$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
View map of 20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oggie
Business
southampton england
Sep 20, 2013

royal british hotel

more than happy to go back again very pleasant staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess Pettit
Business
Galax, Virginia
Sep 6, 2013

3 Night Stay

I didn't stay in my hotel much, I was too busy exploring! But I loved that the staff provided a kettle with tea and hot chocolate and water bottles for my stay. I loved the location and view. The room was nice and comfortable with good lighting. I can see myself staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Mile, you can spend days on that alone! Try World's End Bar Fish & Chips and go to the Castle. Amazing and worth it!

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
glyssette
Business
santa Fe
Aug 11, 2013

Extremely Dirty!!

Since we made our reservations through Orbtz, they gave us the worst room they had!! The guy at the lobby told us that!... We received an ultra dirty room, with an unflushed WC, a non working phone, non working lights (they had to send somebody to change the bulbs)... since they couldn´t make the phone work, they changed our room to a "better one" but it was dirty as well, the trash bin, was completely full (the cleaning lady missed to empty it).. the carpet eeewwwww, you wouldn´t want to step on it on bare foot!!... the cleaning lady never bothered to shake the sheets ( If you want to make your bed properly you have to shake it out first, to get rid of unwanted objects like hairs).... The location is the best (but there are a lot of hotels in the same Street, it´s not the only one there)... So, you have to decide if you can stand so much dirt because of the location or not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluenose.
Business
Renfrew
Jun 24, 2013

Great location for everything could not get better

We did a lot sight seeing and traveling around Edinburgh .So location was very important This hotel suited us down to the ground.Would certainly go back again hope the refurbishment will have been finished Mind you the work did not spoil our break

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jm LDN
Business
UK
Jun 20, 2013

Excellent

Stayed for 3 nights and have no complaints at all about this Hotel. Great location, clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rome, Italy
Jun 13, 2013

Well located but be careful!

We stayed three nights at this hotel and had two problems. First, there were four consecutive false fire alarms in the middle of the second night we were there. Second, and more serious, when we checked out we accidentally left behind in the room two ladies’ blouses. We called the hotel the next day but were told there was no one available from housekeeping to ask at that time but they promised to call us back after checking. We received no reply so we called back the following day and received the same answer and another assurance they would call us back but we received no response. We can only assume the items were stolen by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two nice places to eat in Edinburgh in the center of the New Town: The Dogs and Urban Angel, both on Hanover Street near Queen Street. Excellent food, staff, and good value.

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GMScott
Business
NM
Jun 6, 2013

Stay in the city

It was nice, but the beds are hard and very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maffia
Business
Cannock
May 28, 2013

Great for us

Bargain price, was being refurbished at time but didn't effect us. We had a refurbished room which was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
im4irish
Business
New Bern, NC
May 26, 2013

Not Ready for Prime Time

No one told us:the hotel is undergoing major renovation--apparently taking over the hotel next door;elevator doesn't stop on the same floor as your room (need to drag your suitcases up and down full flight of stairs after using elevator; carpeting in hallways is filthy and threadbare-- where it exists;room not large enough to change your mind much less your clothes; warning on bathroom mirror:"Don't Drink The Water!"??; Despite promises, no internet access in room nor even at Reception Desk (had to roam the hallways until you found a hotspot);bizarre decorating in room--green neon lighting;pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BEST fish & chips in Britain:"The Standing Order" bar. After 2pm, price drops in half--a STEAL!

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler265634
Business
Louisville, Ky
May 16, 2013

Really?

Improvement needed. Not a comfortable stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top