scotsman Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
With an average size of 34m2 and offering a choice of Double, Queen, King or Twin size beds. Our Classic rooms are ideal for a couple's retreat, a break away with friends or for that extended stay for an individual traveller. The Classic room allows for a comfortable and relaxed stay while in the capital city of Scotland.
Executive Room
With an average size of 40m2 and offering King and Twin size beds. Our Executive rooms are ideal for all occasions. Converted from the original offices of the Newspaper Editors, their unique and individual features set these rooms apart from any bedroom in the city of Edinburgh. Some of these rooms boast spectacular panoramic views of Scotland's Capital from Princes Street to the Firth of Forth; you will not want to leave.
Junior Suite
With an average size of 52m2 and offering King, Queen and Twin size beds. Our Junior Suites are perfect for those family breaks, romantic occasions or for that important business client. Originally the offices of the Newspaper's Publishers and Directors, they offer you that extra space and comfort to use for relaxing and unwinding with your family, friends or business acquaintances.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.8 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1.1 mi
  • Powderhall: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1.2 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.2 mi

Dining

North Bridge Brasserie
Mix of Classic and modern-style brasserie with an informal atmosphere. The architecture alone is stunning with mouth-watering contemporary dishes to match. Open Sun-Thurs- 11am-11pm, Fri and Sat- 11am-1am.Lunch Prices - Starters from GBP 5.50-Mains from GBP 9.Dinner Prices - Starters from GBP 5.50-Mains from GBP 9.Informal attire, reservations recommended on Fridays and Saturdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Scotsman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LJA11
Business
Michigan
May 11, 2013

We will never know

They were overbooked, got sent to a 5 star way out of the way, cost 10£every time we wanted to go to Edinburgh. Not terribly convenient. However Prestonfield was quite lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manning56
Business
Edinburgh
Jun 11, 2013

Incredibly noisy- Don't Stay here!

In sure it's a lovely hotel in the winter when you can take advantage of their never ending heat. In the spring or summer you are out of luck because there's no AC. Why not open the windows(as we did) to get some fresh air? Because there are screaming, singing herds of Walking Dead drunks outside your windows all night long. We even had someone doing construction including hours of banging pipes. After the first night of no sleep, despite earplugs, we asked for a quieter room. They moved us from room 605 to room 609 which was even closer to the Castle side of the hotel (on the Fleshmarket Close side which is packed with pubs). Room 609 featured a leaking sink and a room that wasn't cleaned until I hunted a maid down to clean it about 4 pm. When we told the manager about our stay, he said we could have an upgrade if we come back again- NOT likely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Apr 23, 2014

You can have more better choices

1. Do not trust the room pictures showed on website, what I really got is a small, awkward room with a limited view. I opened the curtains, what i saw is two bus tops on the bridge and the front door of hotel, you can image how noisy and how embarrassed when you open the curtains in the morning seeing the crowd close to you (they can see you very well). 2. I booked 3 nights and I asked for a room with a good city view before I checked in, the 1st day, and the 2nd day. They promised every time"no problem at all" hypocritically but they never did 3. The internet/ WIFI was so terrible. I had a online interview last day. Because of the low speed of internet making the online interview impossible, I had to book a room in ibis South Bridge for the 30 minutes interview. 4. The heater was making noisy sound when you turned it up. If you want the quite then suffer the cold. Five star? The worst I've ever lived in. I prefer to live in that ibis budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blah5551
Business
Edinbaurgh
Sep 5, 2013

Unimpressed

Have been to many 5 star hotels and was looking forward to staying at the Scotsman. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with the whole experience! I guess my expectations were too high. The one plus was Barry, our concierge, who was informative and extremely helpful during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
staceeeeeee1
Business
Glasgow
May 20, 2015

Couples night.

Hotel room was roasting hot and hotel stunk of rotten eggs in the morning. The bed was tiny too. Very uncomfortable stay, I was also looking forward to treatments in the spa but the second I walked into the spa area I changed my mind, it's dull and no life or feeling of luxury at all. Half the channels weren't working on the TV either. Prob the worst hotel I have stayed in, would never ever recommend it to anyway. The staff were nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whatever...
Business
London
Jan 18, 2014

Completely ignored customer request

Was asking for for an oak-panelled room when I did the booking 3 months in advance. When I arrived there, the receptionist told me that there's none of this rooms available. Obviously, customer requests are not very important to the hotel. The room categories on here don't mach with the ones of the hotel. So basically you don't know what you are paying for and when you see the room you don't know if it in fact is the category you booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Highlander22
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 6, 2012

Disappointing

The rooms were dark, old and worn. Musty smell. Mattress was sagging in visible "U" shape. Carpet and furniture were worn and dingy. No hot water before dinner. Housekeeping did not replace all amenities. Floor tiles in lobby were broken and wobbled when walked on. On positive side, Location was good, across from train station. Interesting tea service shelf that pulled up to desk level. Bottle of fresh water left outside room at night. Staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scots girl
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 19, 2010

Good location - bad housekeeping

The Brasserie restaurant at The Scotsman offers some of the best food in Edinburgh. However, the cleanliness of our room in the hotel was the exact opposite - a great disappointment. Hair in the shower, the last occupants menu card filled out, and a dead fly on the bed. The response we got from the staff when we asked that our room be cleaned again was non-chalant, just an "oh sorry yeah we'll have someone go in there again". A big let down for an otherwise nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alison
Business
lanark
Jan 4, 2015

over night stay

The room (201), was lovely, bit of an obstructed view but nice big room. However, music from a nightclub kept us awake till the early hours. Not what you expect from a top rated hotel. Even budget hotels guarantee a good nights sleep. Will not use the hotel again as a result.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chemyn K.
Business
N/A
Jun 24, 2015

Not worth the 5 star rating

I was so excited to have a 5 star hotel experience. Oh well, best laid plans. The exterior and lobby of the Hotel are lovely, eccentric moments of a bygone era. My first clue that the interior wasn't going to live up to its rating was the elevator. Tiny, didn't stop on all floors and the numbering was different inside and on each floor...ummmm...ok. The friendly concierge/bellhop showed me to my room and explained some oddities of the room. The room itself was somewhat cramped, oddly divided and unbearably hot. The first thing I did was to open the windows. Which unfortunately gave me the opportunity to see my view. I looked out at an inner courtyard. Air conditioning units(not that my room offered any) trash and cigarette butts on the shelf outside my window. Oh joy. The marble bathroom was gorgeous and the rainfall shower head delightful. There was a heated towel rack, that didn't work. And no outlets to plug in hairdryers, or other beauty accessories. The bed. Oh dear the bed. The linens were a poor quality and a bit rough. The mattress was horrid. Lumpy and sloped down. I was provided with 3, count them 3, hangers. A pitcher of water was left out for me ONCE in my 9 day stay. As I had emptied it I would have thought they would leave more. I ordered room service a couple times. It was prompt and average. The staff was helpful and very friendly. I ate at the restaurant the last night there. It was mediocre to bad. Not at all worthy of the cost. My server, however, was friendly and lovely. I was disappointed that when my dinner was taken away (some of which was nearly untouched and I stated it just wasn't good) I was not offered a free drink, or dessert, or discount. The overall experience was ok, because of the great location and the friendly staff. It is not, however, even remotely a 5 star hotel. I would neither stay here again, nor recommend it to another unless the price and rating go down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top