$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Princes Street Suites

4 stars
16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3EG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
13 reviews
One night stay over

Concerned to learn in phone call booking had been cancelled we understand by hotel staff member?... See full review

  • Jules G
  • Oct 9, 2014
Excellent

Everything was as described. Great location, comfortable warm apt. Lovely roof terrace. Helpful staff See full review

  • Trish2765
  • Nov 26, 2013
Luxury self-catering apartments in the heart of Edinburgh’s center
Princes Street Suites is a five-star hotel with 37 luxury apartments in the center of Scotland's capital city. The hotel is just off the historic Princes Street, within easy reach of all major attractions. Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms. Guests can use the on-site fitness center.
Highlights
  • Central location
  • Babysitting service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • In-room catering with private chef available
Rooms

Princess Street Suites has 37 self-catering apartments ranging in size from studio to the penthouse. All accommodations come with LCD television and DVD, an iPod docking station, free Wi-Fi, direct-dial telephone, oven, stove, refrigerator/freezer, crockery, cutlery, and glassware. Most suites offer bathrooms with separate bathtub and shower. Apartments with washing machines are available on request. The hotel can arrange in-room catering with a private chef. Light housekeeping is provided for short stays. Guests staying for seven days or longer receive full housekeeping. All suites are non-smoking.

Features

The hotel is in the very heart of Edinburgh, close to attractions such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, and the National Gallery of Scotland. Princes Street Suites, just off Edinburgh's main shopping district, has a fitness center on site.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8 mi/10.5 km)
  • Edinburgh rail station nearby
  • Transfers to/from airport
Nearby attractions
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business secretarial service
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Hotel Map

55.9537 -3.1871
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located a two minute walk from Harvey Nichols and St Andrews Square, with the Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Princes Street just a short stroll away. With excellent road, rail and airport links, 16 Waterloo Place is in the perfect position for enjoying Edinburgh whether you're in town for business or pleasure.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Princes Street Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Princes Street Suites Rooms

Studio
This room offers one double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Kettle, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster and Washing machine.
One Bedroom Apartment
This room offers one double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Kettle, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster and Washing machine.
Two Bedroom Apartment
This room offers two double beds with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Kettle, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Toaster, Washing machine.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.5 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.6 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.7 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.8 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Easter Road: 0.9 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.9 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Leith Waterworld: 1.1 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1.1 mi
  • Meadowbank: 1.1 mi
  • Warriston: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Princes Street Suites

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs E
Business
London
Aug 25, 2010

Perfect location

Perfectly located for the Edinburgh festival. The suite was a very generous size, with comfortable beds and very nice linen and towels. The roof terrace has the most spectacular view over Edinburgh. Our room had no view, but it would have been wonderful to have had a room at the back with a view over the city. Only downside was that the TVs didn't work and they weren't able to fix them; but luckily we had come for the Fringe and not to watch TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Royal Oyster Bar - Parisian style building, lovely fresh fish. Pricey but nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mxa055
Business
Attica, Greece
Apr 26, 2013

Great sightseeing trip

We visited Edinburgh for a 5 day gateway for some sightseeing and visiting the highlands. The hotel apartments look great and have everything you will need, I even got some ideas for our apartment back home. The apartment is cleaned and towels are changed daily which is not the case for most other apartments. The view is great and the large glass windows instead of wall on the side of the building enhances that as you can see it from anywhere you are sitting. The staff is also very helpful and kind. We will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If visiting more than a couple castles buy an Explorer Pass. Great savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos Eduardo
Business
SAO PAULO, BRAZIL
Sep 24, 2013

Fantastic. Beautiful view

Very confortable and fantastic installations completed with a beautiful view of Old City of Edinburgh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trish2765
Business
Dundee
Nov 26, 2013

Excellent

Everything was as described. Great location, comfortable warm apt. Lovely roof terrace. Helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Dec 27, 2009

Edinburgh "Princes Street Suites"

Great location, quiet yet convenient to all transportation, shopping, restaurants, and sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station and tourist center are great resources. Many wonderful restaurants in neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 25, 2009

Awesome!

This place is incredible. Definitely the best place we stayed on the UK trip. For about the same price as a standard hotel room, we got an apartment with a full kitchen and laundry. The décor was quite modern but situated in an historic façade. Don't be fooled by the look of the entrance, this place is first class. It is a little hard to find initially and the cross street is about six stories below entrance level. That said, the location couldn't be better with all major attractions in walking distance. A few things that would have helped me: Parking is free on the street in the evening, but you'll need to find a garage during the day. The desk has a few to recommend, but we chose the cheaper option at the train station and ended up parking all weekend for 6 pounds since we went in after midnight. I think normal rate is about 13 pounds per day. Grocery is just about five blocks away and has everything you could need if you choose to use the kitchen. The studio is really a quite large one bedroom, but since the bedroom does not have a window, I guess they have call it a studio. Plenty of room for two people. Good views with big windows and of course, check out the roof top deck. I can't recommend this place enough – we didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nightlife just a few block north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alumphi
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

More like your own condo in Edinburgh.

We saw sites, ate food and walked the town. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was immaculate. I was a little disappointed with the connectivity of the wi-fi, however it was free of charge. The amenities were top-notch. They will simply give you a double bed (we wanted two twins) if you do not call-ahead, even though we had requested it online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were pleasantly surprised that the vault tour was entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jules G
Business
Rochford Essex
Oct 9, 2014

One night stay over

Concerned to learn in phone call booking had been cancelled we understand by hotel staff member? fortunately could accommodate us and on arrival we were upgraded to a Penthouse apartment. We were really impressed receptionist very helpful,apartment very well furnished and comfortable all amenities ideal for a long stay. Fantastic! plan to visit again for longer stay as ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irene e
Business
Glasgow
Feb 20, 2014

a great stay

I stayed with my daughter and 2 granddaughters and we all loved it. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor( room37) and it was lovely. Two spacious bedrooms a great living/dining room with fitted kitchen and lovely bathroom. Also a huge roof terrace on the 4th floor which provided great views over the city.l would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princes Street Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 23, 2009

Great Location

Had to spend the first night at another hotel d/t overbooking- all arrangements were made by Princes Street Suites personel. When I finally got to check into hotel the next day, they did upgrade me to a very large suite, which was more than expected. Everything was nice, except the floors were dirty and the beds weren't the most comfortable I've slept on. They are fairly new, so maybe a few wrinkles to iron out yet? You cannot beat the location for train station access, bus access, and a very short walk to either old town or new town. I would reccommend this hotel, just call or email before hand to verify that you will have a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Victoria St in old town- has very cool little shops and cafe's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top