$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Scotsman Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh, EH1 1TR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Scotsman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil La
Business
Slidell, La
Jul 12, 2014

Wonderful location and staff

My wife and I couldn't believe how great the location for the Scotsman was! It really made our trip because we are big walkers. The staff, including the front desk, bell and concierge staff, were always accommodating. Our room was very nice as well. No regrets or complaints at all. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeorgiaGal
Business
Atlanta
May 25, 2014

Great Location!

Wonderful and courteous staff! Hotel was in great spot for walking to local attractions. Only drawback is lack of close parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alalinda
Business
Edinburgh
Apr 30, 2014

Great weekend away

Was amazing. Lovely hotel only one little niggle but the hotel were great in sorting the problem out. Staff very friendly especially Ross the concierge. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take plenty of energy and sensible shoes

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Apr 23, 2014

You can have more better choices

1. Do not trust the room pictures showed on website, what I really got is a small, awkward room with a limited view. I opened the curtains, what i saw is two bus tops on the bridge and the front door of hotel, you can image how noisy and how embarrassed when you open the curtains in the morning seeing the crowd close to you (they can see you very well). 2. I booked 3 nights and I asked for a room with a good city view before I checked in, the 1st day, and the 2nd day. They promised every time"no problem at all" hypocritically but they never did 3. The internet/ WIFI was so terrible. I had a online interview last day. Because of the low speed of internet making the online interview impossible, I had to book a room in ibis South Bridge for the 30 minutes interview. 4. The heater was making noisy sound when you turned it up. If you want the quite then suffer the cold. Five star? The worst I've ever lived in. I prefer to live in that ibis budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1707
Business
USA
Mar 3, 2014

Location and Luxury

Hotel is great. Best location by the Royal mile, close to everything. Staff was incredibly accommodating. Internet Wifi is free but slow, had some trouble with the tv, but all in all it was truly a 5-star experience. Speakers in the bathroom to patch in the tv or radio gave me a chuckle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a guided tour of the Scottish Parliament building. May get lost among the history, but its a building rich in architectural stories and a new history of its own.

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevie Bal
Business
St Helens, England
Feb 28, 2014

Romantic city break

The Scotsman Hotel is a fantastic five star hotel. The staff from receptionist, maids and other personell were brilliant at their jobs. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. I had asked for some extras to be in my room on our arrival as a treat from me to my wife for her birthday. Not only was everything there but also a lovely birthday card from the hotel. Our stay at the hotel was very satisfying. The resteraunt is a must and the food exquisite and resonably priced. The location of the hotel is ideal if you have travelled by train as only across the road. The room was clean, bright, well aired and the bed very comfortable. The bed being turned of an evening by a maid, with your dressing gown and slippers being put on the bed, was a lovely touch. A gorgeous city to visit made that more memorable by the accommodation we stayed in. If we visit Edinborough again, then the Scotsman will defiinatly be our choice of hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all amenities especially if you've travelled by train.

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whatever...
Business
London
Jan 18, 2014

Completely ignored customer request

Was asking for for an oak-panelled room when I did the booking 3 months in advance. When I arrived there, the receptionist told me that there's none of this rooms available. Obviously, customer requests are not very important to the hotel. The room categories on here don't mach with the ones of the hotel. So basically you don't know what you are paying for and when you see the room you don't know if it in fact is the category you booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aisha
Business
Leicester
Jan 7, 2014

Fab Getaway To Scotland!!

This was my first time to Scotland and I have to say that despite the terrible weather .. staying at this hotel made my trip just perfect. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you so much to all the staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying at the Scotsman means that your a short walk from most of the tourist attractions.

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon Adventure
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Unforgettable Honeymoon Adventure

Our experience was phenomenal!!! One of the concierges, Frasier, showed us to our amazing room upon our arrival and set us up with a dinner reservation as well. He and Douglas and Barry always made sure our needs were taken care of, our bags were attended to and gave us great tips on places to go and see. Jennifer and Mary in reception were very helpful with the city's attractions also. The location was superb. We were able to walk to Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Calton Hill and the Scott Monument with ease and in a minimum of time. Any time, my new wife and I are able to make it back to Scotland from the U.S., we will be staying at the legendary (at least to us) Scotsman Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking for the hotel is not actually on North Bridge with the hotel. It is in Waverly Station. We drove around the hotel twice trying to figure out where to pull up and drop off bags and check in.

Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blah5551
Business
Edinbaurgh
Sep 5, 2013

Unimpressed

Have been to many 5 star hotels and was looking forward to staying at the Scotsman. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with the whole experience! I guess my expectations were too high. The one plus was Barry, our concierge, who was informative and extremely helpful during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top