$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

3 stars
43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Great location

Extremely good value for money, clean and friendly staff. Beautiful location. A window seat in the... See full review

  • Rosslynn
  • Jun 10, 2014
Great central location

Friendly staff, nice big rooms. Great central location to Popular points of interest all of which... See full review

  • Pumpkin Pete
  • Mar 29, 2014
Hospitable classic-style hotel with contemporary features in Edinburgh

The Old Waverley Hotel is on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street, in the heart of the fashionable West End and New Town with excellent views over Princes Street Gardens to Edinburgh Castle. This site has housed a hotel since the first half of the 19th century and is much a part of Edinburgh's history as Princes Street itself. All rooms offer contemporary features while retaining traditional levels of comfort and style, as expected of such a famous Scottish Hotel.

Highlights
  • Overlooks Princes Street and Gardens
  • Restaurant plus bar with attractive Edinburgh views
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lounge
Rooms

Old Waverley Hotel has 85 rooms, with many featuring stunning views over Princes Street Gardens and toward Edinburgh Castle. The hotel has a history dating back to the early 19th century, bur all bedrooms are furnished to contemporary standards to suit business and leisure travelers. Single, double, twin, premium, and family rooms all include private bathroom with complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, interactive television, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fee applies), tea and coffee-making facilities. 24-hour room service, and same-day laundry and valet service.

Features

Cranston's Restaurant inside the hotel has been fully refurbished and offers a refined and relaxed atmosphere along with striking views of the city. Diners can select a two- or three-course lunchtime special or three-course dinner or select from the menus, featuring Scottish fare and local produce. Abbotsford Room Bar and Lounge is open every day from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. The bright, airy room offers stunning panoramic views over Prices Street, the Gardens, and Edinburgh Castle and is a fine meeting place for drinks, light snacks, more substantial bar meals, or a traditional Scottish afternoon tea.

Transportation
  • Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Princes Street Gardens (just outside)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Usher Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Dynamic Earth (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fee applies)
  • Charlotte square business district (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh Rooms

Standard Twin Room
Room with 2 twin beds equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room with 1 twin bed equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Standard Double Room
Room with 1 Double beds equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Junior Double Room
This Junior double bedroom comes complete with an en-suite bathroom and air conditioning, contemporary features whilst retaining traditional levels of comfort and style. (this bedroom has a restricted view).

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9529 -3.1933
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
Situated in Edinburgh's New Town area, the Old Waverley Hotel is on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street with its many excellent shops, by the financial district and of course all the top sights of Edinburgh, making it the ideal location for Edinburgh city breaks and for business travelers. The Old Waverley Hotel, located on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street, ensures everything is right on your doorstep. Many of the rooms offer stunning views of Edinburgh Castle. The Old Waverley Hotel is almost opposite the Princes Street exit of Edinburgh's Waverley Station, is close by Edinburgh's Bus Station and easily accessible from Edinburgh's Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • The Grange: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Warriston: 1.1 mi

Dining

Cranston's Restaurant
A beautiful Edinburgh city centre restaurant: Cranston's Restaurant at The Old Waverley Hotel. Hotel restaurant has been fully refurbished for 2008 and offers a refined and relaxed atmosphere as well as enjoying the best views in the city. Features of the restaurant: A la Carte Menu, Beautifully presented, Local produce and Scottish fayre, Central Edinburgh Location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
2300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a traveler
pembrokeshire
Jan 18, 2014

fantastic short stay trip

lovely hotel fantastic view over the castle lit up in purple at night great location for shopping and sight seeing staff friendly will be staying again and would recommend to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the playhouse theatre is a short walk and well worth a visit

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cincinnati, ohio
Aug 25, 2009

location location location

it was raining when we landed in edinburgh and we took the 25 minute bus ride to the waverly street bridge. the hotel was only about a 2 minute walk from there, probably the closest hotel to the bus stop. my only complaint about the hotel is that when we got there we were told that check in time was 3 p.m. and not 2 p.m. as stated on their webpage. the small elevator does not go to the ground floor. it starts on the second floor, (floor zero) and only holds 4 people. we booked the junior double and i knew it would be small however i was very impressed with the size of the bathroom. it was about a third of the size of the entire room. the bathtub was raised and could be a problem for someone with mobility problems. i wasn't expecting a tv but there was a small tv on the wall. we did not have much drawer space and one of the drawers had the hair dryer in it, plugged into the wall. i found this a little odd. the road in fromt of the hotel is totally tore up for construction as is the sidewalk across the street so all the pedestrian traffic is right outside the hotel's door but that didn't cause any problems for us at all. i would NOT rent a car if i was staying at this hotel because access is very difficult and parking is several blocks away. the hotel bar is open 24-7 which worked for me. it does not accept cash after a certain hour so it does not draw outsiders and is very quiet. all drinks are billed you your room. this was my first trip to edinburgh and i didn't realize at the time that it was festival season. i do plan to go back during a slower time of the year and will probably stay at the old waverly again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

all the tour busses start and end on the waverly street bridge only several hundred feet from the door of the hotel. i would reccomend buying a 24 hour grand ticket for all four bus tours early in the day and touring the city. this includes the bus to the britannia at ocean terminal and is 15 pounds for adults. you can hop on and off as much as you want. the old waverly is across the bridge from the royal mile but i prefered the dining and nightlife located behind the hotel on rose and george street. we enjoyed eating at "the filling station" and there is one on the royal mile as well as rose street.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haydock Bobby
St Helens
Oct 20, 2013

