$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
69 reviews
Great location

Great friendly staff, conveniently located within walking distance of major attractions and... See full review

  • Markku
  • Oct 2, 2014
another happy stay

i have stayed a few times and the service is allways good especially the staff i would stay there... See full review

  • oggie
  • May 25, 2014
Historic hotel close to rail station and Edinburgh attractions

Royal British Hotel, on world famous Princes Street, meets the needs of both business and leisure visitors. The hotel, located less than 400 yards from Waverley Station, offers convenient access to many of the city's most famous attractions, including Edinburgh Castle, the Galleries, the Festival Hall, and the Old and New Towns. Guests choose from 72 bedrooms on five floors, as well as five executive rooms and six suites. Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, affords views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Highlights
  • Close to business and tourist districts
  • Choice of formal or informal dining
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • Executive rooms and suites available
Rooms

Royal British Hotel offers 72 bedrooms on five floors, including 61 standard rooms (17 single, 28 twin, six double, one quad, and nine triple rooms). Five executive rooms, six suites, and several smoking rooms are also available. Amenities include 24-hour room service, same-day laundry service, and free wireless Internet access. Most rooms offer excellent views over downtown Edinburgh.

Features

Princes Street Coffee House offers premium coffee and a wide selection of Paninis, sandwiches, pastries, and ice cream in contemporary surroundings on the ground floor. The stylish Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, serves breakfast (from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m.), lunch, and dinner. Heidi's Pantry offers snacks, high teas, bar lunches, and suppers at any time of day. Business travelers make use of four conference rooms and a variety of syndicate rooms.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Royal Mile (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Old Town (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Usher Hall (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arthur's Seat (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms accommodate 350 people
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Business and financial district (0.8 mi/1.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal British Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Royal British Hotel Rooms

Twin Room
Twin Room offers 2 single beds along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
Single Room offers 1 single bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Double Room Offers 1 double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1.1 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
Situated on the first floor the Glendale Restaurant and Bar offer stunning views of the Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. The Glendale bar is perfect rendezvous for pre dinner drinks serving a wide range of beverages to suit all testes. The bright airy Glendale restaurant is stylish and is open for breakfast (Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast served from 7.30 until 10.00am), Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler265634
Business
Louisville, Ky
May 16, 2013

Really?

Improvement needed. Not a comfortable stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
glyssette
Business
santa Fe
Aug 11, 2013

Extremely Dirty!!

Since we made our reservations through Orbtz, they gave us the worst room they had!! The guy at the lobby told us that!... We received an ultra dirty room, with an unflushed WC, a non working phone, non working lights (they had to send somebody to change the bulbs)... since they couldn´t make the phone work, they changed our room to a "better one" but it was dirty as well, the trash bin, was completely full (the cleaning lady missed to empty it).. the carpet eeewwwww, you wouldn´t want to step on it on bare foot!!... the cleaning lady never bothered to shake the sheets ( If you want to make your bed properly you have to shake it out first, to get rid of unwanted objects like hairs).... The location is the best (but there are a lot of hotels in the same Street, it´s not the only one there)... So, you have to decide if you can stand so much dirt because of the location or not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dutch visitor
Business
Netherlands
Jun 11, 2014

The website gives you not the right information

I was at room 216. The most stupid room, i have been in my life. Dirty, old, little and no fresh air. The window couldn t open. Only the bar & restaurant are ok in this hotel. All the rest is very bad. I booked this hotel because the rooms looks nice, it was complete the opposite. Saturday morning 04.00 o clock, big fire alarm in the whole building. Everybody was out of his rooms. Nobody came to tell what was going on.. Also the next day, nobody could explain wat was going on. So don t book this stupid dirty hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Auntie Mame
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 23, 2014

