Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

3 stars
View map of 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosslynn
Business
Kent
Jun 10, 2014

Great location

Extremely good value for money, clean and friendly staff. Beautiful location. A window seat in the restaurant and Barr is a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Glaswegian in Edinburgh
Business
St Andrews
Apr 7, 2014

Good value and central

Room was small but was very clean and had everything we needed. Bathroom was lovely and very modern. A very old building but the rooms have been modernised. Would have preferred the option of a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Iris Restaurant in Thistle Street was wonderful

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pumpkin Pete
Business
Essex
Mar 29, 2014

Great central location

Friendly staff, nice big rooms. Great central location to Popular points of interest all of which In walking distance Dining room and bar really pleasant. We had a lovely table in the Breakfast room with views of Edinburgh castle and Princes street. Enjoyable breakfast with tasty haggis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy and Dave
Business
Macclesfield
Feb 14, 2014

city break

An ideally located hotel convenient for sightseeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and evening meal good. Room comfortable with suberb view of Princes Street and Scott.s Monument.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grahamandmary
Business
Bromsgrove UK
Jan 26, 2014

Good Position

This hotel is centrally located and 2 minutes from both the rilway station and the airport bus link terminal. Princes Street is a main shopping street but there are a multitude of restaurants and pubs in Rose Street and George Street which are the next two roads behind Princes Street. The hotel is older and a bit tired. Our room, a standard one, was a bit small but the bed comfortable and the bathroom was modernised. If our room was small, I dread to think how tiny their 'junior rooms' are and I would avoid these. We did not sample the hotel food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wildfire Restaurant in Rose Street is excellent for an evening meal as is that Amaroza for evening and breakfast on the corner of George Street.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a traveler
Business
pembrokeshire
Jan 18, 2014

fantastic short stay trip

lovely hotel fantastic view over the castle lit up in purple at night great location for shopping and sight seeing staff friendly will be staying again and would recommend to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the playhouse theatre is a short walk and well worth a visit

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Splashjake
Business
Winchester UK
Dec 27, 2013

Hotel Stay

Good location, an old hotel with modern upgrade in the room we stayed in. Only one lift, so it's often busy. Room we had on the top floor was not particularly large, but clean, comfortable and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In Edinburgh, there are many good restaurants nearby for meals. Breakfast in the Scottish Cafe is especially nice.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
call again
Business
ireland
Dec 18, 2013

weekend break

this hotel is in a perfect location, the staff are friendly the hotel is clean, food is ok but the hotel is in need of a serious makeover, i know the owner has a couple of other hotels which he concentrates on and runs this one on a very tight budget, its main assets are the ideal location, the good staff and it is well run, i would stay here again based on location but it needs a proper bar and lobby. Ideal for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice italian restaurant very close to the hotel

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anne mum of 2
Business
northern ireland
Dec 8, 2013

perfect position for shopping break

hotel position was perfect, rooms and food excellent but the staff were mainly foreign and came accross as being quite abrupt. The hotel computer system seemed to struggle with on-line bookings as we were not the only ones they had to phone and confirm about, even though we had thankfully brought a printed confirmation with us. Also I was very annoyed when told cheif was off ill and therefore could not have porridge or poached eggs for breakfast yet other customers being served by someone else were amazingly served porridge! When I questioned this I was just given a shrug and told another story that the porridge delivery was late!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

on princess steet and in front of train and bus station, excellent.

Review of Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haydock Bobby
Business
St Helens
Oct 20, 2013

Visitor Value

We were booked in for 3 nights and were upgraded upon arrival which was nice. The room on the top floor was small but very well decorated and furnished making it cosy and comfortable. Bathroom good size. There is a lift to the floors but stairs from street level to reception. Staff attentive and helpful. Breakfast self-service and good value. Location perfect for exploring city and environs. Bus service excellent. Recommend bus to Leith to go on board Britannia. Facinating and well worth seeing. Airport bus to the Zoo also worth a trip. We were not able to see the pandas but still good day out. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Try Indigo Yard, a really nice place to eat and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top