$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

3 stars
View map of 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a traveler
Couples
pembrokeshire
Jan 18, 2014

fantastic short stay trip

lovely hotel fantastic view over the castle lit up in purple at night great location for shopping and sight seeing staff friendly will be staying again and would recommend to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the playhouse theatre is a short walk and well worth a visit

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy and Dave
Couples
Macclesfield
Feb 14, 2014

city break

An ideally located hotel convenient for sightseeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and evening meal good. Room comfortable with suberb view of Princes Street and Scott.s Monument.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs McGuff
Couples
Kansas City, Missouri
Sep 11, 2012

Good Location, OK amenities for the price

The amenities were comfortable but not exquisite for the price. Breakfast was similar, not especially wonderful. Tight quarters were a bit difficult with large bags. Location was within walking distance of all the popular attractions in Edinburgh. Staff was very helpful & courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JorgeM
Single
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 29, 2012

Good location

10 min walking from the city centre. Good price. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
petalface
Couples
Carlow Ireland
Jul 14, 2013

Short city break

Good old fashioned hotel, very well located about 100m from Waverley bus stn. Very good shower,good quality towels and sheets. Tea/coffee facilities in the room. NO safe! Room decent size. Lovely view of Scott Monument from the window. In spite of having paid for breakfast as part of the package management insisted that the booking was for room only on each day. When the confirmation was shown breakfast was provided but they insisted that the agent had not informed them of the included breakfast. Made for an embarassing stand off every morning. Should NOT happen. Interent charged at £10 for three days. Fairly good signal but had to log in each time. Awkward!! A €100 security deposit (?) was charged on arrival. They claimed tht this is standard practice in all UK hotels and that the money would be repaid to the account within 5-10 working days and that this was standard practice. I have never heard of this before would call it sharp practice!! In spite of these issues this hotel is ideal for a short city break, mainly because of location and price. During the break we used the hop on hop off buses Grand 48+ ticketnwhich included a boat trip around the Firth of Forth, a tur of Edinburgh Castle, Dynamic Earth exhibition, museums and a day trip to the highlands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Castle, museums, national portrait gallery, highlands tour , The Meadows for lying out in the sun!, (weather permitting)

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haydock Bobby
Couples
St Helens
Oct 20, 2013

Visitor Value

We were booked in for 3 nights and were upgraded upon arrival which was nice. The room on the top floor was small but very well decorated and furnished making it cosy and comfortable. Bathroom good size. There is a lift to the floors but stairs from street level to reception. Staff attentive and helpful. Breakfast self-service and good value. Location perfect for exploring city and environs. Bus service excellent. Recommend bus to Leith to go on board Britannia. Facinating and well worth seeing. Airport bus to the Zoo also worth a trip. We were not able to see the pandas but still good day out. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Try Indigo Yard, a really nice place to eat and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anne mum of 2
Family
northern ireland
Dec 8, 2013

perfect position for shopping break

hotel position was perfect, rooms and food excellent but the staff were mainly foreign and came accross as being quite abrupt. The hotel computer system seemed to struggle with on-line bookings as we were not the only ones they had to phone and confirm about, even though we had thankfully brought a printed confirmation with us. Also I was very annoyed when told cheif was off ill and therefore could not have porridge or poached eggs for breakfast yet other customers being served by someone else were amazingly served porridge! When I questioned this I was just given a shrug and told another story that the porridge delivery was late!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

on princess steet and in front of train and bus station, excellent.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Jockey
Family
Charlotte, NC
May 31, 2009

Good Edinburgh hotel

The hotel does not have an elevator on the ground level. It was a difficult climb for my father to the second floor reception. There is a small elevator from the 2nd floor reception to the upper floors. The breakfast room overlooks the castle and Princess street, with many windows and serves a huge breakfast buffet. Very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located across from the Waverly train station. A light rail is under construction on Princess Street and can cause problems such as no water for the day. The location is central to sightseeing tours, the castle, the park and to dining off George St. The Seating Room is good for an inexpensive dinner and pint. It seemed to be popular with the locals.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
cincinnati, ohio
Aug 25, 2009

location location location

it was raining when we landed in edinburgh and we took the 25 minute bus ride to the waverly street bridge. the hotel was only about a 2 minute walk from there, probably the closest hotel to the bus stop. my only complaint about the hotel is that when we got there we were told that check in time was 3 p.m. and not 2 p.m. as stated on their webpage. the small elevator does not go to the ground floor. it starts on the second floor, (floor zero) and only holds 4 people. we booked the junior double and i knew it would be small however i was very impressed with the size of the bathroom. it was about a third of the size of the entire room. the bathtub was raised and could be a problem for someone with mobility problems. i wasn't expecting a tv but there was a small tv on the wall. we did not have much drawer space and one of the drawers had the hair dryer in it, plugged into the wall. i found this a little odd. the road in fromt of the hotel is totally tore up for construction as is the sidewalk across the street so all the pedestrian traffic is right outside the hotel's door but that didn't cause any problems for us at all. i would NOT rent a car if i was staying at this hotel because access is very difficult and parking is several blocks away. the hotel bar is open 24-7 which worked for me. it does not accept cash after a certain hour so it does not draw outsiders and is very quiet. all drinks are billed you your room. this was my first trip to edinburgh and i didn't realize at the time that it was festival season. i do plan to go back during a slower time of the year and will probably stay at the old waverly again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

all the tour busses start and end on the waverly street bridge only several hundred feet from the door of the hotel. i would reccomend buying a 24 hour grand ticket for all four bus tours early in the day and touring the city. this includes the bus to the britannia at ocean terminal and is 15 pounds for adults. you can hop on and off as much as you want. the old waverly is across the bridge from the royal mile but i prefered the dining and nightlife located behind the hotel on rose and george street. we enjoyed eating at "the filling station" and there is one on the royal mile as well as rose street.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the tank
Family
Edinburgh
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent central location

It was an excellent idea to have a bell to ring for assistance to help with luggage as there is 14 stairs to get to reception. Service at breakfast was a bit slow as food was not always ready on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram from the airport to the centre of Edinburgh which only takes 30 mins and costs £5

Back to menu Return to top