Shabby, and not in a chic way

I chose this hotel because it's across the street from Waverly train station. That is pretty much the only thing it has going for it. (Well, also that they provide shampoo AND conditioner, which practically no one does these days.) The hotel hallways smelled weird. The bedspreads looked like they were about 40 years old. The room was very shabby (but clean, as far as I could tell). The tub was very out-of-date, and the sink had spots in it. Weirdly, there is what seems to be a rather trendy and expensive bar/restaurant in this hotel. It makes no sense. The hotel was relatively inexpensive, but I would not stay here again under any circumstances. We were only there one night, and we spent the absolute bare minimum amount of time in the room. I couldn't wait to check out the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset traveller
Business
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Sep 15, 2014

A hotel that cannot be recommended for anybody

One of the most unacceptable stays ever. We booked this hotel for convenience of location and expected basic comforts like clean room, good clean bathroom, 3 star not 5 star of course. First they get the booking messed up with with our request for one double room, one twin and given two twin rooms. Second, the bathroom in one room was minus a shower as the shower tap was removed for repairs and water coming out of the shower tap going all over. Though the manager was initially very helpful, he became extremely rude. First he said he didnt know that the bathroom was under repair and then said he cannot be responsible and suggested we go without a shower during our stay. When we requested that we were given another room and he suggested we use his personal room to shower. This was insulting and not acceptable as we were two girls and an attached bathrrom is what we paid for. Finally they offered a bathroom in a room which is not sold with kitchen fumes....we had to walk a few rooms to use the bathroom...... It was unbeleivable. We requested for another hotel. This manager became very rude after we refused to continue staying by using another room to shower. Next day while we were on tour, our bags were packed haphazardly (shoes and clothese put together) by housekeeping and we were asked to leave the hotel ungraciously in the middle of the night. When we wanted to discuss the matter, even the counter staff was exttemely rude and said they will throw us out. Of course the new hotel was far better and we had just about a 4-5 hours stay before we left for the airport. This hotel should be removed from the booking list as its sold on the pretence of having all the facilities but needs refurbishment really bad. Rooms are dirty and with bare minimum facilities. lights dont work, some of the pillows minus covers etc...... For regular travellers like us who experience 5 star to 3 star accomodation around the globe, this hotel would be ranked as the worst stay ever....... But baring this experience, we had a lovely two days in Scotland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel located in an excellent place with 2 minutes to the station, bus stand, city tour busses etc. lots of places to eat. hotel is below standard of course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tasha1
Business
leven, fife
Dec 13, 2014

overnight stay

We had a beautiful meal at the hotel, the room was basic but good enough for sleeping in. Great location for shopping and sightseeing. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Joes
Business
Massachusetts
May 21, 2012

Royal British Hotel

The location was great. The cleanliness of the rooms was poor. I wished they remodeled the hotel before continuing to rent rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lalanterna Italian food. off Princess St and Hanover St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
im4irish
Business
New Bern, NC
May 26, 2013

Not Ready for Prime Time

No one told us:the hotel is undergoing major renovation--apparently taking over the hotel next door;elevator doesn't stop on the same floor as your room (need to drag your suitcases up and down full flight of stairs after using elevator; carpeting in hallways is filthy and threadbare-- where it exists;room not large enough to change your mind much less your clothes; warning on bathroom mirror:"Don't Drink The Water!"??; Despite promises, no internet access in room nor even at Reception Desk (had to roam the hallways until you found a hotspot);bizarre decorating in room--green neon lighting;pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BEST fish & chips in Britain:"The Standing Order" bar. After 2pm, price drops in half--a STEAL!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GMScott
Business
NM
Jun 6, 2013

Stay in the city

It was nice, but the beds are hard and very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jmf874
Business
Dublin ireland
May 25, 2014

Disappointing

THe only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a perfect location. When booking it was advertised as a recently renovated room. This is not what we received. Room was of a very poor standard and was very small. Bed wa uncomfortable,windows were filthy, bathroom was awful. For €100 just bed no breakfast I found it very expensive for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top