$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
View map of 20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler265634
Friends
Louisville, Ky
May 16, 2013

Really?

Improvement needed. Not a comfortable stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luvtravel2
Single
California
Apr 15, 2013

Great location, but not-so-hot shower

The location is fantastic. Everything else is OK except the shower - no hot water! Brrr! This is Scotland! Must-have-hot-shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Mile is a 5 minute walk away - as is the train station and AirLink bus to the airport. Very very convenient location.

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dpaigej
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 13, 2013

Amazing location, awesome staff, just what we were hoping for

This hotel has been great for our 6 night stay. Location is near everything. No matter which way you walk out of the hotel there are cool places to eat, drink and see. The staff has been more than helpful, which is more than Ivan say for some other service industry people we've met in Edinburgh. The room has everything we could need and is quite large for all our stuff. We did the 2 single double room, there are two twin beds right next to one another. It's like you are sharing a bed but you get your own sheets. We got a remodeled room with upgraded fixtures, electronics etc and we just love it. Only downside is construction behind us this month, but it made us get up earlier, which is more than fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Barklays bank is just behind the hotel. It's a bank of America partner so you get free withdrawals!

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seagull Stew
Business
Manchester, UK
Apr 2, 2013

Convenient for business

Stayed at the hotel for ease of access to Waverley station, as I needed to get away in the morning. Room was very nice and I had a great night's sleep. Decor is very modern, which I like, and I enjoyed the big TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Black Tom
Business
Mayo, Ireland
Mar 14, 2013

ideal stopover

a fabulous location after a long train journey late at night and ideal base for exploring city's historical sights next day before catching the bus from stop across the road to the airport. Alas we should have taken the lift up to reception as the stairs was heavy going but we soon forgot that when we sniffed the Edinburgh air. Go raibh maith agat Edinburgh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance of Castle, Royal Mile and many other historical features

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george greco
Single
paris
Feb 23, 2013

super

good location , very kind staff, very good, what to say , good , nice , quiet, kind ......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

$$&€£¥

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leaper
Couples
USA -- Kansas
Jan 28, 2013

Just what we were looking for -- great location + good value.

We've already recommended it to a colleague heading to Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark Loves the Scottish
Friends
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jan 26, 2013

Very Friendly

Great Central Location. Tourist offic right across the street. very friendly and guest orientated, held our bags for us before and after checkin/out. accomadating. excellent staff. There was a fair going on so the front room was a little noisy, but expected. the matreses could be replaced, old and lumpy and the carpet could be cleaned or replaced, but other than that EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tourist office right across the street, Beginning of hop on/off bus on the corner.Overall excellent location to everything

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Diary of a Cake Maker
Family
Barcelona
Jan 22, 2013

One night stop over

You pay for what you get. I couldn't complain at all. I arrived on a late night flight and stayed there as there is no public transport to Glasgow late at night. The great thing was that it was cheaper to stay there than take a taxi to Glasgow. Having arrived at the hotel at 00.30am, it was a nice surprise to have a kettle with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and shortbread. I was starving when I arrived. I left first thing in the morning but if you have a room facing Princes Street, bring ear plugs as the windows are not double glazed and the traffic is a little noisy. However, I would recommend it to others for price and fabulous location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoutch007
Couples
London
Jan 2, 2013

Fantastic location with cheap price

The hotel was quite good as compared to other hotels I have visited in city center of various towns. The location is the best thing about this hotel right at the middle of the city center from where everything is accessible and within our walking distance and trust me it is actually in the heart of Edinburgh City Center...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top