$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

4 stars
80 High Street, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH1 1TH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
58 reviews
Excellent hotel - superb location

Wonderful 4-day stay, the hotel is right in the middle of the Royal Mile so all Edinburgh... See full review

  • rafolimen
  • Jun 9, 2013
Central location, free parking, fine hotel

We were in Edinburgh for a family party and my nephew recommended the Radisson. It was the perfect... See full review

  • Cairngorm
  • Apr 14, 2013
Beautiful 238-room hotel in the center of the Scottish capital city

This four-star hotel, in a fantastic 16th-century building, is less than a five-minute walk from major shopping and business areas. Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament, and other top Edinburgh tourist attractions are also nearby. The hotel features 238 luxurious guest rooms with first-class amenities, free high-speed Internet, in-room safes, and mini bars. This Edinburgh hotel also offers fine dining, a health club, and superb event facilities.

Highlights
  • Beautiful hotel and environs
  • In the heart of Edinburgh's historic Old Town
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • On-site restaurant and health club
Rooms

Radisson Blu Hotel Edinburgh has 238 contemporary rooms. Guests can choose among standard, business class, and family rooms, or the luxurious classic and turret suites. Free high-speed Internet, cable television, laptop-sized safes and air conditioning are available in all rooms. Business class and above also have a coffee machine. Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh enforces a strict no-smoking policy throughout, but external smoking areas are provided. Room service is available 24 hours a day.

Features

The hotel has two dining venues, The Restaurant and Itchycoo Bar and Kitchen. The Restaurant is open daily for a breakfast buffet featuring over 120 dishes, including all the ingredients of a traditional Scottish breakfast. Itchycoo Bar and Kitchen serves breakfast, dinner, and a lounge menu daily. Food is made with local, seasonal ingredients. The bar serves cocktails, wines, and traditional malt whiskies.


Guests also enjoy access to the Pace Health Club, which includes a gymnasium, sauna, swimming pool, and wellness treatments.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.0 mi/12.87 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center
Nearby attractions
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.32 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.7 mi/1.12 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.5 mi/5.63 km)
Business
  • Eight conference and banquet rooms
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Translation services available
  • ISDN lines available
  • Handicapped accessible
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Casino
Sauna
Disco
Night club
Play ground
Driving range
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Indoor parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Ramp access to buildings
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9497 -3.1864
Area served
City Centre Shopping
Nearby airports
TURNHOUSE ARPT, (EDI), 11.50, KM, W; GLASGOW INTL, (GLA), 90.00, KM, W;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Nearby points of interest

  • Underground City: 0 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Underground City: 0 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.5 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1.1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur's Seat: 1.1 mi
  • Meadowbank: 1.2 mi
  • Powderhall: 1.2 mi

Dining

CARRUBBER'S
Bistro Style restaurant with private dining room available
ITCHYCOO
Distingtive and fresh flavours from the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ise 58
Blackpool
Dec 14, 2011

Birthday trip

Excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff - well worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt B
New York, NY, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great location!

We visited with our nephew at Edinburgh University recently and stayed 3 nights at the Rad Blu. Truly a great location for the old town, the castle, the train station and of course the university. Hotel lounge is spacious, comfortable, a good place to sit and plan the day. Hotel was clean, staff friendly, and the breakfast was ample. What more do you need for short visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even on a Tuesday evening in October, in this area, it is best to reserve a table for dinner. We were only a party of 2, but had to try 5 restaurants before we found one with a free table.

Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tklc
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Location, location!

This hotel has the perfect location to tour the old city. It is in the middle of the Royal Mile and half way between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Castle. It is also within easy walking distance of the National Museum of Scotland. In addition, there was a Starbucks in the next block to give us our coffee fix at a reasonable price! The staff was extremely helpful with all of our requests. Our room was large and the bath was very good size. Our only complaint was that the room needed more lights. It was difficult to read without rearranging some of the furniture, but, that being said, we will stay at the Blu on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tklc
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Location, location!

This hotel has the perfect location to tour the old city. It is in the middle of the Royal Mile and half way between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Castle. It is also within easy walking distance of the National Museum of Scotland. In addition, there was a Starbucks in the next block to give us our coffee fix at a reasonable price! The staff was extremely helpful with all of our requests. Our room was large and the bath was very good size. Our only complaint was that the room needed more lights. It was difficult to read without rearranging some of the furniture, but, that being said, we will stay at the Blu on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Jul 24, 2011

Central location - Great hotel

This hotel has a wonderful location and is within comfortable walking distance of most of the things that you want to see and do. We walked to the castle, shops, the museum and the ghost tour meeting spot without much time or effort. There was usually the sound of bagpipes in the air. The rooms on the pub side of the building can be noisy on the lower floors at night. There are no drawers in the hotel room. We were on a wait list for a luggage rack. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Jul 24, 2011

Central location - Great hotel

This hotel has a wonderful location and is within comfortable walking distance of most of the things that you want to see and do. We walked to the castle, shops, the museum and the ghost tour meeting spot without much time or effort. There was usually the sound of bagpipes in the air. The rooms on the pub side of the building can be noisy on the lower floors at night. There are no drawers in the hotel room. We were on a wait list for a luggage rack. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lyndhurst, NJ
Jun 11, 2011

Great hotel at a great location

The hotel is around the middle of the Royal Mile, and with quick and easy access to Weaverly train station and Airport bus transportation. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and not too pricey. Overall a very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lyndhurst, NJ
Jun 11, 2011

Great hotel at a great location

The hotel is around the middle of the Royal Mile, and with quick and easy access to Weaverly train station and Airport bus transportation. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and not too pricey. Overall a very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalor
Indiana, US
Mar 29, 2011

Best place to stay in Edinburgh!

MY 3rd stay at this hotel in as many years. could not ask for a more perfect location, walking distance to everything! Staff very courteous and helpful. Called down to the desk 2 different times, and it seemed as soon as I hung up the phone, someone was knocking at the door with what I requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalor
Indiana, US
Mar 29, 2011

Best place to stay in Edinburgh!

MY 3rd stay at this hotel in as many years. could not ask for a more perfect location, walking distance to everything! Staff very courteous and helpful. Called down to the desk 2 different times, and it seemed as soon as I hung up the phone, someone was knocking at the door with what I requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top