$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

4 stars
20 Canonmills,, Edinburgh, EH3 5LH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
8 reviews
Comfortable accommodations

My daughter and I stayed here for 9 days. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we would... See full review

  • Donna World Traveler
  • Jul 2, 2012
nice stay

the apartment was nice. it was pretty close to the train station. about a 10 minute walk once you... See full review

  • s3ren
  • Oct 9, 2012
Spacious apartments near the city center cater to independent travelers

The self-catering Hot-el-apartments Canon Court in Canonmills provide business and leisure travelers with a great opportunity to stay in a quiet, suburban neighborhood just minutes from the bustling city center of Edinburgh. Extended-stay visitors and travelers who prefer a bit more space and independence take advantage of 41 spacious one- and two-bedroom apartments. Canonmills isn't without its own historic attractions - the church adjacent to the Hot-el-apartments Canon Court was once a school attended by Robert Louis Stevenson in the 1850s.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Poker tabletop and packs of cards available for guest use
  • Security entry phone and security cameras
Rooms

Equipped kitchens at the Hot-el-apartments Canon Court allow guests to eat what they like and save money by avoiding restaurants for every meal. A stove, cooktop burners, refrigerator, microwave, washer/dryer, small appliances, cookware, dishes and utensils are provided. A welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee, sugar and washing up liquid gets guests started with the essentials.

Also included in home-away-from-home Hot-el-apartments Canon Court are separate living room, Wi-Fi access, 32-inch flat-panel TV with Freeview, stereo, electric central heating, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and trouser press. Families may request toys, high chairs and infant beds. DVD players and a DVD library are also available. Housekeeping is provided once a week. All units are non-smoking.

Features

Reception is available every day from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Guests arriving outside these hours should contact the front desk in advance.

Dining

Fully equipped kitchens make it easy to prepare meals at home, but when it's time for something different, several high-quality restaurants are near the Hot-el-apartments Canon Court. Go international with restaurants like Russian Passion, Dionika (Spanish), La Fontana (Italian) and Loon Fung (Cantonese), all within walking distance of the apartments. The McLachlan Ale House is a great little local, with pub food and a large-screen TV featuring the biggest matches of the day.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Waverley railway station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grange Cricket Club (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.1 mi/1.8 km) 
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Photographic identification is required on check in
  • Parking fee is �10 per car per night
  • A security deposit pre-authorization of 100 GBP per apartment will be taken against a credit card on arrival.
  • The lead guest of each booking must be at least 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hot-el-apartments Canon Court also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hot-el-apartments Canon Court Rooms

2 bedroom Apartment
The apartment offers two bedrooms, one private bathroom, full kitchen, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a loungeroom with Tv, dvd player and free view box. Bedrooms can be made as twin beds or double beds upon request.
1 Bedroom Apartment
The apartment offers one bedroom, one private bathroom, full kitchen, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a loungeroom with Tv, dvd player and free view box. The bedroom can be arranged as twin beds or a double bed upon request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Canonmills: 0 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.3 mi
  • Warriston: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.7 mi
  • The Grange: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.7 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Canonmills: 0 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.3 mi
  • Warriston: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.7 mi
  • The Grange: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.7 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Inverleith: 0.8 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.9 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 1 mi
  • Royal Mile: 1 mi
  • Comely Bank: 1 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • People's Story: 1 mi
  • Cowgate: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • The Canongate: 1 mi
  • Grassmarket: 1 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Road: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Leith Waterworld: 1.1 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1.1 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1.2 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 1.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna World Traveler
Missouri
Jul 2, 2012

Comfortable accommodations

My daughter and I stayed here for 9 days. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely stay here again. The walk to city centre was all uphill and took about 20 -25 minutes. Not bad if you are able to walk and the weather is good. A little much otherwise. During our stay, the staff was very helpful and even went out of their way to replace a fuse for our converter so we could charge our electronic devices. The night before we left, my daughter went to take a shower at 9:00pm and there was no hot water. Since the reception desk closed at 8:00, we were not able to get it fixed. Luckily, there was hot water in the morning! I think we shared the hot water heater with another apartment, and sometimes there was not enought hot water in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
s3ren
Business
catania, italy
Oct 9, 2012

nice stay

the apartment was nice. it was pretty close to the train station. about a 10 minute walk once you know the area and about 15 minutes to get to the royal mile. the beds were okay and the place was clean. overall it was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotzman
Business
Tigard, OR
Aug 18, 2012

Good place to stay - just know all charges prior.

The place felt like home; it was comfortable, fairly quiet and not far from City Center. Having keys for the front door as welll as your apartment felt much more welcoming than using a keycard. Everything worked well and most every ammentity was avaiilable; the only item missing was a hair dryer. Now, you should be aware that you receive your own telephone number, but do not have any method in receiving messages. If you have visitors, the admission phone light should be off to allow it ring. The only real gripes comes from the £10 a gay parking fee and 3% credit card fee (and if using a debit card - any fees your bank may charge).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few decent eat-in as well as take-aways within a ferw blocks. If you need to stock the fridge, there is a Tescos just around the block and an Esso station across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna World Traveler
Business
Missouri
Jul 2, 2012

Comfortable accommodations

My daughter and I stayed here for 9 days. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely stay here again. The walk to city centre was all uphill and took about 20 -25 minutes. Not bad if you are able to walk and the weather is good. A little much otherwise. During our stay, the staff was very helpful and even went out of their way to replace a fuse for our converter so we could charge our electronic devices. The night before we left, my daughter went to take a shower at 9:00pm and there was no hot water. Since the reception desk closed at 8:00, we were not able to get it fixed. Luckily, there was hot water in the morning! I think we shared the hot water heater with another apartment, and sometimes there was not enought hot water in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flinch
Business
Amsterdam
Jun 28, 2012

great place to stay

I stayed there during a conference, so much better than a hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssskindy
Business
Muscat, Oman
Apr 3, 2012

Nice apartment and near to petex house

Very nice hotel and clean with short distance to the location of our course petex house

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nananrand
Business
Colorado
Oct 17, 2010

Meager,bare bones, no frills here!

We were in Edinburgh for 2weeks for holiday, sightseeing and fun. The advert was for a luxury furnished apt. Instead it was bare bones, old, needed updating and cleaning. They gave us 2 bath towels to last a week..We were supposed to get new towels every 3 days ..not so. We did go out and buy what we needed but we had expected more. The location was great. Buses come 1/2 block away and good restaurants are everywhere. The Circle and the Orchard are especially great. But we cannot recommend the Canon Court Apts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

grocery store is right around the corner and is very good. has an ATM as well. The Laundry service across thebstreet is fast and reasonable .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tigrr
Business
Hampshire
Sep 7, 2010

Perfect for the independent traveller

The apartments have off-road parking, within walking distance of Princes Street and the other city centre attractions plus four bus routes to venture further afield. They are clean and, whilst the kitchens are compact they are well-enough equipped to enable visitors to be reasonably independent for catering, especially with the petrol station opposite and Tesco store within a couple of minutes' walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hot-el-apartments Canon Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
May 4, 2009

Canon Court Apartments

Canon Mills is in a nice quiet location outside of the city center. A bus stop is located right in front of the complex with service to the city every 5 to 10 minites. The neighborhood is safe and friendly. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The facilities are well maintained and comfortable. I plan on staying again my next visit to Edinburgh. Definitely beats hotel accomidations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top