$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

4 stars
Grange Road, Polmont, Falkirk, Edinburgh, FK2 0YB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
8 reviews
Great overnight stay for the price.

Lovely breakfast and courteous staff. Room was a little dated but clean. The pool and thermal suite... See full review

  • Debneil
  • Jun 17, 2013
One night stop over

We have stayed at this hotel many times as it is conveniently close to family. The rooms are a... See full review

  • ITsweetie
  • Apr 11, 2012
The Macdonald Inchyra Hotel is set within a traditional Scottish Manor House with private gardens. Guests can enjoy its free and extensive luxury spa and leisure facilities. Each of the 98 luxurious bedrooms at The Four Star Inchyra Hotel have been tastefully decorated and designed for relaxation or why not treat yourself to added luxury with an executive superior room. The Vital Health and Well being Club at The Macdonald Inchyra features a lagoon-shaped indoor swimming pool, tennis court, fitness centre, solarium and Turkish/steam bath. Guests can also relax in the jacuzzi or enjoy a massage or facial treatment. The Inchyra Grange Hotel really does offer something special and in May 2011 the hotel will launch and feature one of the best Spa's in Scotland. It will comprise of 8 beauty rooms, 20m indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and relaxation room - booking will be essential. Free parking is also available at the hotel, and the Polmont Train Station is less than a 5 minutes' drive away. Falkirk Wheel and Stirling Castle is just a 20-minute drive. The Macdonald Inchyra Hotel offers guests locally sourced and freshly made food at its Priory Restaurant. The Spa Brasserie and coffee shop overlooks the pool and provides drinks and light lunches to guests. The Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa's central location makes it an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's world-class attractions. Gain an insight into the country's turbulent past with a trip to the historic City of Stirling, where the Wallace Monument and Stirling Bridge commemorate battles won and lost. Feel an adrenaline rush while climbing high in the Ochils or learn how to windsurf on Loch Lomond. Take the whole family on a day out to Blair Drummond Safari Park and let the kids make a splash at the Mariners Center. Please note: Due to essential maintenance the swimming pool at Inchyra Grange will be closed on the following dates. Date of the closure will be from 16th April and reopen on the 29th April 2012 `

Hotel Map

55.998 -3.707
Area served
Falkirk, nr Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport .
Area description
The hotel lies in it's own beautifully landscaped gardens on the outskirts of Falkirk and Grangemouth,unique position just off Junction 5 of the M9 motorway makes and ideal choice for the business traveller visiting Grangemouth, Falkirk and only 20 minutes driving distance from Stirling and Edinburgh Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa Rooms

Standard Single Room Breakfast
Standard Single Room Breakfast Included - Modern and Contemporary newly refurbished bedroom. Full en-suite facilities; Flat screen TV; WiFi available; Iron & ironing board
Superior Single Room Breakfast
Superior Single Room Breakfast Included - Newly refurbished, luxurious, spacious and modern; Bathrobes; Slippers; Mineral Water; Fruit Platter; WiFi; Flat screen TV; Iron & Ironing board.
Classic Double
Classic Double max 2 people - Queen Bed. Full en suite facilities; Flat screen TV; WiFi available; Iron and ironing board.
Standard Double Breakfast Included
Standard Double Breakfast Included - Modern and Contemporary newly refurbished double room. Full en-suite facilities; Flat screen TV; WiFi available; Iron & ironing board.
Superior Room
Superior Room - 2 Adults and 2 Children - Newly refurbished, spacious, modern and contemporary; Bathrobes; Slippers; Mineral Water; Fruit Platter; WiFi; Flat screen TV; Iron & Ironing board; Extra beds provided for children.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Linlithgow Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Queensferry: 12 mi
  • Kirkliston: 12.2 mi
  • Deep Sea World: 12.2 mi
  • Newbridge: 12.3 mi
  • Lochend: 12.3 mi
  • Stirling Castle: 12.7 mi
  • Wallace Memorial: 12.7 mi
  • Dalmeny: 13.1 mi
  • Bonnington: 13.1 mi
  • Ratho Station: 13.2 mi
  • Ingliston: 13.6 mi
  • Ratho: 13.8 mi
  • Eastfield: 14 mi
  • Dalmahoy: 14.8 mi
  • Linlithgow Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Queensferry: 12 mi
  • Kirkliston: 12.2 mi
  • Deep Sea World: 12.2 mi
  • Newbridge: 12.3 mi
  • Lochend: 12.3 mi
  • Stirling Castle: 12.7 mi
  • Wallace Memorial: 12.7 mi
  • Dalmeny: 13.1 mi
  • Bonnington: 13.1 mi
  • Ratho Station: 13.2 mi
  • Ingliston: 13.6 mi
  • Ratho: 13.8 mi
  • Eastfield: 14 mi
  • Dalmahoy: 14.8 mi
  • Turnhouse: 14.8 mi
  • Cammo: 14.9 mi
  • Gogar: 15.1 mi
  • Braepark: 15.5 mi
  • West Craigs: 15.7 mi
  • Barnton: 15.7 mi
  • Maybury: 15.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Park: 15.7 mi
  • Bughtlin: 15.8 mi
  • Cramond: 15.9 mi
  • Hermiston: 15.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 15.9 mi
  • Gogarloch: 16.1 mi
  • Riccarton: 16.2 mi
  • Parkgrove: 16.3 mi
  • Balerno: 16.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 16.4 mi
  • South Gyle: 16.4 mi
  • Clermiston: 16.5 mi
  • Wester Broom: 16.6 mi
  • Bankhead: 16.7 mi
  • Curriehill: 16.7 mi
  • Corstorphine: 16.8 mi
  • Currie: 17 mi
  • Silverknowes: 17 mi
  • Sighthill: 17.1 mi
  • Broomhouse: 17.2 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 17.2 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 17.3 mi
  • Muirhouse: 17.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3
Value:
3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis
Jul 22, 2009

