$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

5 stars
1 Festival Square, Edinburgh, EH3 9SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
10 reviews
Very clean and pleasant

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Very friendly and helpful staff and... See full review

  • Despi
  • Jul 2, 2014
City break

The Spa and staff at the spa were amazing - it does not get any better! Very welcoming and the... See full review

  • Htarr
  • Dec 4, 2013
Enjoy a warm welcome and distinct historic charm at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh. Nestled in the shadow of historical Edinburgh Castle, we are the perfect spot from which to explore the city's famous shopping thoroughfare – Princes Street, Edinburgh's financial district –The Exchange, or the architectural interest of the Georgian New Town. Indulge your mind, body, and soul at our ONE Spa, Europes most advanced city spa, offering massage, a thermal suite, and Cleopatra baths. Bring everyone together for good food and great conversation while enjoying Santini's delicious, contemporary take on classic Italian dishes. Spend time with the people who matter at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh.

Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh Rooms

Classic
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9471 -3.2076
Nearby airports
Prestwick, (PIK), 80.00, MI; Edinburgh Airport, (EDI), 9.66, MI; Abbotsinch International, (GLA), 55.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountainbridge: 0.3 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.4 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • Dalry: 0.5 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.3 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.4 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • Dalry: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.7 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.7 mi
  • West Coates: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.9 mi
  • Greenhill: 0.9 mi
  • The Grange: 0.9 mi
  • Ardmillan: 0.9 mi
  • Burghmuirhead: 1 mi
  • Royal Mile: 1 mi
  • Comely Bank: 1 mi
  • Church Hill: 1 mi
  • Roseburn: 1 mi
  • People's Story: 1.1 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Polwarth: 1.1 mi
  • The Canongate: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2011

Great Location

The location of the Sheraton is very good. The staff, especially the bellman who took a "wee bit" of time to explain the high tech electronics in the room were very helpful. The hotel included a restaurant named Santini where we had an exceptional meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Despi
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 2, 2014

Very clean and pleasant

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Very friendly and helpful staff and impeccably clean rooms. If you like minimalist modern design with lots of glass and marble and can afford it, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Htarr
Plymouth
Dec 4, 2013

City break

The Spa and staff at the spa were amazing - it does not get any better! Very welcoming and the facilities are top notch as was the treatment - One of a kind! The hotel was fine but for the price we expected more and our experience was let down by a couple of reception staff who came across a bit pretentious and uncaring when we expressed some concerns - not all the staff were like that though - but I think on return to Edinburgh we will stay somewhere else in the future and visit the spa separately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant just up the road and I would recommend treating yourself to the One Spa - they open early so it's worth getting up and having the place more or less to yourself.

Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2011

Great Location

The location of the Sheraton is very good. The staff, especially the bellman who took a "wee bit" of time to explain the high tech electronics in the room were very helpful. The hotel included a restaurant named Santini where we had an exceptional meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2011

Great Location

The location of the Sheraton is very good. The staff, especially the bellman who took a "wee bit" of time to explain the high tech electronics in the room were very helpful. The hotel included a restaurant named Santini where we had an exceptional meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ikan
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Oct 5, 2009

Great hotel with amazing spa and service

Great hotel with excellent spa! Perfect location - close to everything without being on the main street which is very, very loud. Pool was excellent and spa great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ikan
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Oct 5, 2009

Great hotel with amazing spa and service

Great hotel with excellent spa! Perfect location - close to everything without being on the main street which is very, very loud. Pool was excellent and spa great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Highland Cow
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 9, 2009

Great Location, View, Service, & Price!

First of all, the location of the hotel was great; a 5 minute walk and you were at the castle and the start of the Royal Mile. We ended up upgrading our room to a Castle View Club Room for a great price. With the room we also got a free breakfast and cocktail & h'orderves (the h'orderves were amazing) every day. The room itself was very large, and it was absolutely spotless. The view was stunning, looking directly at the csatle, providing a perfect location to watch the Edinburgh Festival fireworks over the castle. The service at the hotel was also amazing, and we relied heavily on the concierge's recommendations, which were all excellent. We did not have to lift a finger to get tours booked, as the hotel took care of everything, even if you went outside their recommendations. We exercise a lot, and made full use of the gym, which was state of the art and very clean. When we go back to Edinburgh, we will definitely be staying at the Sheraton Grand again, hopefully next time we'll get a chance to take advantage of the Spa which looked immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Arthur's Seat. Arthur's Seat is a big hill, or small mountain just south of the Holyrood Palace. It is quite a hike to the top, and some of the footing can be a bit tricky, but the views you get of the city are breathtaking and provide for some very special pictures and memories. We are a relatively fit couple and we spent about 2 hours or so getting to the top of the highest peak, taking pictures, and then coming back down. There were two other peaks we didn't go to that were lower. And I should mention that we did take a couple more daring shortcuts up to the top that probably cut down the amount of time it would normally take to get to the top of the mountain. However, there were people of all ages making the hike, and I would recommend this to everyone as the views are very special.

Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Highland Cow
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 9, 2009

Great Location, View, Service, & Price!

First of all, the location of the hotel was great; a 5 minute walk and you were at the castle and the start of the Royal Mile. We ended up upgrading our room to a Castle View Club Room for a great price. With the room we also got a free breakfast and cocktail & h'orderves (the h'orderves were amazing) every day. The room itself was very large, and it was absolutely spotless. The view was stunning, looking directly at the csatle, providing a perfect location to watch the Edinburgh Festival fireworks over the castle. The service at the hotel was also amazing, and we relied heavily on the concierge's recommendations, which were all excellent. We did not have to lift a finger to get tours booked, as the hotel took care of everything, even if you went outside their recommendations. We exercise a lot, and made full use of the gym, which was state of the art and very clean. When we go back to Edinburgh, we will definitely be staying at the Sheraton Grand again, hopefully next time we'll get a chance to take advantage of the Spa which looked immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Arthur's Seat. Arthur's Seat is a big hill, or small mountain just south of the Holyrood Palace. It is quite a hike to the top, and some of the footing can be a bit tricky, but the views you get of the city are breathtaking and provide for some very special pictures and memories. We are a relatively fit couple and we spent about 2 hours or so getting to the top of the highest peak, taking pictures, and then coming back down. There were two other peaks we didn't go to that were lower. And I should mention that we did take a couple more daring shortcuts up to the top that probably cut down the amount of time it would normally take to get to the top of the mountain. However, there were people of all ages making the hike, and I would recommend this to everyone as the views are very special.

Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newbie to international travel
Florida
Apr 22, 2009

Great hotel!

This was a great hotel. It was very very close to all kinds of sightseeing in Edinburgh and literally only a few minutes walk to the castle and all the other famous attractions. Close to great restaurants and wonderful shopping. I used simply the bus to get from the airport to the hotel and did not take a taxi at all and had a HUGE suitcase. They let me check in at 8:30 in the morning for no extra charge which was wonderful because I was severly jetlagged. All in all, an excellent hotel. I didn't even get to use the spa or pool, which looked incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newbie to international travel
Florida
Apr 22, 2009

Great hotel!

This was a great hotel. It was very very close to all kinds of sightseeing in Edinburgh and literally only a few minutes walk to the castle and all the other famous attractions. Close to great restaurants and wonderful shopping. I used simply the bus to get from the airport to the hotel and did not take a taxi at all and had a HUGE suitcase. They let me check in at 8:30 in the morning for no extra charge which was wonderful because I was severly jetlagged. All in all, an excellent hotel. I didn't even get to use the spa or pool, which looked incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top