$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

The Roxburghe Hotel

4 stars
38 Charlotte Square, Lothian, Edinburgh, EH2 4HQ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
41 reviews
Weekend with friends fromaround the world

Very good location and attentive service. Some of our group did have much more spacious rooms than... See full review

  • SNOGS
  • Oct 21, 2013
Great Hotel, Great Location

Excellent hotel within walking distance of the castle, great food and tours. It was a pleasure to... See full review

  • Seth M
  • May 1, 2013
Recently refurbished hotel in Edinburgh’s Georgian New Town
The prestigious Crowne Plaza EDINBURGH - THE ROXBURGHE, in the heart of the Georgian New Town, overlooks Charlotte Square, home to Scotland's first minister. The premier, four-star hotel, one of the oldest in Edinburgh, recently refurbished all 198 bedrooms. Many rooms have views of Edinburgh Castle and Charlotte Square Gardens. Crowne Plaza EDINBURGH - THE ROXBURGHE has won awards for its dining, bedroom design, and staff.
Highlights
  • Overlooks the famous Charlotte Square
  • Central location
  • Fitness and leisure facilities
  • On-site restaurant and bar
Rooms

Crowne Plaza EDINBURGH - THE ROXBURGHE has 198 bedrooms, including family rooms, the Adam Suite, and a number of accessible bedrooms. All have bathrooms en-suite and feature an LCD television with over 40 channels, Wi-Fi, and tea- and coffee-making equipment. Featured rooms offer a complimentary half-bottle of wine and a voucher for drinks voucher at the hotel bar. Guests staying in the suite receive complimentary champagne and canapés. Room service is available 24 hours a day, though the menu is limited overnight.

Features

The award-winning, on-site Melrose Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Breakfast is served buffet style, with a traditional full Scottish breakfast also available. The a la carte dinner menu features seasonal specialties and contemporary classics. The Melrose is popular, so guests should reserve a table when making a hotel reservation. The Melrose Lounge Bar serves light food throughout the day. Guests can take traditional afternoon tea there 2 to 5 p.m. each day. Accompanied children are welcome, and a children's menu is available. An adults-only cocktail bar is also on site.

 

Guests have free access to the Vital Health, Fitness and Beauty Club, which features exercise machines, weights, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and classes such as yoga or aqua aerobics.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.2 mi/11.58 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center
Nearby attractions
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.1 mi/0.16 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.7 mi/1.12 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (1.5 mi/2.41 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (2.7 mi/4.34 km)
Business
  • Seven stylish meeting rooms
  • Full secretarial and conference support
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Largest capacity room seats 300
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.8 mi/1.28 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roxburghe Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Roxburghe Hotel Rooms

2 Double Bed Non Smoking
2 Double Bed Non Smoking
Single Bed Large Non Smoking
Single Bed Large Non Smoking
Single bed Non Smoking
Single bed Non Smoking
Double Bed Non Smoking
Double Bed Non Smoking
Single Bed Medium Non Smoking
Single Bed Medium Non Smoking
2 Single Bed Non Smoking
2 Single Bed Non Smoking
King Bed Accesible
King Bed Accesible
1 King Bed Club Room
1 King Bed Club Room
King Bed Suite Non Smoking
King Bed Suite Non Smoking
1 King Bed Non Smoking
1 King Bed Non Smoking
King Bed Superior
King Bed Superior

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Georgian House: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.1 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.5 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.1 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.5 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.6 mi
  • The Grange: 0.6 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Comely Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.8 mi
  • Dalry: 0.8 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.8 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.9 mi
  • West Coates: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.9 mi
  • People's Story: 1 mi
  • Calton Hill: 1 mi
  • The Canongate: 1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Craigleith: 1.1 mi
  • Merchiston: 1.1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1.1 mi
  • Warriston: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 1.1 mi

Dining

George Street Bar and Grill
Open all day and inspired by traditional grand European cafes and brasseries- with a stunning interior-its the elegant and contemporary restaurant to experience some of the best dining and eating out in Edinburgh.
Samovar Lounge
At The Roxburghe we believe that afternoon tea is the most civilised meal of the day and ours is famous throughout Edinburgh. Where else can you experience freshly homemade cakes and sandwiches and warm scones with fresh cream and preserves

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for The Roxburghe Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Malcolm
Business
Haltwhistle
Sep 30, 2010

Fantastic hotel food exeptional

We have always loved Edinburgh but have been disappointed with the hotels Until now! Whenever we visit again we will stay at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good location for shopping and sightseeing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Best Traveler
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 31, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

Incredible. Such great staff, beautiful views, great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Mile!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
British Travelers
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Sep 18, 2011

The Roxburghe became our Edinburgh home!

