$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH

4 stars
51-59 York Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3JD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
3 reviews
Fabulous Day Management & Staff

Every favor I asked of either the Day Manager M. or staff was cheerfully answered, "Of course!" And... See full review

  • ViejaJan
  • Sep 25, 2013
Nice hotel in Edinburgh

Really enjoyed staying here, clean and stylish, and in a great location! What more to ask? See full review

  • Visitors from California
  • Aug 23, 2013
In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and youll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches. Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce. Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then What’s Nearby’.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.5 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.5 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.6 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.7 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.7 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Easter Road: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.9 mi
  • Warriston: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.9 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Leith Waterworld: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1 mi
  • Meadow park: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1.1 mi
  • Meadowbank: 1.2 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1.2 mi

Dining

Turquoise Thistle Restaurant
The Turquoise Thistle features a full service restaurant as well as a relaxing bar and lounge area. Serving traditional Scottish dishes with a contemporary twist using a predominance of locally sourced produce. The Turquoise Thistle Bar welcomes guest 7 d
Turquoise Thistle
Relax in the bar and lounge of the Turquoise Thistle throughout the day with a wide selection of brewed coffees, specialist teas and light bites. Experience a traditional afternoon tea with our delicate pastries and freshly made finger sandwiches. In the

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (3)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 3
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
5
Value:
4.7
Sort by:
Review of Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 19, 2009

Good hotel- idea location and

Good hotel- idea location and very reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carm100
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Sep 6, 2014

Nice choice but small rooms.

Overall, I would stay here again. The room is very small (we were stepping over our suitcases), but we didn't mind because it was only for one night. For a longer stay, I would choose another hotel with larger rooms. Rainfall showerhead was great, good water pressure and volume. Very large TV at the foot of the bed. Bed was comfortable (I gave 4 stars for room comfort because of the cramped size). Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ViejaJan
Business
Helena, Montana
Sep 25, 2013

Fabulous Day Management & Staff

Every favor I asked of either the Day Manager M. or staff was cheerfully answered, "Of course!" And I asked some pretty outlandish assistance (after hiking up and down the hilly streets of Edinburgh -- yep, out of shape lol). Took us a bit to figure out a few of the high-tech gizmos :) but staff were always prompt to help. Good food, great servers in the Turquoise Thistle Restaurant adjoining, esp. K. And J. Wonderful young workers. You cannot go wrong here, IMO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pre-book a nite at The Kitchin, and grab a taxi for a spectacular dining out experience while in Edinburgh. Like, 4-5 months in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visitors from California
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 23, 2013

Nice hotel in Edinburgh

Really enjoyed staying here, clean and stylish, and in a great location! What more to ask?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top