$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

4 stars
11 Brandfield Street, Haymarket, Edinburgh, EH3 8AS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
14 reviews
Stay City Edinburgh a great time!

We had an excellent stay. It was a nice, clean room with an excellent pull out for our 2 adult... See full review

  • Uncle John the Great
  • Apr 13, 2014
Ideal getaway

On arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded at no extra cost and the lady on reception was... See full review

  • a merry outing
  • Jun 23, 2013
Spacious apartments ideally set in the vibrant West End

Tourists looking for self-contained spaces fit for long- or short-term stay while in the Scotland capital find suitable base at Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End. Located in Edinburgh's cultural center, this contemporary hotel is close to Usher Hall, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Traverse Theatre, and Edinburgh Castle. The property is also a short walk away from the specialty stores along Princes Street and Jenners shopping mall.

Staycity Apartments offer weekly housekeeping and 24-hour reception for a better stay. Other services include luggage storage (fees apply), Wi-Fi access, and PC in the reception. Parking is available within the property for a fee.
3 Reasons to Stay

  • Ideal location in Edinburgh's West End
  • Apartments with kitchen and dining room
  • Close to local attractions

Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End Rooms

After exploring sights in the city, guests can retreat to one of the cozy apartments in Staycity West End. The hotel offers studio units and one- and two-bedroom units equipped with fully fitted kitchen, LCD TV and dining room. DVD player and hairdryer are available on request. Select units come with laundry facilities and private balcony.

Things to Do

  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.2 mi/0.32 km)
  • Camera Obscura and World of Illusions (0.8 mi/1.29 km)
  • Scottish National Gallery (0.8 mi/1.29 km
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.9 mi/1.45 km)
  • Murrayfield Stadium (1.1 mi/1.77 km)
  • Edinburgh Festival Theatre (1.1 mi/1.77 km)
  • Arthur's Seat (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (2.2 mi/3.54 km)
  • Royal Yacht Britannia (3.0 mi/4.83 km)

Hotel Map

55.9434 -3.212
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport is approx 20mins by taxi Haymarket Rail Staton 5mins walk.
Area description
Situated on 11 Brandfield Street in the City Center, the West End Apartments are superbly located just 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princess Street.

Cineworld (Film Festival) - 2 mins walk
George Street - 10 mins walk
Haymarket train station - 10 mins walk
Waverley Station - 12 mins walk
Royal Mile - 12 mins walk
In other words hotel is within touching distance of some of the city's top attractions!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End Rooms

Standard Apartment
One Bedroom Apartment sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children under age of 10 - Whether your visit is for business or pleasure hotel has superb one bedroom self-catering apartments to suit your needs. Providing a genuine home from home all apartments are fully furnished with TVs,and fully-equipped fully-equipped kitchens.
Leamington Wharf Townhouse
Town-houses to suit your needs sleep up to 7 people.Providing a genuine home from home, all town-houses are fully furnished with sofas, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas, spacious bedrooms and more. Which come fully-furnished, with linen and towels also provided. All town-houses also come with washer/dryer, microwave oven and LCD TV/DVD players. All feature balconies that overlook the canal.
2 Bedroom Apartment
Choice of 2 double beds or 1 double bed and 2 single beds or 4 single beds, with sofa bed in the lounge area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountainbridge: 0.1 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.2 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.3 mi
  • Dalry: 0.3 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.5 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • West Coates: 0.6 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Ardmillan: 0.7 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.7 mi
  • Greenhill: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.1 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.2 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.3 mi
  • Dalry: 0.3 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.5 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • West Coates: 0.6 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Ardmillan: 0.7 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.7 mi
  • Greenhill: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Burghmuirhead: 0.7 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.8 mi
  • Church Hill: 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.8 mi
  • Polwarth: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.8 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Roseburn: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.9 mi
  • Cowgate: 1 mi
  • Princes Mall: 1 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Shandon: 1.1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 1.1 mi
  • Westfield: 1.1 mi
  • Comely Bank: 1.2 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter Westling
Business
Sydney
Oct 8, 2014

Family getaway

Room size average. It have a kitchen, washer & dryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riyz
Business
Nottingham
Apr 13, 2014

Apartments are good but not the service

We stayed here for about 5 nights on a business trip. Apartments and rooms are good though the mainteneace is literally nothing. No daily cleaning of the rooms . I think for the price we paid here we would have lived in Marriott which is not far away . Prefer this one for short trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle John the Great
Business
Camarillo, CA
Apr 13, 2014

Stay City Edinburgh a great time!

