$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
View map of 20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
71 reviews
June 2014

Stayed for couple nights. More than perfect location. Nuff said :-) See full review

  • Sergiy L.
  • Mar 12, 2015
Perfect City Centre Location

Not only does the Royal British Hotel have the perfect city centre location it also has very... See full review

  • Gruss46399
  • Dec 27, 2014
Historic hotel close to rail station and Edinburgh attractions

Royal British Hotel, on world famous Princes Street, meets the needs of both business and leisure visitors. The hotel, located less than 400 yards from Waverley Station, offers convenient access to many of the city's most famous attractions, including Edinburgh Castle, the Galleries, the Festival Hall, and the Old and New Towns. Guests choose from 72 bedrooms on five floors, as well as five executive rooms and six suites. Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, affords views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Highlights
  • Close to business and tourist districts
  • Choice of formal or informal dining
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • Executive rooms and suites available
Rooms

Royal British Hotel offers 72 bedrooms on five floors, including 61 standard rooms (17 single, 28 twin, six double, one quad, and nine triple rooms). Five executive rooms, six suites, and several smoking rooms are also available. Amenities include 24-hour room service, same-day laundry service, and free wireless Internet access. Most rooms offer excellent views over downtown Edinburgh.

Features

Princes Street Coffee House offers premium coffee and a wide selection of Paninis, sandwiches, pastries, and ice cream in contemporary surroundings on the ground floor. The stylish Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, serves breakfast (from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m.), lunch, and dinner. Heidi's Pantry offers snacks, high teas, bar lunches, and suppers at any time of day. Business travelers make use of four conference rooms and a variety of syndicate rooms.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Royal Mile (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Old Town (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Usher Hall (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arthur's Seat (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms accommodate 350 people
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Business and financial district (0.8 mi/1.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal British Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Royal British Hotel Rooms

Twin Room
Twin Room offers 2 single beds along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
Single Room offers 1 single bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Double Room Offers 1 double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1.1 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
Situated on the first floor the Twenty Princes Street Restaurant and Juniper Bar offer stunning views of the Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. Juniper is the perfect rendezvous for pre dinner drinks serving a wide range of beverages to suit all testes. The bright airy atmosphere of Twenty Princes Street is stylish and is open for breakfast (Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast served from 7.30 until 10.00am), Lunch and Dinner. **PLEASE NOTE: The hotel restaurant will be closed from 23rd February until 31st March 2015. Between this time, Continental Breakfast will only be available at a price of 5.00 per person.**

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 71
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergiy L.
Business
Kiev
Mar 12, 2015

June 2014

Stayed for couple nights. More than perfect location. Nuff said :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset traveller
Business
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Sep 15, 2014

A hotel that cannot be recommended for anybody

One of the most unacceptable stays ever. We booked this hotel for convenience of location and expected basic comforts like clean room, good clean bathroom, 3 star not 5 star of course. First they get the booking messed up with with our request for one double room, one twin and given two twin rooms. Second, the bathroom in one room was minus a shower as the shower tap was removed for repairs and water coming out of the shower tap going all over. Though the manager was initially very helpful, he became extremely rude. First he said he didnt know that the bathroom was under repair and then said he cannot be responsible and suggested we go without a shower during our stay. When we requested that we were given another room and he suggested we use his personal room to shower. This was insulting and not acceptable as we were two girls and an attached bathrrom is what we paid for. Finally they offered a bathroom in a room which is not sold with kitchen fumes....we had to walk a few rooms to use the bathroom...... It was unbeleivable. We requested for another hotel. This manager became very rude after we refused to continue staying by using another room to shower. Next day while we were on tour, our bags were packed haphazardly (shoes and clothese put together) by housekeeping and we were asked to leave the hotel ungraciously in the middle of the night. When we wanted to discuss the matter, even the counter staff was exttemely rude and said they will throw us out. Of course the new hotel was far better and we had just about a 4-5 hours stay before we left for the airport. This hotel should be removed from the booking list as its sold on the pretence of having all the facilities but needs refurbishment really bad. Rooms are dirty and with bare minimum facilities. lights dont work, some of the pillows minus covers etc...... For regular travellers like us who experience 5 star to 3 star accomodation around the globe, this hotel would be ranked as the worst stay ever....... But baring this experience, we had a lovely two days in Scotland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel located in an excellent place with 2 minutes to the station, bus stand, city tour busses etc. lots of places to eat. hotel is below standard of course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
glyssette
Business
santa Fe
Aug 11, 2013

Extremely Dirty!!

