$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Excellent

Stayed for 3 nights and have no complaints at all about this Hotel. Great location, clean,... See full review

  • jm LDN
  • Jun 20, 2013
Great location

Great friendly staff, conveniently located within walking distance of major attractions and... See full review

  • Markku
  • Oct 2, 2014
Historic hotel close to rail station and Edinburgh attractions

Royal British Hotel, on world famous Princes Street, meets the needs of both business and leisure visitors. The hotel, located less than 400 yards from Waverley Station, offers convenient access to many of the city's most famous attractions, including Edinburgh Castle, the Galleries, the Festival Hall, and the Old and New Towns. Guests choose from 72 bedrooms on five floors, as well as five executive rooms and six suites. Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, affords views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Highlights
  • Close to business and tourist districts
  • Choice of formal or informal dining
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • Executive rooms and suites available
Rooms

Royal British Hotel offers 72 bedrooms on five floors, including 61 standard rooms (17 single, 28 twin, six double, one quad, and nine triple rooms). Five executive rooms, six suites, and several smoking rooms are also available. Amenities include 24-hour room service, same-day laundry service, and free wireless Internet access. Most rooms offer excellent views over downtown Edinburgh.

Features

Princes Street Coffee House offers premium coffee and a wide selection of Paninis, sandwiches, pastries, and ice cream in contemporary surroundings on the ground floor. The stylish Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, serves breakfast (from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m.), lunch, and dinner. Heidi's Pantry offers snacks, high teas, bar lunches, and suppers at any time of day. Business travelers make use of four conference rooms and a variety of syndicate rooms.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Royal Mile (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Old Town (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Usher Hall (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arthur's Seat (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms accommodate 350 people
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Business and financial district (0.8 mi/1.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal British Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Royal British Hotel Rooms

Twin Room
Twin Room offers 2 single beds along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
Single Room offers 1 single bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Double Room Offers 1 double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1.1 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
Situated on the first floor the Glendale Restaurant and Bar offer stunning views of the Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. The Glendale bar is perfect rendezvous for pre dinner drinks serving a wide range of beverages to suit all testes. The bright airy Glendale restaurant is stylish and is open for breakfast (Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast served from 7.30 until 10.00am), Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 68
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melianna Kelso
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 13, 2014

Decent hotel

I'm probably not the average traveler as I like to travel light and I don't expect much from lodging. Basically as long as I don't see signs of bugs, I'm happy. Be advised, this is an older hotel. I could see history as I climbed the stairs to my room. Aesthetically there were some signs of prior water damage appearing on the ceiling and the walls could use a fresh coat of paint. There is a working elevator in this hotel,which is nice. My room was a single and had amenities of hair dryer, tea pot, shortbread cookies easy day and toiletry items. Like most, this hotel does not have wash cloths in the room, but I was prepared for that and brought my own. The room was clean but the bathroom had an odd smell like something had been burnt in there. The water flow was great in the bath, but the shower itself needed to be replaced as there was essentially no water pressure. Honestly, I've been wetter just standing In the rain. The upside was the location. Right on Princes Street and near Waverly Station, North Bridge, etc, The staff couldn't have been better. Very courteous and helpful. This is a no frills hotel with great location and your costs (which is kind of high) probably goes to the locale vs, anything else in this hotel. But for me, I'm glad I didn't find any bugs, so I'm happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oggie
Business
southampton england
May 25, 2014

another happy stay

i have stayed a few times and the service is allways good especially the staff i would stay there again without hesitation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

theres plenty to see and the buses are not far away so you can get anywere no problem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern Anglophile
Business
Tennessee.
Dec 16, 2013

Convenient Location

The hotel facilities were fine but aging with a couple of exceptions. Due to the fact that several restaurants/clubs are located on or near the hotel and there is only one elevator, you will probably have to travel via the stairs on most trips to your room. In addition, it was more than a bit disconcerting to find a sign opposite the bathroom sink that said that the water was not drinkable. Fortunately, the hotel did provide a bottle of water each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oggie
Business
southampton england
Sep 20, 2013

royal british hotel

more than happy to go back again very pleasant staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess Pettit
Business
Galax, Virginia
Sep 6, 2013

3 Night Stay

I didn't stay in my hotel much, I was too busy exploring! But I loved that the staff provided a kettle with tea and hot chocolate and water bottles for my stay. I loved the location and view. The room was nice and comfortable with good lighting. I can see myself staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Mile, you can spend days on that alone! Try World's End Bar Fish & Chips and go to the Castle. Amazing and worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luvtravel2
Business
California
Apr 15, 2013

Great location, but not-so-hot shower

The location is fantastic. Everything else is OK except the shower - no hot water! Brrr! This is Scotland! Must-have-hot-shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Mile is a 5 minute walk away - as is the train station and AirLink bus to the airport. Very very convenient location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george greco
Business
paris
Feb 23, 2013

super

good location , very kind staff, very good, what to say , good , nice , quiet, kind ......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

$$&€£¥

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WOLKS
Business
Germany
Jan 1, 2013

a good place for a stay

good place good price clean and comfortable with quite a view through the window

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opalcallin
Business
Fife, Scotland
Dec 17, 2012

Bargain

I stayed over as I had a works night out planned, so only really saw reception and my room, for the money I paid the room was really lovely, though I was glad I had my earplugs as I faced towards Princes Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

its on Princes Street opposite Princes Mall and a 2 min walk from the St James Centre, for shopping your couldnt ask for more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alex111
Business
Ukraine
Dec 14, 2012

Fantastic stay

It is very beautifull hotel which has nice location - city center near Balmoral hotel and 5 minutes by foot to Royal Mile. The staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean. And price is not big per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top