$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Roxburghe Hotel

View map of 38 Charlotte Square, Lothian, Edinburgh, EH2 4HQ

Hotel Overview

The-Roxburghe-Hotel-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
44 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

Excellent hotel within walking distance of the castle, great food and tours. It was a pleasure to... See full review

  • Seth M
  • May 1, 2013
Ticks all the boxes

Marvellous stay at The Roxburgh. Room available two hours early, good size, massive bed. Staff... See full review

  • WildRover
  • Mar 6, 2013
The prestigious Crowne Plaza EDINBURGH - THE ROXBURGHE, in the heart of the Georgian New Town, overlooks Charlotte Square, home to Scotland's first minister. The premier, four-star hotel, one of the oldest in Edinburgh, recently refurbished all 198 bedrooms. Many rooms have views of Edinburgh Castle and Charlotte Square Gardens. Crowne Plaza EDINBURGH - THE ROXBURGHE has won awards for its dining, bedroom design, and staff.
Rooms

Crowne Plaza EDINBURGH - THE ROXBURGHE has 198 bedrooms, including family rooms, the Adam Suite, and a number of accessible bedrooms. All have bathrooms en-suite and feature an LCD television with over 40 channels, Wi-Fi, and tea- and coffee-making equipment. Featured rooms offer a complimentary half-bottle of wine and a voucher for drinks voucher at the hotel bar. Guests staying in the suite receive complimentary champagne and canapés. Room service is available 24 hours a day, though the menu is limited overnight.

Property features

The award-winning, on-site Melrose Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Breakfast is served buffet style, with a traditional full Scottish breakfast also available. The a la carte dinner menu features seasonal specialties and contemporary classics. The Melrose is popular, so guests should reserve a table when making a hotel reservation. The Melrose Lounge Bar serves light food throughout the day. Guests can take traditional afternoon tea there 2 to 5 p.m. each day. Accompanied children are welcome, and a children's menu is available. An adults-only cocktail bar is also on site.

 

Guests have free access to the Vital Health, Fitness and Beauty Club, which features exercise machines, weights, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and classes such as yoga or aqua aerobics.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the famous Charlotte Square
  • Central location
  • Fitness and leisure facilities
  • On-site restaurant and bar
Nearby attractions
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.1 mi/0.16 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.7 mi/1.12 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (1.5 mi/2.41 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (2.7 mi/4.34 km)
Business
  • Seven stylish meeting rooms
  • Full secretarial and conference support
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Largest capacity room seats 300
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.2 mi/11.58 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roxburghe Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

The Roxburghe Hotel Rooms

Standard Room - 2 Double Beds
Standard Room - 2 Double Beds
Standard Double Room
Standard Double Room
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room
Superior Room
Superior Room
Junior Suite
Junior Suite
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room
Standard Single Room
Standard Single Room

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Georgian House: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.1 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.5 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.1 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.5 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.6 mi
  • The Grange: 0.6 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Comely Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.8 mi
  • Dalry: 0.8 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.8 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.9 mi
  • West Coates: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.9 mi
  • People's Story: 1 mi
  • Calton Hill: 1 mi
  • The Canongate: 1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Craigleith: 1.1 mi
  • Merchiston: 1.1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1.1 mi
  • Warriston: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 1.1 mi

Dining

George Street Bar and Grill
Open all day and inspired by traditional grand European cafes and brasseries- with a stunning interior-its the elegant and contemporary restaurant to experience some of the best dining and eating out in Edinburgh.
Samovar Lounge
At The Roxburghe we believe that afternoon tea is the most civilised meal of the day and ours is famous throughout Edinburgh. Where else can you experience freshly homemade cakes and sandwiches and warm scones with fresh cream and preserves

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Roxburghe Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JP42
Business
Florida, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great location but not friendly

Love the scottish but the worst hotel out of three we stayed in, not accomodating or friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GarLiz13
Business
Wolfeboro, NH
Sep 17, 2013

Terrible. Web pics/description very misleading...

Not impressed. Especially for the price. We were led to believe that breakfast and parking were included in our hefty bill...not the case. That tacked on another 50 pounds. The room was shabby. It clearly used to contain two beds. They had not even bothered to redistribute furniture as camouflage. The pool and spa were not at all what they looked like online. Very misleading and not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area Northern California, USA
Feb 3, 2011