Great experience

Great service and good restaurant. No complaints except it isnt very well posted. You will never find it unless you get specific directions. Dont be put off by the nuclear power plant next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dexter
Business
Dumfries
Jul 21, 2011

Special occasion, special hotel

Our only comment in the negative for this hotel was it was far too hot, really could have done to be air conditioned. Other than that, nice and clean, tidy, friendly and helpful staff. Definately somewhere to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ITsweetie
Business
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Apr 11, 2012

One night stop over

We have stayed at this hotel many times as it is conveniently close to family. The rooms are a little over-priced for what you get and the pillows of particularly poor quality. However it always recovers some points on the overall rating due to the restaurant which is top-notch. We have never had a bad meal here and the food is really good with a nice wide choice and everything very tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Falkirk Wheel. Good fun for the family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debneil
Business
Scotland
Jun 17, 2013

Great overnight stay for the price.

Lovely breakfast and courteous staff. Room was a little dated but clean. The pool and thermal suite were brill and included in price. Great value for overnight B&B.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
u03pes
Business
Angus
Apr 29, 2013

Suppose to be a romantic getaway

Lovely Spa area and good getaway deal however not sure if I would say this is a 4 star hotel.... Customer service was awful - they couldn't find our booking so stood ages waiting around. Saying that we decided at the last minute to book an extra night and this was partly the problem but got to stay in he same room. Our room was suppose to have little extras like sparkling wine and chocs on arrival and dressing gown and slippers - sounds good! Got into the room which was in the older part of the building and I looked like a Travelodge room -nothing special. checked to see if we have 2 towels etc and nope - so went to find house keeping which was no problem an gave us 2 bath towels. Came back into the room as we fancied a swim and went to look for the robes ad slippers - nope couldn't find the either! So reception I trailed again! Got ready and read through what our 'deal' was again - where was the wine and chocs?! So on passing we went past reception again and she couldn't understand where the had gone!! The lady was helpful and said they would be in our room after our swim. Came back to the room an hour later to find nothing again! Went back to reception via going out for dinner as the restaurant was very expensive and we had a car so went into Falkirk - about 5/10 min drive. The lady asked when we would like our chocs and wine #again# so we said for 9pm. She said someone will bring it to our room - great we thought!! 9.10pm came and went..... 9.30 came and went. We got fed up so we went to reception again! The lady at the desk was very apologetic and gave house keeping a row! They were gong to do the order but noticed we hadn't paid for it.T he girl said it's in our deal but the waiter wasn't happy with this! So she went to the waiter and told him to get it to our room ASAP as it's now half an hour late! #well actually 8 hour!# The waiter came with our chocs and wine cheers!...... yuk! the sparkling wine defiantly wasn't sparkling! So I went up straight to the bar and got him to compare our drinks - one fizzy and one not and we ordered with our deal 2 sparkling wines!! Finally by 10.10pm we got it sorted and the rest of the trip was nice but certainly not going t rush back there again. However if you like spas -it is really nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Falkirk wheel - really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrsb
Business
paisley Scotland
Aug 14, 2013

great family rooms but staff could be better

We arrived and unfortunately were told although we booked bed and breakfast it was room only. I had a confirmation from the internet site I booked it with and it was definitely bed and breakfast. The hotel blamed the fact I had gone through a third party and said they needed time to investigate, but eventually offered "complimentary" breakfast as the issue was not my error. However the message had clearly not been passed to the restaurant the next morning as I was asked to pay for breakfast! We had dinner in the bar the night before and it was very good. However they brought the wrong drink for my husband and then added it to the bill. Overall the hotel is nice but needs to improve on service and not take bookings from 3rd parties if there is going to be a fuss accepting their booking confirmation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disapointed1000
Business
scotland
Sep 3, 2013

wedding

I never got a starter at the wedding due to a kitchen mix up! Ordered breakfast following morning, toast and tea failed to arrive and the poached egg was freezing, no one about to complain! very disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AnnieM
Business
Edinburgh
Aug 7, 2011

Never again...

Room grubby. Shower head broken and filthy. Sink leaking and dripping from U bend underneath. Dirty and stained underneath and on floor. Housekeeping poor - previous occupant's socks and biscuit wrapper in room on arrival. Tea pot and cups not emptied and cleaned one day. Invertebrate creature in bathroom on Wednesday still there on Thursday. Room info out of date and torn. Two letters of complaint to hotel and email to head office remain unanswered after several weeks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top