$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Scotsman Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh, EH1 1TR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Scotsman Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foreigner 2
Business
Cumbria, UK
Mar 11, 2012

Not quite 5star

A lovely large window allowed us to look at lots of air conditioning units with not even a curtain ( apart from the very heavy dark one) to camouflage them . Still don't know where the smell of meat stew one night and fresh bread the other came from, but the receptionist assured me that our room will be specially cleaned!? Insufficient lights didn't allow you to read apart at the desk, but that light bulb was broken and it took three attempts to get a replacement. Staff were very pleasant without exception. Breakfast offered a good choice, so it could have been great. It wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grainstore has character with lovely food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sutherland
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Best spot in Edinburgh

The staff was great, the room was awsome, and the location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Sometimes the merchants take dollars and thats a better exchange rate, especially for large purchases. Check with the merchant first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pkct
Business
Connecticut, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great Stay in Central Edinburgh

The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive and really make the hotel. The location is central to all the main attractions - limiting the need for taxis. The only negatives were that the bed was small, the room was hot and internet access was a separate charge. Expect old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Royal Mile from the Palace to the Castle combine two great attractions with a nice walk through several centuries of history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KFAM
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 31, 2011

Luxurious!

Amazing room, excellent location, unbeatable city views and gracious staff!! Recommend requesting a room with a clawfoot bathtub in the cupola overlooking the North Bridge. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mary King's Close gives an eerie look into old Edinburgh and a tour of a forgotten underground close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sixcents
Business
Greensburg, Pa.
Jun 10, 2011

Awesome Hotel!

This hotel is of the highest quality. The bathroom shower was heavenly. The hotel provided robes and slippers, has a pool and spa and each room has a fully stocked bar. After we checked out they allowed us to store our luggage at the hotel while we went site seeing. They are conveniently located across the street from the train station. The only thing that was messed up was that they offered a complimentary bottle of water and a newspaper to only one of the couples in our group. The rest of us didn't get the same offer. The criticism is not a complaint but a statement to the staff for the sake of consistency. It was the best hotel we had during our 10 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to Edinburgh Castle and Princes Mall. If you want a perfect location to visit Edinburgh's Royal Mile, this is it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 11, 2011

Extremely Satisfied

Perfect Location. Excellent Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scots girl
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 19, 2010

Good location - bad housekeeping

The Brasserie restaurant at The Scotsman offers some of the best food in Edinburgh. However, the cleanliness of our room in the hotel was the exact opposite - a great disappointment. Hair in the shower, the last occupants menu card filled out, and a dead fly on the bed. The response we got from the staff when we asked that our room be cleaned again was non-chalant, just an "oh sorry yeah we'll have someone go in there again". A big let down for an otherwise nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
extremeboard
Business
newcastle upon tyne
Oct 27, 2010

Top Quality!

This hotel was excellent. We arrived late friday night. As soon as we walked through the door a young gentleman introduced himself, welcomed us to the hotel and placed are bags at the front desk. The receptionist also welcomed us, being very friendly but professional and advised us we had been upgraded for free to a deluxe room (paid for study room). considering these rooms are £300 per night normally, [...] a fantastic deal!The gentleman took us to our room, told us briefly how everything worked, put our bags down and backed off before the uncomfortable experience of "do i tip".Its not that i'm tight, i'm just english and don't feel the need to tip for something that i could have done myself! The room was magnificent. views across to carlton hill from 8th floor. Decor tasteful mixing modern with new, bathroom kitted out with everyting you need. All of the hotel staff were polite and always happy looking. The psa services were free even on checkout until 8pm that night. The whole experience and the fact u can enter the hotel from waverly station was excellent. there was even an umbrella in our room to borrow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 21, 2010

Great service, great location

The staff was able to get us an upgrade when we inquired about a room with a better view. The fitness center has almost as much equipment as a full gym and the hot tub is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Standing Order on George Street is excellent for cheap eats and beer. Aurther's Seat is a must, but wear good walking/running shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonnie Scot
Business
Ohio
Aug 9, 2010

Location, location,location!!

Stayed at the Scotsman every trip to Edinburgh. Great places to shop and dine within a few blocks. Location is the best. Staff is discreet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to John Lewis, Harvey Nichols, Cath Kidson and LK Bennett. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top