$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

The Knight Residence

5 stars
12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh, EH3 9DJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
26 reviews
Edinburgh Visit

Four adults traveled to Edinburgh to visit family and to vacation. The Knight Residence was an... See full review

  • Travelnana
  • Jul 25, 2013
Family Fun

With a family of 5 we often have to rent two rooms on our holidays. This was a clean and... See full review

  • US Army family of 5
  • May 28, 2013
Luxury apartments perfectly placed in the Grassmarket close to Edinburgh Castle

Loved by guests - The Knight Residence offers luxury one, two and three bedroom apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh that are perfectly placed just below Edinburgh Castle. The property is within walking distance to the Royal Mile and is an ideal starting point for exploring the city. 

Highlights
  • Central location
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Family-friendly
  • Fully fitted kitchen in every suite
Rooms
Each apartment at The Knight Residence features a fully fitted kitchen, spacious lounge with dining area and modern bathroom with shower and bath. The apartments are fitted with the most up to date equipment and include wall and floor finishes of the highest quality. Attention to detail has been at the forefront of the interior design of the building; from the extensive range of integrated kitchen equipment, through to the crisp white sheets and soft fluffy towels.  

Guests can prepare dinner in the carefully planned kitchen. The beds have been handmade to specification to provide the soundest of sleeps, and the sofas are large and inviting - ideal to sink into after a hectic day at work or play. Every apartment at The Knight Residence Edinburgh has an entertainment console that includes a selection of CDs and DVDs for your enjoyment. Each apartment has its own voicemail facility. A second telephone line can be made available as an analogue or digital connection. Electronic room safe, iron, ironing board and hairdryers are all available in the apartment, with a trouser press available on request. 
Features
The Knight Residence is in the center of Edinburgh, close to all major attractions. The residence  offers high-speed Internet access, business center and free wireless Internet access for a more convenient stay.  Parking at Knight Residence costs 7 GBP per day with all profits used to plant native trees in Scotland. The property also provides daily housekeeping service and on-site concierge from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.7 km)
  • Edinburgh Waverley Station nearby
  • Buses between airport and city center
Nearby attractions
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Fax
  • Secretarial support
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Hotel Map

55.9453 -3.2012
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
Situated in a corner of the Old Town, The Knight Residence is within easy walking distance of all Edinburgh's major attractions and main shopping areas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Knight Residence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Knight Residence Rooms

Superior Studio
Superior Studio Apartment sleeps max of 2 people. One double bed in master bedroom. Bright, modern decor in green colour scheme. Compact lounge with sofa, small dining area, plasma-screen TV with satellite channels, VCR/DVD player. Kitchen with washer-dryer, dishwasher, fridge, oven, kettle, toaster, microwave, breakfast pack on arrival; tea and coffee replenished daily. Tiled bathroom with mosaic floor, shower/tub combination, heated towel rail, steam free mirror and Arran Aromatics toiletries. Located on the ground floor.
Superior One Bedroom Apartment
Superior one bedroom Apartment sleeps max of 3 people. One queen or two twin beds with sofa bed. Bright, modern decor in rust, green or blue colour scheme with original artworks on walls. Lounge with sofa and armchairs, small dining area, plasma-screen TV with satellite channels, VCR/DVD player. Kitchen with washer-dryer, dishwasher, fridge, oven, kettle, toaster, microwave, breakfast pack on arrival; tea and coffee replenished daily. Tiled bathroom with mosaic floor, shower/tub combination, heated towel rail, steam-free mirror, and Arran Aromatics toiletries.
Superior Two Bedroom Apartment
Superior two bedroom Apartment sleeps max of 5 people. Two king beds or one king and two twin beds with sofa bed. Bright, modern decor in rust, green or blue colour scheme with original artworks on walls. Lounge with sofa and armchairs, small dining area, plasma-screen TV with satellite channels, VCR/DVD player. Kitchen with washer-dryer, dishwasher, fridge, oven, kettle, toaster, microwave, breakfast pack on arrival; tea and coffee replenished daily. Tiled bathroom with mosaic floor, shower/tub combination, heated towel rail, steam-free mirror, and Arran Aromatics toiletries.
Comfort One Bedroom Apartment
Comfort One Bedroom Apartment sleeps max of 3 people. One queen bed in master bedroom with sofa bed. Bright, modern decor in green colour scheme. Lounge with sofa bed and armchair, small dining area, plasma TV with satellite channels, VCR/DVD player. Open plan kitchen with washer-dryer, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, oven, kettle, toaster, microwave, breakfast pack on arrival; tea and coffee replenished daily. Bathroom with shower/tub combination. Complimentary Arran Aromatics toiletries. Located in annexe building.
Comfort Two Bedroom Apartment
Comfort Two Bedroom Apartment sleeps max 5 people. Two queen beds or one queen and two single beds with sofa bed. Bright, modern decor in rust, green or blue colour scheme. Lounge with sofa and armchairs, small dining area, multi-channel TV, VCR/DVD player. Kitchen with washer-dryer, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, oven, kettle, toaster, microwave, breakfast pack on arrival; tea and coffee replenished daily. Bathroom with tub, second bathroom with shower. Complimentary Arran Aromatics toiletries. Located in the in annexe building.
Comfort Three Bedroom Apartment
Comfort Three Bedroom Apartment sleeps max 7 people. Two queen beds and three single beds. Bright, modern decor in rust, green or blue colour scheme. Lounge with sofa and armchairs, small dining area, multi-channel TV, VCR/DVD player. Kitchen with washer-dryer, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, oven, kettle, toaster, microwave, breakfast pack on arrival; tea and coffee replenished daily. Bathroom with tub, second bathroom with shower. Complimentary Arran Aromatics toiletries. Located in the in annexe building.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lauriston: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.3 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.3 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.6 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.6 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.6 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.7 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.7 mi
  • Dalry: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.8 mi
  • Greenhill: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Burghmuirhead: 0.9 mi
  • People's Story: 0.9 mi
  • Church Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.9 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • West Coates: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Calton Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Ardmillan: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Knight Residence has priority booking arrangements with many of Edinburgh's top restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for The Knight Residence

