$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grassmarket Hotel

3 stars
94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, EH1 2JR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
14 reviews
Fantastic fun

Great little hotel,we were up on the top floor and quiet. Great little touches in the room,tunnocks... See full review

  • Adventure before dementia
  • Dec 1, 2014
great place to stay - fantastic location and cool vibe!

Loved this hotel - really cool/cute character and awesome vibe. The room was pretty tiny but state... See full review

  • travelbud2
  • Jun 28, 2013
Buzzing atmosphere and historical location in the heart of Edinburgh
The Grassmarket Hotel is in Grassmarket, an area of the city named for its old market square. Guests receive a warm welcome at this cozy, three-star hotel in Edinburgh's Old Town. Pubs, nightclubs, cafes, and shops give the area a lively, fun atmosphere. The Castle and city center attractions are easily accessible.
Highlights
  • Easy walk to top tourist attractions
  • 24-hour reception
  • Elevator to all floors
  • Free wireless Internet
Rooms

Guests at the newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel can choose between a single, double, or twin bedroom, each featuring light, warm tones and soft, fresh bed linens. Warming rugs keep rooms extra toasty during the winter months. Many of the 45 soundproofed rooms have charming views over the market square. All are comfortably furnished and have bathroom facilities en-suite, complimentary toiletries, flat-screen plasma TV, and tea- and coffee-making equipment.

Features

The Grassmarket hotel operates on a room-only basis, but a full Scottish breakfast and good-value food are available in Biddy Mulligan's Pub every day. Biddy Mulligan's is at street level in the same building as the hotel. The pub's Irish theme assures a lively atmosphere, a wide range of drinks, and an extensive daily food menu. Biddy Mulligan's has live music and coverage of all major sporting events. Other pubs, bars, and restaurants are within easy reach in the historic Old Town, Royal Mile, and city center.

Transportation
  • Waverley rail station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Festival Theatre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.5 mi mi/0.8 km)
  • Royal Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.6 mi mi/1.9 km)
  • Princes Street (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Murrayfield Rugby Stadium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in lobby
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grassmarket Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grassmarket Hotel Rooms

Single
Room with one twin bed equipped with all modern comforts and facilities.
Twin or Double
Room with one double bed or two twin beds equipped with all modern comforts and facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.6 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.6 mi
  • People's Story: 0.6 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.7 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.9 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.9 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Merchiston: 1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1 mi
  • Dalry: 1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Greenhill: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi

Dining

Room Service
Room service & packed lunches available. Complementary coffee upon arrival in our newly refurbished reception with free wifi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Grassmarket Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelbud2
Business
chicago, il
Jun 28, 2013

great place to stay - fantastic location and cool vibe!

Loved this hotel - really cool/cute character and awesome vibe. The room was pretty tiny but state of the art - ipod docking station, beautiful bathroom, and tons of character. the staff was really great - helped us book a local tour and answered all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adventure before dementia
Business
Cumbria, england
Dec 1, 2014

Fantastic fun

Great little hotel,we were up on the top floor and quiet. Great little touches in the room,tunnocks chocolate,fresh coffee available. A huge map of edinburgh with magnets and of course a Beano annual. Loved it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best cafe in Edinburgh just around the corner "Hula"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikoli
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2009

Great location

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all of the main sites, great restaurants and pubs. The room was a decent size, but no breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marbrett
Business
new canaan ct
Sep 8, 2013

fantastic location

The location was perfect with a gorgeous view of the castle. The room size was adequate for an individual or couple , but not a family. Very little storage available for your belongings, so you would need to travel light. The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a very easy walk to many of the attractions we were interested in seeing. We easily found our way to the castle, train station for side trips,and Edinburgh University. The area had wonderful pubs,restaurants, and delicious bakeries all within an easy walk. We thought the hotel was great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Major attractions are all within an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaParisienne
Business
london
Apr 21, 2014

Amazing Hotel !!!

for me all was very good! bedroom very clean, amazing shower, cozy bed,… but also quite funny with the wallpaper in the bedroom or the mirror of the elevator! a little noisy but not too much. near all (museums, excursions, waverley station…) i dont regret my booking here!!! i really enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rower
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Jan 31, 2012

Fantastic Edinburgh location

Very good location and great for nightlife. Great value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location in Edinburghs night life and very short walk to the castle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ninja0458
Business
southampton
Jan 23, 2014

Quick getaway

Room was on the smaller size but was enough for an overnight business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madame E
Business
South Wales
May 31, 2014

Convenient and cosy

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights.The room was cosy and clean and we loved the shower. We could have done with more shelf space for personal items and maybe a chair! It was in an ideal location for everything we did in Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mariachi mexican restaurant was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, AL
May 13, 2009

They've remodeled somewhat

This is was our third time returning to the Grassmarket. We like going there because of the location. This time we were surprised that the rooms had been remodeled. However, since it is a very old building, the floors were extremely uneven...they could have straightened those out a bit. We had dips and ditches in our entry way and in the bathroom....and things weren't exactly clean. This sounds all negative, but truly the hotel is a GREAT location and we did enjoy our stay very much. The renovations were nice, showers were great. We will probably be back again..:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whiskey Heritage Experience at Edinburgh Castle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 12, 2009

Fun location with no frills

We liked the location because we could walk to many sites such as the castle and all the variety of eating places one could ever want. It would not be for those who demand a 4 or 5 star facility. It was average on cleanliness. The staff were helpful but not necessarily trained. The bar could be noisy as well as the street if you were not located well in the hotel. We were well located! Typical middle class hotel in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your walking shoes and see the city but ride the bus first to learn the location of the sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top