$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
View map of 20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
audballs
Business
Ayr
Nov 3, 2012

brilliant!

doesn't look very appealing from the outside but once you step into reception area it's great! excellent service, excellent location and rooms were lovely too. would definately recommend to anyone!! all this while they were refurbishing the hotel too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stefabelle
Business
Gravesend, Kent
Nov 2, 2012

Basics covered, great location!

This hotel was exactly what my boyfriend and I were looking for- having our so-so hotel in a great location and security to keep our bags safe in our rooms. Our room was MASSIVE! Bigger than our flat. The hotel staff was friendly, we got a complimentary bottle of water (have to ask for it) and when we checked out the hotel tagged and bagged our things for free while we visited the city in the few hours before our train left. The only downfall was that the second morning of our stay there was no hot water. But for a cheap hotel, what do you expect? I would definitely stay there again for the money I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out the front steps and you are there. Shopping on your right, a 4 minute walk across the bridge and you are on High street, the center of it all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conorgeo
Business
Wexford
Sep 27, 2012

Alright hotel - great location

I thought this hotel was 'alright' and apart from the comfort of the bed and perfect location was a bit disappointed. The carpets could do with a good steam-clean and the skirting board and window sill were a bit manky (dirty) - as if the excesses of the Edinburgh Comedy Festival had been let to dry in - not good :( Saying that the bed-linen and bed were good quality and comfy. And the small bathroom was clean. Tip - try to get a room off Princes Street as it's even noisy on a Sunday morning no matter how much you have tried to anaesthetise yourself the evening before (sensitive car alarms from 7am and the bagpipes kick off at 10am)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M and C
Business
Cork
Aug 14, 2012

very central and accessible

We found the hotel very central, near Bus and Rail stations and around the corner from St. James shopping centre. The room was very comfortable and the service wasvery good. The only niggle was the noise and pedistrian crossing facility outside the hotel area was difficult due to major road works due to putting down new tram line in Edinburgh which will continue until 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

St. James shopping centre is quite large and around the corner from the hotel. It has a very good range of shops and a pleasant foodcourt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tennis bum Stan
Business
las Vegas
Jun 8, 2012

Can't beat the location

perfect location, staff very helpful and good value. The rooms need a bit of TLC though. Bathrooms need some new caulking and the beds are vintage 1960s and you feel the springs with each move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try Dogs restaurant, a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Excellent Scottish and Italian food in two separate dinning rooms. Great value as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Joes
Business
Massachusetts
May 21, 2012

Royal British Hotel

The location was great. The cleanliness of the rooms was poor. I wished they remodeled the hotel before continuing to rent rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lalanterna Italian food. off Princess St and Hanover St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimleeb1
Business
Tempe, Arizona
May 6, 2012

Perfect Location

We initially were given a non-smoking twin room, but found the room dinghy and smelling of smoke. We requested a room change and were offered #404, a remodeled, updated, plush room. Decorated in rich purple and black, with a black velour European Style hideaway couch. The room was quiet and had a view of the rooftop and other buildings, but it was very pleasant. Bathroom was clean and modern but had a serious issue with shower drainage. Otherwise, the room was just what we needed. The location was perfect--close to Waverly Station, Edinburgh Castle, a tourist info spot across the street, and many places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Rose Street with many pubs and eating places. Check out Rose Street Grill for reasonably priced, fresh, and delicious fish and chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevkev
Business
los angeles, California
Apr 13, 2012

its a good one

best location, nice room, what else can you ask for? a good price~ just a reminder for those wanna book this, the hotel front door will lock at midnight, but u can ring the bell so someone will come and open the door, this is something the staff didn't tell me, which nearly freak me out, but over all, its a good one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is a walking distance, must goto arthur seat, which is the mountain just beside queen's gallery, nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denicio
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Great location in the heart of the city.

I liked the convenience ,the staff was excellent . the room was adequate but could have used some fine touches.Shower not the best kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Location perfect if you are traveling by airplane or Rail or bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pablo Spirit
Business
Hoffman Estates ,Illinois
Apr 11, 2012

Vacation

Nice friendly staff particularly Ewa.Room was very clean.Location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top