Visitor Value

We were booked in for 3 nights and were upgraded upon arrival which was nice. The room on the top floor was small but very well decorated and furnished making it cosy and comfortable. Bathroom good size. There is a lift to the floors but stairs from street level to reception. Staff attentive and helpful. Breakfast self-service and good value. Location perfect for exploring city and environs. Bus service excellent. Recommend bus to Leith to go on board Britannia. Facinating and well worth seeing. Airport bus to the Zoo also worth a trip. We were not able to see the pandas but still good day out. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Try Indigo Yard, a really nice place to eat and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy and Dave
Macclesfield
Feb 14, 2014

city break

An ideally located hotel convenient for sightseeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and evening meal good. Room comfortable with suberb view of Princes Street and Scott.s Monument.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs McGuff
Kansas City, Missouri
Sep 11, 2012

Good Location, OK amenities for the price

The amenities were comfortable but not exquisite for the price. Breakfast was similar, not especially wonderful. Tight quarters were a bit difficult with large bags. Location was within walking distance of all the popular attractions in Edinburgh. Staff was very helpful & courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JorgeM
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 29, 2012

Good location

10 min walking from the city centre. Good price. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawnaa
Aviano, Italy
Jun 30, 2014

Great Visit to Edinburgh

The hotel was in a great location. Plenty of shopping nearby. The train station and bus shuttle to the airport are right across the street. The Royal Mile is nearby, easy to walk to. The staff was helpful when we needed them. The room was clean. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anne mum of 2
northern ireland
Dec 8, 2013

perfect position for shopping break

hotel position was perfect, rooms and food excellent but the staff were mainly foreign and came accross as being quite abrupt. The hotel computer system seemed to struggle with on-line bookings as we were not the only ones they had to phone and confirm about, even though we had thankfully brought a printed confirmation with us. Also I was very annoyed when told cheif was off ill and therefore could not have porridge or poached eggs for breakfast yet other customers being served by someone else were amazingly served porridge! When I questioned this I was just given a shrug and told another story that the porridge delivery was late!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

on princess steet and in front of train and bus station, excellent.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Jockey
Charlotte, NC
May 31, 2009

Good Edinburgh hotel

The hotel does not have an elevator on the ground level. It was a difficult climb for my father to the second floor reception. There is a small elevator from the 2nd floor reception to the upper floors. The breakfast room overlooks the castle and Princess street, with many windows and serves a huge breakfast buffet. Very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located across from the Waverly train station. A light rail is under construction on Princess Street and can cause problems such as no water for the day. The location is central to sightseeing tours, the castle, the park and to dining off George St. The Seating Room is good for an inexpensive dinner and pint. It seemed to be popular with the locals.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cincinnati, ohio
Aug 25, 2009

location location location

it was raining when we landed in edinburgh and we took the 25 minute bus ride to the waverly street bridge. the hotel was only about a 2 minute walk from there, probably the closest hotel to the bus stop. my only complaint about the hotel is that when we got there we were told that check in time was 3 p.m. and not 2 p.m. as stated on their webpage. the small elevator does not go to the ground floor. it starts on the second floor, (floor zero) and only holds 4 people. we booked the junior double and i knew it would be small however i was very impressed with the size of the bathroom. it was about a third of the size of the entire room. the bathtub was raised and could be a problem for someone with mobility problems. i wasn't expecting a tv but there was a small tv on the wall. we did not have much drawer space and one of the drawers had the hair dryer in it, plugged into the wall. i found this a little odd. the road in fromt of the hotel is totally tore up for construction as is the sidewalk across the street so all the pedestrian traffic is right outside the hotel's door but that didn't cause any problems for us at all. i would NOT rent a car if i was staying at this hotel because access is very difficult and parking is several blocks away. the hotel bar is open 24-7 which worked for me. it does not accept cash after a certain hour so it does not draw outsiders and is very quiet. all drinks are billed you your room. this was my first trip to edinburgh and i didn't realize at the time that it was festival season. i do plan to go back during a slower time of the year and will probably stay at the old waverly again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

all the tour busses start and end on the waverly street bridge only several hundred feet from the door of the hotel. i would reccomend buying a 24 hour grand ticket for all four bus tours early in the day and touring the city. this includes the bus to the britannia at ocean terminal and is 15 pounds for adults. you can hop on and off as much as you want. the old waverly is across the bridge from the royal mile but i prefered the dining and nightlife located behind the hotel on rose and george street. we enjoyed eating at "the filling station" and there is one on the royal mile as well as rose street.

Back to menu Return to top