We stayed at the Roxburghe on 3 separate nights during our 2-week British vacation; so we experienced 3 different rooms. All rooms were great; but those in the older part were nicer--lots of character. Scottish breakfast buffet in the restaurant was excellent. Staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Great location in New Town near Princess St. for shopping and dining. Good access to taxis, Waverly & Haymarket train stations & bus lines. We cannot praise the Roxburghe enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foxy Fox
Business
Middlesbrough, UK
Oct 16, 2011

Brilliant Hotel! Staff Very Helpful!

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, each night was perfect. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, air con in the room was a added bonus. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay, especially when needing a late night pharmacy. Location was awesome with nearby bars and restaurants. The only little glitch was the temperature of the shower was very temperamental, although this may have only been our room. But overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

rose street is just around the corner! well recommend the local pubs down this street. Also Gusto restaurant in George street is just round the corner is very nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslie B
Business
Gloucestershire
Nov 16, 2011

Quality

An exceptional experience on my first visit to Edinburgh in 40 years. I would unreservedly recommend to anyone who sets store by quality and attentiveness from the moment one steps out of the taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peggy from Cincy
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great value, great location

We stayed in this hotel for almost a week during a trip to Ediburgh for a wedding. It was within walking distance of the sites we wanted to see and many restaurants. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the price was very reasonable. The only improvements I would suggest are brighter reading lamps on the bedside tables and drawers (not just a closet) for clothes. I would happily stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a McDonalds nearby - perfect if you're in the mood for a more casual (and cheaper) breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WildRover
Business
Chorley, Lancs
Mar 6, 2013

Ticks all the boxes

Marvellous stay at The Roxburgh. Room available two hours early, good size, massive bed. Staff chatty, welcoming and helpful. Good numbers of attentive staff in the dining room at breakfast, which was excellently presented and made to order. The hotel fronts onto Charlotte Square but Rose Street is at the side with all the bars and restaurants you could need. Princes Street and George Street are on either side with the full array of shops you'd expect in a major city. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like "surf and turf", eat at the "Wildfire" just around the corner on Rose Street. Book first - very small and intimate, first class food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seth M
Business
Miami
May 1, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

Excellent hotel within walking distance of the castle, great food and tours. It was a pleasure to stay there. Clean, large rooms and a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prof Jim
Business
Akron, OH
Jul 31, 2011

Very good in numbers of ways

On Charlotte Square in the New Town, one block off Princes Street, view of the Castle (proof we weren't in Ohio any more). Larger room than we expected, especially considering our large city/old hotel experiences. Twin beds, but pushed together with one headboard as on cruise ships. Digital tv with numbers of radio stations, as well. Large modern bath, good shower/tub. Recently refurbished rooms, we were told.Uniformly pleasant and helpful staff.Pricey breakfast, but moderately priced and wonderfully prepared dinners of regional ingredients. I thought pork belly was a joke--"He cornered the market in pork bellies"--but the meal, with potatoes mashed with black pudding, was delicious. So was the Scottish lamb; so was the fish with crab/prawn risotto.The hotel is between Rose and George Streets, both with plenty of pubs, take-aways, and shops within walking distance.We chose the hotel on the basis of its price on [...]but the satisfaction went way beyond price. We'd go back in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned traveller
Business
Dublin
Jul 12, 2010

Loved it!

We stayed in The Roxburghe for 3 nights in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had an issue with the shower in our room and the staff moved us to a different room with a minimum of fuss. The location is fantastic with lots of restaurants etc within a few minutes walk. The concierge in the hotel was also very cheery and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the best location. Perhaps it would not be first choice for anyone with mobility issues as there was a lot of walking and steps within the hotel. I will be back as soon as possible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various dining options within a few minutes walk - try The Dome as the food is fab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top