$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. Free WiFi. Ipod docking
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Free WiFi. Ipod docking
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. Free WiFi. Ipod docking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 76
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mouseturtle
Business
Ireland.
Jun 18, 2014

Comfortable central location

Lovely room with fantastic views across the city, really central and clean hotel very much in keeping with the city charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Toast cafe in marchmount does the best veggie breakfast in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabu
Business
México
Apr 9, 2014

Amazona stay

The hotel Was very Well located and the staff excelent service they just need new feather pillows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The castle and palace awsom

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ebrennan87
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Nov 22, 2013

Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral, which makes it easy to walk up to Edinburgh Castle and down to Holyrood Park. It was also a short walk from the train station; that walk was uphill but not too bad. The hotel staff was very helpful and stored our luggage while we saw the sights before check in. The room was lovely, and we enjoyed the hot chocolate and Scottish shortbread in our room immensely. We only stayed one night during our trip to the UK, and it was the best sleep we had. I would return there in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the walk to Arthur's Seat in Holyrood Park. It is a bit of a climb, but the view of Edinburgh is spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Globetrotting Monkey
Business
Here and There, USA
Nov 8, 2013

Short holiday in Edinburgh

Overall, a very comfortable stay and great staging area from which to explore Edinburgh. With modern, well equipped facilities and a location near Waverly Station and the terminus for the Airlink (airport express bus), this is definitely a property to consider. PROS: Ideal location in Old Town. Too many shops, pubs, restaurants and sights to count within a few minutes' walk. Quiet property with friendly and attentive staff. Free Wi-Fi a big plus. A small guest laundry and (surprisingly) decent gym also can be found in the basement. CONS: Being on the fifth floor, the water pump was a bit noisy and annoying at times. The carpets were quite dingy and could have used a very good cleaning. Also, some of the crockery was still a bit dirty from a previous occupant; some supplied dish detergent and a clean sponge took care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out City of the Dead tours (can be booked at St. Giles Cathedral) for a fun and spooky take on parts of Edinburgh. Also worth a visit to The Standing Order (part of the Wetherspoon marque) in New Town; lots of good food and drink deals to be had in town, but this was a laid back, pleasant and family-friendly place to grab a bite and a pint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLFL
Business
Florida
Sep 15, 2013

Clean hotel, Great location, No Air Conditioning

The location of this hotel is perfect. You'd be hard pressed to stay in a better spot in Edinburgh. However...the big problem is the lack of air conditioning. Had I known this, I would not have booked the room. I have no idea what Fraser was thinking by not retrofitting the rooms with A/C. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is clean, but rooms are generally very small. (I guess they call them suites because of the mini-fridge and Microwave in the room.) Again - no A/C! Granted, it's not ultra-hot in Edinburgh, but any hotel that's going to be rated a 4-star would assumedly have A/C and not make you open a window to hear the outside noise to cool the room down. That was my only real issue with this property. There are no real 'bells and whistles' at this hotel, but the location is primo. I would recommend this hotel as long as the weather wasn't hot and the price was right. Once again - it thrives because of it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take the airport express bus from the airport to the Waverly bus station for a fraction of the price of a taxi. A trip from the airport to Waverly and the return trip can be booked from the information counter at the airport for 6 pounds per person. Compare that to a 25 pound taxi ride each way (50 pounds). Fraser suites is a short walk away from the Waverly bus station -- as long as you have rolling luggage, the walk is very manageable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria0172
Business
South Carolina
Sep 4, 2013

Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature control which concerned me at first but we were able to open a window and it was fine. It wasn't loud from the street at all, which also concerned me about opening a window. The hotel is near the main street for shopping and eating in Old Town: literally a 5 minute walk to anything we wanted. The room was spacious and clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. If I go back to Edinburgh I'll definatley be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimba
Business
Hertfordshire
Aug 29, 2013

Great location

Central location just off the High Street but because it was on a side road it wasn't too noisy. Walking distance from the castle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss A.
Business
London
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect location!!

I would highly recommend this hotel. My boyfriend and I went for a weekend getaway and kept commenting on how glad we were we booked here. The location literally couldn't be more perfect. Breakfast was lovely and the hotel is very stylish and well kept. Loved the giant shower too. My only complaint would be the sheets! The pillow case would get really wrinkly and I'd have sleep marks on my face all morning! There were tears in the sheets too which I thought was odd. Overall, a great stay though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegan Too
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Oct 27, 2012

Great Suites

We were extremely pleased with the suites. Great kitchen with all the amenities. The work-out facility was great. The location was perfect--near to everything. The only issue was the housekeeping. The bathroom was not cleaned properly for two days running. However, all the other amenities made up for this. I think it is important to make sure that the suite is cleaned properly and report it to the front desk if it is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

David Bann is a great vegetarian restaurant that has vegan meals as well and it has a nice decor. The Forest Cafe is a laid back vegetarian and vegan cafe (long walk or short cab ride) The Chocolate Tree is a fantastic cake and chocolate cafe with vegan cakes and chocolates. (long walk or short cab ride) Real Foods is a fantastic health food store (Scottish vegan cheese is wonderful) (long walk or short cab ride)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Lass
Business
New York, NY
Oct 9, 2012

Royal Mile locale

Our stay at the Fraser Suites of Edinburgh was great overall. The last time I stayed in Edinburgh, I stayed in a guest house in the New Town. Comparing the two, I definitely preferred the flexibility, comfort, amenities, and location of the Fraser Suites. I preferred the cost of the guest house, but the rate at the Fraser Suites was reasonable, given the quality and location. Traveled as a couple and stayed for 2 nights. I didn't try the restaurant or the gym so can't speak on those. What I can say is that the Fraser Suites hotel is in a fantastic location for tourists! Just a few blocks from Edinburgh castle, about a half block off the Royal Mile, not far from Grassmarket, and right next to the New Steps that lead down to Waverley bridge & station. The staff were extremely friendly and helped us out with just about everything from printing to directions to advice for golfing. The room was comfortable and clean. One thing that would have made it better is if they could have checked us in earlier. With an overseas, overnight flight, it would have been great if our room had been available upon our arrival in the morning, but it's understandable that it wasn't. To accommodate us, they stored our luggage while we went sight seeing. They also have a sitting area with a few comfortable chairs and complimentary coffee. Don't sit next to the window on a windy day, however! Being in the Old Town, it's an old building. The windows are quite drafty. The room had nice, thick curtains that kept the room warm, but left us relying heavily on the alarm clock as the sun couldn't get in either! And lastly, being so close to the castle, the hotel is on a big hill so expect to get some exercise if you go to other parts of town on foot. A shuttle to and from Waverley station would have been fantastic! Instead, we walked up the hill with luggage from the train station (thank goodness we're fairly fit!) and took a cab back down (a little pricey for being so close). Overall, I enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercat Tours' Ghost Tour - there are scarier tours but this is the one for you if you want a fun way to learn about Medieval Edinburgh. Go at night, do stay for the drink, and request the tour guide that calls herself "Black Agnes". She was very entertaining and knows her history!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top