$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

3 stars
43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Great location

Extremely good value for money, clean and friendly staff. Beautiful location. A window seat in the... See full review

  • Rosslynn
  • Jun 10, 2014
Great central location

Friendly staff, nice big rooms. Great central location to Popular points of interest all of which... See full review

  • Pumpkin Pete
  • Mar 29, 2014
Hospitable classic-style hotel with contemporary features in Edinburgh

The Old Waverley Hotel is on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street, in the heart of the fashionable West End and New Town with excellent views over Princes Street Gardens to Edinburgh Castle. This site has housed a hotel since the first half of the 19th century and is much a part of Edinburgh's history as Princes Street itself. All rooms offer contemporary features while retaining traditional levels of comfort and style, as expected of such a famous Scottish Hotel.

Highlights
  • Overlooks Princes Street and Gardens
  • Restaurant plus bar with attractive Edinburgh views
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lounge
Rooms

Old Waverley Hotel has 85 rooms, with many featuring stunning views over Princes Street Gardens and toward Edinburgh Castle. The hotel has a history dating back to the early 19th century, bur all bedrooms are furnished to contemporary standards to suit business and leisure travelers. Single, double, twin, premium, and family rooms all include private bathroom with complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, interactive television, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fee applies), tea and coffee-making facilities. 24-hour room service, and same-day laundry and valet service.

Features

Cranston's Restaurant inside the hotel has been fully refurbished and offers a refined and relaxed atmosphere along with striking views of the city. Diners can select a two- or three-course lunchtime special or three-course dinner or select from the menus, featuring Scottish fare and local produce. Abbotsford Room Bar and Lounge is open every day from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. The bright, airy room offers stunning panoramic views over Prices Street, the Gardens, and Edinburgh Castle and is a fine meeting place for drinks, light snacks, more substantial bar meals, or a traditional Scottish afternoon tea.

Transportation
  • Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Princes Street Gardens (just outside)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Usher Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Dynamic Earth (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fee applies)
  • Charlotte square business district (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

55.9529 -3.1933
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
Situated in Edinburgh's New Town area, the Old Waverley Hotel is on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street with its many excellent shops, by the financial district and of course all the top sights of Edinburgh, making it the ideal location for Edinburgh city breaks and for business travelers. The Old Waverley Hotel, located on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street, ensures everything is right on your doorstep. Many of the rooms offer stunning views of Edinburgh Castle. The Old Waverley Hotel is almost opposite the Princes Street exit of Edinburgh's Waverley Station, is close by Edinburgh's Bus Station and easily accessible from Edinburgh's Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh Rooms

Standard Twin Room
Room with 2 twin beds equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room with 1 twin bed equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Standard Double Room
Room with 1 Double beds equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Junior Double Room
This Junior double bedroom comes complete with an en-suite bathroom and air conditioning, contemporary features whilst retaining traditional levels of comfort and style. (this bedroom has a restricted view).

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • The Grange: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Warriston: 1.1 mi

Dining

Cranston's Restaurant
A beautiful Edinburgh city centre restaurant: Cranston's Restaurant at The Old Waverley Hotel. Hotel restaurant has been fully refurbished for 2008 and offers a refined and relaxed atmosphere as well as enjoying the best views in the city. Features of the restaurant: A la Carte Menu, Beautifully presented, Local produce and Scottish fayre, Central Edinburgh Location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
2300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 23
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the tank
Edinburgh
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent central location

It was an excellent idea to have a bell to ring for assistance to help with luggage as there is 14 stairs to get to reception. Service at breakfast was a bit slow as food was not always ready on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram from the airport to the centre of Edinburgh which only takes 30 mins and costs £5

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Jockey
Charlotte, NC
May 31, 2009

Good Edinburgh hotel

The hotel does not have an elevator on the ground level. It was a difficult climb for my father to the second floor reception. There is a small elevator from the 2nd floor reception to the upper floors. The breakfast room overlooks the castle and Princess street, with many windows and serves a huge breakfast buffet. Very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located across from the Waverly train station. A light rail is under construction on Princess Street and can cause problems such as no water for the day. The location is central to sightseeing tours, the castle, the park and to dining off George St. The Seating Room is good for an inexpensive dinner and pint. It seemed to be popular with the locals.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anne mum of 2
northern ireland
Dec 8, 2013

perfect position for shopping break

hotel position was perfect, rooms and food excellent but the staff were mainly foreign and came accross as being quite abrupt. The hotel computer system seemed to struggle with on-line bookings as we were not the only ones they had to phone and confirm about, even though we had thankfully brought a printed confirmation with us. Also I was very annoyed when told cheif was off ill and therefore could not have porridge or poached eggs for breakfast yet other customers being served by someone else were amazingly served porridge! When I questioned this I was just given a shrug and told another story that the porridge delivery was late!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

on princess steet and in front of train and bus station, excellent.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trenise
Houston, TX
May 22, 2012

Mom's 85th birthday!

We were so happy at this hotel and in fact tried to get 3 more nights there and couldn't because it was full. Our rooms were comfortable, the food was better than 2 other place in the city that we tried, and the location was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the 3-day tour bus pass..it included our entrance fees to Holeyrood Castle, Edinburgh Castle, and the Brittania. It's good on 4 different city tour buses too, so we were able to hear some different information on all 4 buses. It's definitely the best value for the money. It was right across from the hotel on the Waverly bridge.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kathru
Baltimore, MD
Feb 26, 2012

No Regrets

I stayed here w/ a party of four Feb 15-19 2012; two of us in one room, two of us in another, on separate floors. We were more than pleased with our stay. All hotel staff we encountered (Restaurant/Pub, Housekeeping and front desk/Reception) delivered a superb guest experience. Customer service was certainly service with a smile'. A note to Old Waverley Management: I offer the highest compliments to your staff. They were nothing short of outstanding, expressing a willingness to go the extra mile each and every time. This wasn't just the case w/ our party, but w/ other guests I observed them interacting with while there. I wish they all worked for me at my company! This hotel is very affordable for a property so centrally located. The location couldn't be better for exploring Edinburgh & being so close to transportation via rail, bus lines and transit links to the airporrt. .Nearby shops and eateries abound. Rooms were spacious enough & very clean. There were some minor issues w/ rooms being slightly hot, bur we discovered if we kept the bathroom door closed after showering, the heat toned down immediately & became a non-issue. Using this method, we didn't even have to resort to opening a window. We didn't have discomfort w/ street noise from outside- again very minor trafic and construction sounds, nothing that resulted in any type of interference. Normal sounds of a city center- nothing more. The hotel restaurant was in a higher price category, yet we decided to splurge and dine in for dinner one night. Final consensus was the caliber of preparation and fresh quality of the cuisine was welll worth it. After such a positive experience with this hotel, I'd definitely return for a future stay, and would confidently recommend the Old Waverley to others. A big thanks, Old Waverley for an enjoyable, memorable visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pumpkin Pete
Essex
Mar 29, 2014

Great central location

Friendly staff, nice big rooms. Great central location to Popular points of interest all of which In walking distance Dining room and bar really pleasant. We had a lovely table in the Breakfast room with views of Edinburgh castle and Princes street. Enjoyable breakfast with tasty haggis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search