Rate good, room good, service lacking

I wrote the following to the hotel on January 23rd giving them the opportunity to reply. no response, hence they confirmed my impression regarding customer service:To: "customer services" Sent: Sunday, January 23, 2011 6:26:18 AMSubject: Recent Stay at the Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel in EdinburgI would like to share my recent experience at your Charlotte Square property. My stay was five nights. January 15 check in.The hotel was clean and what I expected. However, my experience was note.Aside from the concierge(?) [...], who was wonderful ---the staff was less than warm. They did not greet anyone upon entry, their responses to inquires was brief and terse.For example: I rented the computer in the lobby (at a very expensive rate) to print out a boarding pass. There was no ink in the printer. When I asked the front desk if he could replace he advised, don't have any....after prompting, he told me to send an email to him and he would print, and then left the desk. I had to start over with some one else.The front desk did not answer their phone on two occasions; room service failed to answer as well. I walked to the bar to place a room service order and received no apology or comment as to why they did not answer their phones.There was construction in the hotel Monday through my departure. Each day I was woken with drills, banging, etc. There was no posting or information shared at booking or check in that the hotel was under construction.There was a fire alarm due to the construction, the hotel was evacuated. There was no answer at the front desk when the alarm first went off, there was no attempt by staff to alert anyone in their rooms.There was no one at the front desk at departure.All in all, the customer service experience was lacking. The staff in general is quite young and could do with some training.This is not what I expected from your hotel rating.I booked via [...]and they have asked for my opinion, I will wait to hear form you before I reply.Thank you for your review of this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Jun 29, 2011

Very poor facilities

Windows' of rooms are very small and some of rooms have almost no view. Very bad service from the reception and restaurants are dirty.They gave very poor room [...]. No recommendation to other traveller's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JP42
Business
Florida, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great location but not friendly

Love the scottish but the worst hotel out of three we stayed in, not accomodating or friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GarLiz13
Business
Wolfeboro, NH
Sep 18, 2013

Not worth the money...

The only thing this hotel had going for it was it's location... which is a dime a dozen in the city center. This is a highly over priced hotel with lack luster amenities. The staff was not overly friendly or helpful. PARKING IS NOT FREE AS ADVERTISED. We paid close to $40 (USD) to park in public parking for the night. The room it self was very disappointing with a small, outdated and semi clean bathroom. The hotel room was not fully furnished... as half the room was left just empty. The pool is in small room in the basement with tile falling off the walls in and around it. Definitely not the same pool shown in the pictures advertising it. I am not a Debbie Downer in the least... I just want to make sure you know what your getting into. Hope it helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denie
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 2, 2011

great room terrible location in hotel.

The room we were given was over the alley way that contained 8 trash bins, several of them glass recycling bins. The pubs in front of them recycled at all hours of the day even until 11:30 at night. Also we were next to the cleaning elevator so we heard them starting at 8 or so in the morning. In other words a very noisy room. We made the reservation several months ahead of time and expected a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for shopping and pubs/restaurants. Easy to get to public transportation for tourist sites.

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sendia
Business
South Coast
Nov 18, 2011

Well placed

Good service, friendly, helpful staff. One bad note - bathroom had mould on the tiles and was quite smelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mung
Business
London, UK
Mar 7, 2012

OK for cheap deal but not 4*

We got this hotel cheap through a travel site with my flight to Edinburgh. It was in a great location, the bed was comfy, there was no unwanted noise, it was clean. But I was looking forward to staying in a posh hotel, and it didn't feel like that. I guess this is fair enough since we had a deal. Maybe they sell off the older rooms at a discount rate through sites like the one I used. If I had paid full whack I'd have been really disappointed. The shower intermittently scalded and froze us so the hotel moved us to another room of the same standard. Our kettle didn't work and reception arranged for it to be replaced. Our room had no minibar, no pay-per-view films, no bottled water (although we did see this on the maid's trolly, so perhaps guests paying full price do get this), and was a bit tired looking - particularly the bathroom, which since we were in a disabled room (not requested) had the sink at a very low level. Also you had to pay extra for wi-fi at pretty extortionate rates. I would say this should be free to use in a 4* hotel. The shower in the second room was no great shakes either. Also the lift kept breaking down and we were on the fourth floor. Despite all this, it was in a handy location at a good price. Fair's fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A Room in the Town. Great unpretentious Scottish bistro on Howe St nearby. We went for a very reasonably priced set lunch. Lovely food, friendly service and relaxed atmosphere. Also a nice coffee shop over the road from this restaurant. We didn't eat but menu looked great and coffee was the best I've had in ages.

Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
willgoback
Business
cambridge
Apr 26, 2013

a little blow par

there was a mistake as we were put in a single room the first night, but changed easliy enough. However the cleanibg was a little superficial, dust behind the loo, and all over the window. Breakfast was not included and the voucher system was faulty, they tried to charge for meals we had not had. A better deal for breakfast is Filling station in rose street jus round the corner, half the price and better quality. otherwise , a little more care would give better value, but the location is easy for all parts of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top