$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

3 stars
View map of 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
Fantastic night out

Hotel was fab we were pleasantly surprised went to went to royal mile pub had a great time See full review

  • Wullie
  • Feb 3, 2015
Great location

Extremely good value for money, clean and friendly staff. Beautiful location. A window seat in the... See full review

  • Rosslynn
  • Jun 10, 2014
Hospitable classic-style hotel with contemporary features in Edinburgh

The Old Waverley Hotel is on Edinburgh's famous Princes Street, in the heart of the fashionable West End and New Town with excellent views over Princes Street Gardens to Edinburgh Castle. This site has housed a hotel since the first half of the 19th century and is much a part of Edinburgh's history as Princes Street itself. All rooms offer contemporary features while retaining traditional levels of comfort and style, as expected of such a famous Scottish Hotel.

Highlights
  • Overlooks Princes Street and Gardens
  • Restaurant plus bar with attractive Edinburgh views
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lounge
Rooms

Old Waverley Hotel has 85 rooms, with many featuring stunning views over Princes Street Gardens and toward Edinburgh Castle. The hotel has a history dating back to the early 19th century, bur all bedrooms are furnished to contemporary standards to suit business and leisure travelers. Single, double, twin, premium, and family rooms all include private bathroom with complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, interactive television, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fee applies), tea and coffee-making facilities. 24-hour room service, and same-day laundry and valet service.

Features

Cranston's Restaurant inside the hotel has been fully refurbished and offers a refined and relaxed atmosphere along with striking views of the city. Diners can select a two- or three-course lunchtime special or three-course dinner or select from the menus, featuring Scottish fare and local produce. Abbotsford Room Bar and Lounge is open every day from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. The bright, airy room offers stunning panoramic views over Prices Street, the Gardens, and Edinburgh Castle and is a fine meeting place for drinks, light snacks, more substantial bar meals, or a traditional Scottish afternoon tea.

Transportation
  • Waverley Rail Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Princes Street Gardens (just outside)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • Usher Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Dynamic Earth (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fee applies)
  • Charlotte square business district (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh Rooms

Standard Twin Room
Room with 2 twin beds equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room with 1 twin bed equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Standard Double Room
Room with 1 Double beds equipped with Freeview TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access,Radio and Telephone.
Junior Double Room
This Junior double bedroom comes complete with an en-suite bathroom and air conditioning, contemporary features whilst retaining traditional levels of comfort and style. (this bedroom has a restricted view).

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • The Grange: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Warriston: 1.1 mi

Dining

Cranston's Restaurant
A beautiful Edinburgh city centre restaurant: Cranston's Restaurant at The Old Waverley Hotel. Hotel restaurant has been fully refurbished for 2008 and offers a refined and relaxed atmosphere as well as enjoying the best views in the city. Features of the restaurant: A la Carte Menu, Beautifully presented, Local produce and Scottish fayre, Central Edinburgh Location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kathru
Baltimore, MD
Feb 26, 2012

No Regrets

I stayed here w/ a party of four Feb 15-19 2012; two of us in one room, two of us in another, on separate floors. We were more than pleased with our stay. All hotel staff we encountered (Restaurant/Pub, Housekeeping and front desk/Reception) delivered a superb guest experience. Customer service was certainly service with a smile'. A note to Old Waverley Management: I offer the highest compliments to your staff. They were nothing short of outstanding, expressing a willingness to go the extra mile each and every time. This wasn't just the case w/ our party, but w/ other guests I observed them interacting with while there. I wish they all worked for me at my company! This hotel is very affordable for a property so centrally located. The location couldn't be better for exploring Edinburgh & being so close to transportation via rail, bus lines and transit links to the airporrt. .Nearby shops and eateries abound. Rooms were spacious enough & very clean. There were some minor issues w/ rooms being slightly hot, bur we discovered if we kept the bathroom door closed after showering, the heat toned down immediately & became a non-issue. Using this method, we didn't even have to resort to opening a window. We didn't have discomfort w/ street noise from outside- again very minor trafic and construction sounds, nothing that resulted in any type of interference. Normal sounds of a city center- nothing more. The hotel restaurant was in a higher price category, yet we decided to splurge and dine in for dinner one night. Final consensus was the caliber of preparation and fresh quality of the cuisine was welll worth it. After such a positive experience with this hotel, I'd definitely return for a future stay, and would confidently recommend the Old Waverley to others. A big thanks, Old Waverley for an enjoyable, memorable visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tinker
Business
Rugby
Sep 9, 2010

