$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Grassmarket Hotel

3 stars
94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, EH1 2JR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
12 reviews
great place to stay - fantastic location and cool vibe!

Loved this hotel - really cool/cute character and awesome vibe. The room was pretty tiny but state... See full review

  • travelbud2
  • Jun 28, 2013
Amazing Hotel !!!

for me all was very good! bedroom very clean, amazing shower, cozy bed,… but also quite funny with... See full review

  • LaParisienne
  • Apr 21, 2014
Buzzing atmosphere and historical location in the heart of Edinburgh
The Grassmarket Hotel is in Grassmarket, an area of the city named for its old market square. Guests receive a warm welcome at this cozy, three-star hotel in Edinburgh's Old Town. Pubs, nightclubs, cafes, and shops give the area a lively, fun atmosphere. The Castle and city center attractions are easily accessible.
Highlights
  • Easy walk to top tourist attractions
  • 24-hour reception
  • Elevator to all floors
  • Free wireless Internet
Rooms

Guests at the newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel can choose between a single, double, or twin bedroom, each featuring light, warm tones and soft, fresh bed linens. Warming rugs keep rooms extra toasty during the winter months. Many of the 45 soundproofed rooms have charming views over the market square. All are comfortably furnished and have bathroom facilities en-suite, complimentary toiletries, flat-screen plasma TV, and tea- and coffee-making equipment.

Features

The Grassmarket hotel operates on a room-only basis, but a full Scottish breakfast and good-value food are available in Biddy Mulligan's Pub every day. Biddy Mulligan's is at street level in the same building as the hotel. The pub's Irish theme assures a lively atmosphere, a wide range of drinks, and an extensive daily food menu. Biddy Mulligan's has live music and coverage of all major sporting events. Other pubs, bars, and restaurants are within easy reach in the historic Old Town, Royal Mile, and city center.

Transportation
  • Waverley rail station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Festival Theatre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.5 mi mi/0.8 km)
  • Royal Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi mi/1.9 km)
  • Princes Street (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Murrayfield Rugby Stadium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in lobby
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

55.9479 -3.1956
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, only minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. The Grassmarket buzzes with activity each day and night of the week.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grassmarket Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grassmarket Hotel Rooms

Single
Room with one twin bed equipped with all modern comforts and facilities.
Twin or Double
Room with one double bed or two twin beds equipped with all modern comforts and facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.6 mi
  • People's Story: 0.6 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.7 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.9 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.9 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Merchiston: 1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1 mi
  • Dalry: 1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Greenhill: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi

Dining

Room Service
Room service & packed lunches available. Complementary coffee upon arrival in our newly refurbished reception with free wifi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Grassmarket Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 12
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaParisienne
Business
london
Apr 21, 2014

Amazing Hotel !!!

for me all was very good! bedroom very clean, amazing shower, cozy bed,… but also quite funny with the wallpaper in the bedroom or the mirror of the elevator! a little noisy but not too much. near all (museums, excursions, waverley station…) i dont regret my booking here!!! i really enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A businnes traveler
Business
Pisa , Italy
Aug 11, 2010

Festival, no thanks

I was there for an international conference, and the hotel location was perfect both for the conference venue and for sigthseeing late in the afternoon. Unfortunately I was in Edinburgh at the beginning of the Festival and the pub at the ground floor of the hotel there was live music until 3 in the night (friday-monday). It has been terrific !!! Anyway I realized that when there is no festival they play live music untill the 1 in the nigth, so it is a good hotel only for people that do not go to sleep early in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikoli
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2009

Great location

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all of the main sites, great restaurants and pubs. The room was a decent size, but no breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nova scotia, canada
Oct 5, 2009

my stay at the grassmarket hotel

i was in town for a wedding so i didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the staff were friendly and helpful and it was in an ideal location for me. the hallways / stairwells were a bit confusing initially as my room couldn't be reached by lift so i had to take the lift to the 1st floor, then walk along a hall and up a stairwell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top