$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Grassmarket Hotel

3 stars
94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, EH1 2JR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
great place to stay - fantastic location and cool vibe!

Loved this hotel - really cool/cute character and awesome vibe. The room was pretty tiny but state... See full review

  • travelbud2
  • Jun 28, 2013
Amazing Hotel !!!

for me all was very good! bedroom very clean, amazing shower, cozy bed,… but also quite funny with... See full review

  • LaParisienne
  • Apr 21, 2014
Buzzing atmosphere and historical location in the heart of Edinburgh
The Grassmarket Hotel is in Grassmarket, an area of the city named for its old market square. Guests receive a warm welcome at this cozy, two-star hotel in Edinburgh's Old Town. Pubs, nightclubs, cafés, and shops give the area a lively, fun atmosphere. The Castle and city center attractions are easily accessible.
Highlights
  • Easy walk to top tourist attractions
  • 24-hour reception
  • Elevator to all floors
  • Free wireless Internet
Rooms

The Grassmarket Hotel is a five-story, two-star hotel in a building with Old Town character. Guests can choose between a single, double, or twin bedroom, each featuring light, warm tones and soft, fresh bed linens. Warming rugs keep rooms extra toasty during the winter months. Many of the 45 rooms have charming views over the market square. All are comfortably furnished and have bathroom facilities en-suite, complimentary toiletries, satellite television, direct-dial phone, and tea- and coffee-making equipment.

Features

The budget Grassmarket hotel operates on a room-only basis, but a full Scottish breakfast and good-value food are available in Biddy Mulligan's Pub every day. Biddy Mulligan's is at street level in the same building as the hotel. The pub's Irish theme assures a lively atmosphere, a wide range of drinks, and an extensive daily food menu. Biddy Mulligan's has live music and coverage of all major sporting events. Other pubs, bars, and restaurants are within easy reach in the historic Old Town, Royal Mile, and city center.

Transportation
  • Waverley rail station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Festival Theatre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.5 mi mi/0.8 km)
  • Royal Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi mi/1.9 km)
  • Princes Street (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Murrayfield Rugby Stadium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in lobby
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

55.9479 -3.1956
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, only minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. The Grassmarket buzzes with activity each day and night of the week.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grassmarket Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grassmarket Hotel Rooms

Single
Room with one twin bed equipped with all modern comforts and facilities.
Twin or Double
Room with one double bed or two twin beds equipped with all modern comforts and facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.6 mi
  • People's Story: 0.6 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.7 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.9 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.9 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Merchiston: 1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1 mi
  • Dalry: 1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Greenhill: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi

Dining

Room Service
Room service & packed lunches available. Complementary coffee upon arrival in our newly refurbished reception with free wifi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Grassmarket Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 29
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ loves travel
England
Jan 28, 2014

Cool little place in the middle of historical town

we arrived early at the hotel, our room not ready in 4 hours time so we leave our bags with the reception and went out for quick walk. Location was perfect just minutes walk to main attraction. We love the breakfast next door HULA they made lovely juices and smoothies Back at the hotel, our room is ready for us to check in. Although the size is rather small but we love the style of the room, cozy double bed and the dandy theme definitely give it an extra funky feeling. It was my boyfriend birthday and the staff gave him a birthday card and sweets which was lovely and thoughtful. Also thank you for our G1 card which was very useful for getting 20% off drinks and 30% off food discount at some places so it was a bonus too. Definitely coming back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dungeon

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marbrett
new canaan ct
Sep 8, 2013

fantastic location

The location was perfect with a gorgeous view of the castle. The room size was adequate for an individual or couple , but not a family. Very little storage available for your belongings, so you would need to travel light. The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a very easy walk to many of the attractions we were interested in seeing. We easily found our way to the castle, train station for side trips,and Edinburgh University. The area had wonderful pubs,restaurants, and delicious bakeries all within an easy walk. We thought the hotel was great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attractions are all within an easy walk.

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Coral, FL
Jul 19, 2009

Possibilities

Good location. Clean rooms, but very small. No elevators to our room (47 steps up!). Wood around the bottom 8-10 inches was rotted through to the inside. (Is this typical of European hotels?) Not very classy, but it served our purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Jul 12, 2009

Fun location with no frills

We liked the location because we could walk to many sites such as the castle and all the variety of eating places one could ever want. It would not be for those who demand a 4 or 5 star facility. It was average on cleanliness. The staff were helpful but not necessarily trained. The bar could be noisy as well as the street if you were not located well in the hotel. We were well located! Typical middle class hotel in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your walking shoes and see the city but ride the bus first to learn the location of the sites.

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxford, AL
May 13, 2009

They've remodeled somewhat

This is was our third time returning to the Grassmarket. We like going there because of the location. This time we were surprised that the rooms had been remodeled. However, since it is a very old building, the floors were extremely uneven...they could have straightened those out a bit. We had dips and ditches in our entry way and in the bathroom....and things weren't exactly clean. This sounds all negative, but truly the hotel is a GREAT location and we did enjoy our stay very much. The renovations were nice, showers were great. We will probably be back again..:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whiskey Heritage Experience at Edinburgh Castle.

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alfhartig
Bremen, deutschland
Jul 6, 2014

Gut für Stadtbummel

Sehr günstige Lage. Alles Wichtige ist zu Fuß zu erreichen. Pub´s, Laden, Bäckerei mit Frühstück gleich um die Ecke. Keine Hotelparkplätze. Parkgarage gut 5 Minuten Fußweg. 24 Std. für 15 Pound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pub´s mit Life-Musik

Back to menu Return to top

Change search