$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
80 reviews
Excellent

Stayed for 3 nights and have no complaints at all about this Hotel. Great location, clean,... See full review

  • jm LDN
  • Jun 20, 2013
Amazing location, awesome staff, just what we were hoping for

This hotel has been great for our 6 night stay. Location is near everything. No matter which way... See full review

  • Dpaigej
  • Apr 13, 2013
Historic hotel close to rail station and Edinburgh attractions

Royal British Hotel, on world famous Princes Street, meets the needs of both business and leisure visitors. The hotel, located less than 400 yards from Waverley Station, offers convenient access to many of the city's most famous attractions, including Edinburgh Castle, the Galleries, the Festival Hall, and the Old and New Towns. Guests choose from 72 bedrooms on five floors, as well as five executive rooms and six suites. Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, affords views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Highlights
  • Close to business and tourist districts
  • Choice of formal or informal dining
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • Executive rooms and suites available
Rooms

Royal British Hotel offers 72 bedrooms on five floors, including 61 standard rooms (17 single, 28 twin, six double, one quad, and nine triple rooms). Five executive rooms, six suites, and several smoking rooms are also available. Amenities include 24-hour room service, same-day laundry service, and free wireless Internet access. Most rooms offer excellent views over downtown Edinburgh.

Features

Princes Street Coffee House offers premium coffee and a wide selection of Paninis, sandwiches, pastries, and ice cream in contemporary surroundings on the ground floor. The stylish Glendale Restaurant and Bar, situated on the first floor, serves breakfast (from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m.), lunch, and dinner. Heidi's Pantry offers snacks, high teas, bar lunches, and suppers at any time of day. Business travelers make use of four conference rooms and a variety of syndicate rooms.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Royal Mile (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Old Town (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Usher Hall (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arthur's Seat (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms accommodate 350 people
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Business and financial district (0.8 mi/1.4 km)

Royal British Hotel Rooms

Twin Room
Twin Room offers 2 single beds along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
Single Room offers 1 single bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Double Room Offers 1 double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal British Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9532 -3.1907
Area served
Basing yourself with us in Edinburgh lets you explore the rest of Scotland.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
The Royal British Hotel is among the shops of the famous Princes Street in central Edinburgh. The lounge and restaurant have superb views of Edinburgh Castle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1.1 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
Situated on the first floor the Glendale Restaurant and Bar offer stunning views of the Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. The Glendale bar is perfect rendezvous for pre dinner drinks serving a wide range of beverages to suit all testes. The bright airy Glendale restaurant is stylish and is open for breakfast (Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast served from 7.30 until 10.00am), Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Black Tom
Business
Mayo, Ireland
Mar 14, 2013

ideal stopover

a fabulous location after a long train journey late at night and ideal base for exploring city's historical sights next day before catching the bus from stop across the road to the airport. Alas we should have taken the lift up to reception as the stairs was heavy going but we soon forgot that when we sniffed the Edinburgh air. Go raibh maith agat Edinburgh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance of Castle, Royal Mile and many other historical features

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george greco
paris
Feb 23, 2013

super

good location , very kind staff, very good, what to say , good , nice , quiet, kind ......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

$$&€£¥

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leaper
USA -- Kansas
Jan 28, 2013

Just what we were looking for -- great location + good value.

We've already recommended it to a colleague heading to Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark Loves the Scottish
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jan 26, 2013

Very Friendly

Great Central Location. Tourist offic right across the street. very friendly and guest orientated, held our bags for us before and after checkin/out. accomadating. excellent staff. There was a fair going on so the front room was a little noisy, but expected. the matreses could be replaced, old and lumpy and the carpet could be cleaned or replaced, but other than that EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tourist office right across the street, Beginning of hop on/off bus on the corner.Overall excellent location to everything

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Diary of a Cake Maker
Barcelona
Jan 22, 2013

One night stop over

You pay for what you get. I couldn't complain at all. I arrived on a late night flight and stayed there as there is no public transport to Glasgow late at night. The great thing was that it was cheaper to stay there than take a taxi to Glasgow. Having arrived at the hotel at 00.30am, it was a nice surprise to have a kettle with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and shortbread. I was starving when I arrived. I left first thing in the morning but if you have a room facing Princes Street, bring ear plugs as the windows are not double glazed and the traffic is a little noisy. However, I would recommend it to others for price and fabulous location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoutch007
London
Jan 2, 2013

Fantastic location with cheap price

The hotel was quite good as compared to other hotels I have visited in city center of various towns. The location is the best thing about this hotel right at the middle of the city center from where everything is accessible and within our walking distance and trust me it is actually in the heart of Edinburgh City Center...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WOLKS
Germany
Jan 1, 2013

a good place for a stay

good place good price clean and comfortable with quite a view through the window

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea Iceton
Edinburgh
Dec 17, 2012

Fantastic hotel for a weekend getaway!

The staff did everything that they possibly could to make our experience at the hotel the best that it could be.I would recommend it to anybody!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opalcallin
Fife, Scotland
Dec 17, 2012

Bargain

I stayed over as I had a works night out planned, so only really saw reception and my room, for the money I paid the room was really lovely, though I was glad I had my earplugs as I faced towards Princes Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

its on Princes Street opposite Princes Mall and a 2 min walk from the St James Centre, for shopping your couldnt ask for more!

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alex111
Ukraine
Dec 14, 2012

Fantastic stay

It is very beautifull hotel which has nice location - city center near Balmoral hotel and 5 minutes by foot to Royal Mile. The staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean. And price is not big per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top