Since we made our reservations through Orbtz, they gave us the worst room they had!! The guy at the lobby told us that!... We received an ultra dirty room, with an unflushed WC, a non working phone, non working lights (they had to send somebody to change the bulbs)... since they couldn´t make the phone work, they changed our room to a "better one" but it was dirty as well, the trash bin, was completely full (the cleaning lady missed to empty it).. the carpet eeewwwww, you wouldn´t want to step on it on bare foot!!... the cleaning lady never bothered to shake the sheets ( If you want to make your bed properly you have to shake it out first, to get rid of unwanted objects like hairs).... The location is the best (but there are a lot of hotels in the same Street, it´s not the only one there)... So, you have to decide if you can stand so much dirt because of the location or not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler265634
Business
Louisville, Ky
May 16, 2013

Really?

Improvement needed. Not a comfortable stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark Loves the Scottish
Business
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jan 26, 2013

Very Friendly

Great Central Location. Tourist offic right across the street. very friendly and guest orientated, held our bags for us before and after checkin/out. accomadating. excellent staff. There was a fair going on so the front room was a little noisy, but expected. the matreses could be replaced, old and lumpy and the carpet could be cleaned or replaced, but other than that EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tourist office right across the street, Beginning of hop on/off bus on the corner.Overall excellent location to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
audballs
Business
Ayr
Nov 3, 2012

brilliant!

doesn't look very appealing from the outside but once you step into reception area it's great! excellent service, excellent location and rooms were lovely too. would definately recommend to anyone!! all this while they were refurbishing the hotel too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimleeb1
Business
Tempe, Arizona
May 6, 2012

Perfect Location

We initially were given a non-smoking twin room, but found the room dinghy and smelling of smoke. We requested a room change and were offered #404, a remodeled, updated, plush room. Decorated in rich purple and black, with a black velour European Style hideaway couch. The room was quiet and had a view of the rooftop and other buildings, but it was very pleasant. Bathroom was clean and modern but had a serious issue with shower drainage. Otherwise, the room was just what we needed. The location was perfect--close to Waverly Station, Edinburgh Castle, a tourist info spot across the street, and many places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Rose Street with many pubs and eating places. Check out Rose Street Grill for reasonably priced, fresh, and delicious fish and chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mariaom
Business
co kerry ireland
Mar 10, 2012

fantastic getaway

It was very late when we arrived due to a 4 hour flight delay .The night porter was just so helpful to us . nothing was a bother to the staff__ from giving us directions calling a taxi making phonecalls to tour companies. room very comfortable. bathroom spotless. we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2010

Questionable Quality

It always smelled of smoke even though we were in the non-smoking area - perhaps due to the construction workers working in that part of the building. The lift only goes to the 3rd floor; we were located on the 4th floor with cumbersome luggage and no one helped us to our room - the stairwell to the 4th floor we found to be surprisingly seedy, not welcoming or comfortable by any means. The shower head had to be screwed in further, which was a job accomplished by myself. The toilet didn't even flush and had to be left until the morning. The staff in the breakfast room was extremely unfriendly, curt, and simply had a general bad attitude. Amazing location in easy walking distance of some great and definitional locations such as The Palace of Holyroodhouse, the Edinburgh Castle, and the National Gallery and just across the street from Waverly Station. I WOULD ONLY RECOMMEND IT FOR ITS LOCATION. Besides - it's not like you're living in the hotel room, at least I would hope not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gordon's - leaving the hotel go left down Prince's Street, head across the bridge all the way up to the Royal Mile. Turn right onto the Royal Mile and Gordon's is there. The best salmon pasta dish - absolutely delicious, I can't remember the name, but it's under Secundi Pesci. 1st one. So good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top