$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Grassmarket Hotel

3 stars
View map of 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, EH1 2JR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grassmarket Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelbud2
Business
chicago, il
Jun 28, 2013

great place to stay - fantastic location and cool vibe!

Loved this hotel - really cool/cute character and awesome vibe. The room was pretty tiny but state of the art - ipod docking station, beautiful bathroom, and tons of character. the staff was really great - helped us book a local tour and answered all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rower
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Jan 31, 2012

Fantastic Edinburgh location

Very good location and great for nightlife. Great value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location in Edinburghs night life and very short walk to the castle

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A businnes traveler
Business
Pisa , Italy
Aug 11, 2010

Festival, no thanks

I was there for an international conference, and the hotel location was perfect both for the conference venue and for sigthseeing late in the afternoon. Unfortunately I was in Edinburgh at the beginning of the Festival and the pub at the ground floor of the hotel there was live music until 3 in the night (friday-monday). It has been terrific !!! Anyway I realized that when there is no festival they play live music untill the 1 in the nigth, so it is a good hotel only for people that do not go to sleep early in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikoli
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2009

Great location

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all of the main sites, great restaurants and pubs. The room was a decent size, but no breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikoli
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2009

Great location

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all of the main sites, great restaurants and pubs. The room was a decent size, but no breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nova scotia, canada
Oct 5, 2009

my stay at the grassmarket hotel

i was in town for a wedding so i didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the staff were friendly and helpful and it was in an ideal location for me. the hallways / stairwells were a bit confusing initially as my room couldn't be reached by lift so i had to take the lift to the 1st floor, then walk along a hall and up a stairwell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Jul 19, 2009

Possibilities

Good location. Clean rooms, but very small. No elevators to our room (47 steps up!). Wood around the bottom 8-10 inches was rotted through to the inside. (Is this typical of European hotels?) Not very classy, but it served our purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 12, 2009

Fun location with no frills

We liked the location because we could walk to many sites such as the castle and all the variety of eating places one could ever want. It would not be for those who demand a 4 or 5 star facility. It was average on cleanliness. The staff were helpful but not necessarily trained. The bar could be noisy as well as the street if you were not located well in the hotel. We were well located! Typical middle class hotel in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your walking shoes and see the city but ride the bus first to learn the location of the sites.

Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, AL
May 13, 2009

They've remodeled somewhat

This is was our third time returning to the Grassmarket. We like going there because of the location. This time we were surprised that the rooms had been remodeled. However, since it is a very old building, the floors were extremely uneven...they could have straightened those out a bit. We had dips and ditches in our entry way and in the bathroom....and things weren't exactly clean. This sounds all negative, but truly the hotel is a GREAT location and we did enjoy our stay very much. The renovations were nice, showers were great. We will probably be back again..:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whiskey Heritage Experience at Edinburgh Castle.

Back to menu Return to top