$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

The Howard

5 stars
34 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
8 reviews
Butler included!

Lovely small hotel in a Georgian building in the New Town. Decor appropriate for the era. Very... See full review

  • Biddie
  • Oct 27, 2012
Wonderful Find!!

We stayed at The Howard for personal travel and we were NOT disappointed. It was a beautiful "old... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 3, 2010
A true home from home feel at this delightful Edinburgh hotel

Every guest at The Howard is treated like family, which helps to create a real 'at home' feeling. The hotel strives to ensure that each and every guest feels comfortable during their visit, whether they be on vacation in the city or visiting on business. There is a range of facilities to suit the needs of everyone. The Howard has its own parking to the rear of the building for guest's use and a concierge is on hand to offer advice or give help where needed. The hotel's in-house restaurant is considered to be one of the finest in the city.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Relaxing retreat in the heart of Edinburgh city center, with warm and friendly staff

  • 18 guest rooms all individually decorated in a traditional style so as to complement their surroundings

  • Exclusive suites have their own private terrace garden areas and discreet private entrances

The Howard Rooms
Guest rooms at The Howard are all non-smoking; in fact the whole hotel is now a smoke free environment. There are a range of guestrooms, in various sizes, to suit all needs and there are also executive suites that have their own private entrance and a small terraced garden area that afford the occupants an added touch of discreet privacy. Guestroom facilities include flat screen televisions, with a choice of 55 cable channels and movie on demand services, wireless Internet, iPod docking station and the option of breakfast in bed. For an extra touch of luxury there is also a personal butler service to deal with tasks such as packing and unpacking, ironing and even shopping. There is also a same day laundry and dry cleaning service if required.
Things To Do:
  • St. Andrew Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)

  • Scott Monument (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)

  • Royal Scottish Academy (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)

  • Princes Mall (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)

  • Princes Street Gardens (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)

  • Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)

  • Georgian House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)

  • National Gallery of Scotland (0.5 mi/ 0.9 km)

  • Fruit Market Gallery (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)

  • Edinburgh Dungeon (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)

Hotel Map

55.9579 -3.1989
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
The Howard is located - 7 minute walk from George Street, where Edinburgh's chic designer boutiques can be found, 6 minute taxi journey from Edinburgh Waverley train station and 9 miles from Edinburgh Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Howard also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Howard Rooms

Superior Room
Room with one double bed offers a more spacious alternative to luxury double rooms, each superior room has additional wardrobe space, a seating area.
Standard Room
Room with one double bed offers a dedicated facilities like LCD flat screen television and remote control, with 55 cable channels, eTV - a television / in room entertainment centre which includes a variety of channels, movies on demand, internet access, radio, a music jukebox and hotel information,wireless Internet access in all public areas.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.6 mi
  • The Grange: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.6 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.6 mi
  • The Grange: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.6 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • Warriston: 0.7 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.7 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.7 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.8 mi
  • People's Story: 0.8 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.9 mi
  • Comely Bank: 0.9 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.9 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 1 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 1 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 1 mi
  • Inverleith: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.1 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1.1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Atholl
The Atholl - 'Dining at The Atholl' is an experience full of decadent pleasures, as you would expect from one of Edinburgh's finest restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for The Howard

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rahman
Business
Melbourne
Mar 11, 2013

Excellent personal care

Nothing is too much for the staff. Well organised and most helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eformulator
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2010

Wonderful Stay

Wonderful personalized service. Very quiet and peaceful hotel. Excellent location, just a 10 minute walk from the historical areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biddie
Business
Chico, CA
Oct 27, 2012

Butler included!

Lovely small hotel in a Georgian building in the New Town. Decor appropriate for the era. Very comfortable. Location within easy walking distance of Princes St and the Royal Mile (though walking uphill is required).. Level of service was exceptional. It was like a small Downton Abbey with the butler arriving with drinks on a tray!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling2
Business
Missouri
Sep 20, 2009

Great Hospitality!

When we arrived, they did not have us on the reservation list. Orbitz had not completed our reservation. The butler served us tea and biscuts while they straightened out the reservation. The service was unbelievable. The butler offered to iron our clothes and unpack for us. Anything we needed, they accomodated us with. The hotel is within walking distance from the train station. Cabs are reasonable to the Royal Mile and restaraunts and shops are with in walking distance as well. We had a great stay. The room was very spacious. Breakfast was also provided in our package. It was good and again they were very accomodating. We really enjoyed our stay and I would recommend it to anyone, especially couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
May 30, 2010

fantastic hotel, great location

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. The Howard Hotel was only outdone by the city of Edinburgh. The service at the hotel was unmatched in my travels. I have stayed at other 5 star hotels that have had great service but the Howard being quite small enabled the entire staff to provide my wife and I an unforgetable experience.I have also payed more than twice as much for a less enjoyable hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the staff made some great recomedations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westfield, N.J.
May 23, 2010

old world charm, luxurious

Good location in new town. Great service - excellent breakfast - friendly helpful staff- high class all the way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 8, 2009

"Understated Elegance"

The Howard is rated as one of the best hotels in Edinburgh and that reputation is deserved. From our arrival to our departure the service was impeccable in every way. This is THE place to stay and the price was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be aware of the road detours and construction obstacles caused by the long-standing subway project in central Edinburgh. These can lengthen travel time into the City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Howard

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 3, 2010

Wonderful Find!!

We stayed at The Howard for personal travel and we were NOT disappointed. It was a beautiful "old style" hotel made of connecting town houses located in new town. We had wonderful service and a gorgeous room. The view wasn't anything to write home about, but we didn't stay there for the view. It was away from the hustle and bustle of old town, yet close enough to still walk everywhere. The hotel provided a restaurant guide that they had put together and we ate a wonderful local pub. The atmosphere was inviting and restful and the included breakfast the next morning was great!! We are already planning our return back to the hotel and think that the hotel is absolutely worth the five stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can always walk up to George St. for dining, but there were many, many more options even closer. We thought it was a wonderful location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top