Avoid at all costs if you need quiet

This was the worst night I have ever spent in any hotel in the world over the last 50 years of travelling. Beware. We were given a room at the back where the noise of fans, possibly from ventilation or air conditioning equipment, was loud, continuous and variable. The hotel was full so there was no possibility of a room change. I spent an hour on Princess Street between 2.30am and 3.30am where it was a lot quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try other hotels on Princess Street instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tinker
Business
Rugby
Sep 9, 2010

Avoid at all costs if you need quiet

This was the worst night I have ever spent in any hotel in the world over the last 50 years of travelling. Beware. We were given a room at the back where the noise of fans, possibly from ventilation or air conditioning equipment, was loud, continuous and variable. The hotel was full so there was no possibility of a room change. I spent an hour on Princess Street between 2.30am and 3.30am where it was a lot quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try other hotels on Princess Street instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sylv
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Jul 29, 2012

Well located but some rooms are not great

perfect location in front of the train station. We had a small room facing the back street. the elevator was defective. so we had to climb the 5 floors with our luggage. It was quite noisy and the window was very small so it was dark we could not let the air circulate to cool the room and we did not sleep very well. At check out they had charged me the room price despite it was prepaid. It was a honest mistake I suppose but I am happy I checked. Breakfast is convenient but expensive for what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grahamandmary
Business
Bromsgrove UK
Jan 26, 2014

Good Position

This hotel is centrally located and 2 minutes from both the rilway station and the airport bus link terminal. Princes Street is a main shopping street but there are a multitude of restaurants and pubs in Rose Street and George Street which are the next two roads behind Princes Street. The hotel is older and a bit tired. Our room, a standard one, was a bit small but the bed comfortable and the bathroom was modernised. If our room was small, I dread to think how tiny their 'junior rooms' are and I would avoid these. We did not sample the hotel food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wildfire Restaurant in Rose Street is excellent for an evening meal as is that Amaroza for evening and breakfast on the corner of George Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Glaswegian in Edinburgh
Business
St Andrews
Apr 7, 2014

Good value and central

Room was small but was very clean and had everything we needed. Bathroom was lovely and very modern. A very old building but the rooms have been modernised. Would have preferred the option of a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Iris Restaurant in Thistle Street was wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
call again
Business
ireland
Dec 18, 2013

weekend break

this hotel is in a perfect location, the staff are friendly the hotel is clean, food is ok but the hotel is in need of a serious makeover, i know the owner has a couple of other hotels which he concentrates on and runs this one on a very tight budget, its main assets are the ideal location, the good staff and it is well run, i would stay here again based on location but it needs a proper bar and lobby. Ideal for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice italian restaurant very close to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Splashjake
Business
Winchester UK
Dec 27, 2013

Hotel Stay

Good location, an old hotel with modern upgrade in the room we stayed in. Only one lift, so it's often busy. Room we had on the top floor was not particularly large, but clean, comfortable and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In Edinburgh, there are many good restaurants nearby for meals. Breakfast in the Scottish Cafe is especially nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snadra
Business
Billericay, Essex
Jul 8, 2014

Good Weekend

We were in lovely Edinburgh for the weekend attending a wedding so this hotel was perfect for us. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment, but found a local eatery which was lovely. Hotel bit dated but that didn't worry me. We had an internal room which means no window to the outside, would definitely have preferred this if staying longer. Hotel in good position near all the sites. Staff very good room perfectly clean and comfortable. Found the tram best way to travel from the airport to the hotel - actually stopped off outside the hotel so couldn't get any closer! And at a cost of £5 very reasonable! Lovely hotel for a short break like ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Open bus top tour of Edinburgh - catch the bus outside Waverley Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picky person
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Centrally located but

The hotel accommodations were centrally located but the descriptions doesn't indicate that the reception is 1 flight up with no elevator. So you must carry your luggage up a long flight of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yokad
Business
Japan
Jul 10, 2014

Old Waverley Hotel

Smaller inside than it looks from outside. Good to be at center of of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top