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 26
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelnana
NC
Jul 25, 2013

Edinburgh Visit

Four adults traveled to Edinburgh to visit family and to vacation. The Knight Residence was an excellent place to stay. Having a living room to relax and visit with friends and family was wonderful. Kitchen facilities were very nice. Everything was very , very clean. Beds were comfortable. The only thing that I would recommend would be a fan for each bedroom as we were there during the heat wave. I understand that air conditioning is fairly non-existent in Scotland as it is not needed but we happened to be there during high temps. Overall, an excellent experience for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grass market very closeby with many eating options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim from Northern Florida
Florida
May 22, 2013

Great room and location

The room is really a suite with a kitchen, living area, bathroom, and bedroom. The location is great - you can walk to almost everything - sights, shopping, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Combine, Texas
Oct 6, 2011

Home away from home

A good place to come home to after a day of sight seeing. The staff was always helpful and polite. You'll never want to stay in a regular hotel again. The location was good and taxis to the train and bus stations were reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Two Thin Laddies" at 103 High Riggs has a great breakfast Scotland or the US. The concierge will point you in the right direction. The pubs in Grass Market are fun and only 3 short blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucky larry
Kennesaw, Ga. USA
Jul 14, 2011

Old Town Edinburgh Scotland

We were greeted by a friendly staff, [...] the duty manager walked us up to our room and pointed out the features. We arrived in Edinburgh after traveling around Europe for eight days and believe me it was great having a washer and dryer the the apartment. Our apartment was spacious and well appointed. On the kitchen counter we found a welcome gift of milk, bread, cereal, coffee and tea etc. [...] also supplied us with travel books and great advise on pubs and food near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hay market is only a short walk with a variety of pubs and restaurants. Old Town Edinburgh is only 3 blocks away and loaded with gift shops, Edinburgh Castle and beautiful churches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia, USA
Mar 31, 2011

Your home away from home!!

The Knight Residence was fantastic! the apartment was very comfortable with everything your may need and much more--it was really like being in our own home. The duty managers, [...], were excellent in giving us good advice and recommendations and their overall customer service was outstanding! My husband and I recommend this apart hotel to everyone. It was like being in our own home, but with the service of a 5-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants and all the city attractions just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Mar 30, 2011

Great hotel and location

Nice big apartment with a kitchen, very easy walk to Old Town and the train station. Extremely friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mellany
Atlanta, GA
Nov 29, 2010

More Apartment than Hotel

We arrived early before noon to our hotel, and although check-in was at 3PM, they had our room ready for us, walked us and our bags up to it and walked us through all the features of the apartment so we knew how to use everything, which I thought was a very personal touch. They also asked us about our plans on our trip and gave suggestions of local events that were going on. From the airport we took the city centre bus and walked from their to the hotel. it is by edinburgh castle close to the grassmarket. The walk from city centre is probably 10-15 mins, but it is pretty uphill. Its not impossible to do by any means, but with all the hotel luggage its not the most fun. We didn't have a map on us at that point, but were able to find our way to the hotel using the bus map and the castle as guidance. Although the hotel is in a convenient location (2 mins to grassmarket, 5 mins to the castle) it is off on its own side street not in the middle of all the city action. So if you are looking for something in the center of all the attractions I don't recommend staying here. With that being said, the walk into the center is not difficult and with the city being so small, I never felt like i was walking a long distance to get back home at night. All in all, staying at the Knights Residence was a very different feel for us because we are used to staying in large hotels, but I enjoyed it. It felt as though we had our own flat in Edinburgh and definitely gave the trip a personal touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petit Paris in the Grassmarket is WONDERFUL! The food, service, location are perfect. It is really close to the Knights Residence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Knight Residence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrogate, UK
Nov 7, 2009

Great price and excellent location!!

We liked this hotel so much, we stayed an extra night! Very convenient location, walkable to all of Edinburgh's major tourist sites. Very spacious room with full kitchen and living room. Excellent value for the money. Staff were incredibly helpful. Highly recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search