We had an excellent stay. It was a nice, clean room with an excellent pull out for our 2 adult children. It is in walking distance of everything for tourists too. A great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mamma Mia! in Stirling by the castle!! Excellent food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tinabei
Business
london
Jan 1, 2014

Terrible staff!!! Never choose staycity again!

Here is the experience: The one male staff at the reception is quite rude and too stupid to be flexible. We called them in advance to ask if we could check in earlier around half 12 at noon, and a female staff responded it's fine. So we booked a taxi to check in as planned on the day in a heavy rain, but the male staff didn't allow us to check in at noon. We have heavy luggages and it's raining outside but we have no place to stay, while the staff said the checkin time starting from 15.00, which was just 3 hours later. At the end, the staff even charged us for the locker...If their staff could tell us they cannot allow earlier checkin when we called them in advance, we would not book a taxi to go there at that early time! It's obviously their problem of arrangement but they still insist their ridiculous rule. Very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shambles
Business
Bolton
Sep 2, 2013

Good value for money!

We stayed at these apartments for 4 nights. The location is good but a little bit of a walk from the main attractions. The castle is about 30-40mins walk away and the palace just over an hour. But if there's a few of you you can easily take a cab to save time. There is a tesco close by for groceries. The apartment itself is safe and secure. The staff were friendly. The decor is modern and clean, the bed very comfy! Kitchen was well kitted out and the only grumble being the living space is a little too small! There were 3 of us in a 4 person apartment and it felt rather snug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a merry outing
Business
South Wales
Jun 23, 2013

Ideal getaway

On arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded at no extra cost and the lady on reception was very helpful. We were now in a two bedroomed apartment which was perfect for us. My Mother is disabled and in a wheelchair and I had difficulty getting about, so hired a mobility scooter from a local disability centre. There was plenty of room in our apartment to house both vehicles with loads of space. The rooms were airy, bright, very clean and close to all the sights. Just a short walk/ride to Princes Street. There was some building work going on opposite, but that was no problem. I would definitely use this hotel again and would look out for their chain in other countries. We were all very pleased with our break in Edinburgh and this hotel was the icing on the cake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chinese buffet on Waverley Bridge was a great find and the food was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rajendra
Business
Mumbai
May 31, 2013

Not good experience

I did not get two bed room apartment due to heavy booking . Hence for first day I stayed in one room and for balance two days in two bed room apartment . Honestly the two bed room in terms of room size is eye wash . We saw mosquitos in the room . .In two bed room we were expecting two toilets . Since I was holding two bookings , the team asked me to check out at 930 am and I got second room on 3 30 pm . At least they could have accommodated my request of getting second room without any delay . It wasn't great experience Net net Very poor service .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom the Runner
Business
Lancashire, England
Apr 17, 2013

We'll be back soon

Although a little off the out of the way, once we found our barings, the location proved excellent at the price. We stayed at a three person appartment where we found the facilities to be excellent, the appartment modern, warm and clean with REAL hot water always on tap. At the time of our stay (12-14 April 2013) we were not disturbed by any noise from either the street or the courtyard. Now for the minor gripes (which can be rectified when we make our next booking): The lifts in the three person appartment blocks do no link to the car-park. The sofa-bed has to have bedding removed and be converted back into a sofa each day if you wish to have somewhere comfortable to relax while watching TV. Personally, I like to pull my bed covering up over my head but it was tucked in well short of the pillow - all easilly sorted so, as the title states, we are planning on returning before the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mid day snack - Oink Hogroast, Victoria St off Grassmarket. Evening meal - any around Grassmarket. About a 1m walk: via Grove St, Fountainbridge, East Fountainbridge, West Port, Grassmarket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scottish Mama
Business
Ft lauderdale FL
Mar 3, 2013

Not as advertised at all!

The apartment that it shows on site for a 2 bedroom is not the accommodation you will receive. The apartment that is shown in the photos is the 4 bedroom, we we very disappointed with misleading photos. The apartment we received was very small and bathroom did not have jets shower as shown in all bathroom photos. Clean and central but overall a disappointment to be so deceived. Also having to hand in remote to access the garage each time was a real pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments - West End

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Dover
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 6, 2012

Far Better Than Expected

This was a great place to stay the apartments were very stylish and well equipt. Washer, Dryer, Dishwasher everything an apartment would have. The location was kind of hard to find but it is right in the middle of the city. The rooms were a little hot as you really could not control the heart, so we opened a window and that did the trick. Overall a great place to stay in Edin burgh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the edinburgh airport bus its fast it's express and its the cheapest way to get into town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top