$184 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
102 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Hotel Map

55.9501 -3.1924
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport (EDI) 7.8 miles North East of property
Area description
This historic listed building is located just off the Royal Mile on St Giles Street, the former Fleet Street of Scotland housing the Edinburgh Daily Mail and The Herald amongst others. Dating back to the 1800's the property boasts views across Princes Street Gardens to the Forth of Firth and beyond from it's pepper pot turrets. This marvellously central location allows you to explore Scotland's famous Capital city whether you are looking for culture, entertainment, shopping, fine dining or just a relaxing stroll through the old town. Business travellers will also find the city's main conference and meeting facilities close at hand along with many National companies conveniently situated within a mile. The warm and contemporary ambiance creates an individual character for each serviced residence. You too can experience the magical feel of staying in you're very own special room emulated by Scotland's most famous castle overlooking the property from the very top of the Royal Mile.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave.WiFi
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Wifi
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark lane
Northamtonshire
Oct 29, 2013

Frasers suites Edinburgh

Well I stay in a lot of hotels and always wanted to stay a frasers in Edinburgh as I read good things about frasers suites in Edinburgh I stayed on 26 th of October i booked which I thought was a suite anyway I arrived about 12.30 and told my room was not ready so I went for a wander came back and my room was still not ready I waited and waited and was given my room about 10 mins to 3 in the afternoon so most of my after noon in Edinburgh was wasted waiting on my room being ready .i had booked a junior suite wich is described as being open plan and I thought I was getting a suite the room was no more than a room with a double bed so I called to reception and told that was a junior suite I was given (where was the open plan room ) in the bathroom it said the radiator you put the towels on might get hot so be carefull but the radiator did not work it stayed freezing the whole time . So I thought I would listen to some music from my iPhone on the iPod docking station in the room that did not work either .also when I was given my room I was promptly told that check out was at 11am on a Sunday after a hard night out I thought this was a bit much esp after giving me my room late .the next morning no channels on my tv where working only a lot of lines on the tv I did not want to call reception after complaining about a late check inn and thinking I had a suite which was basically just a room with a double bed .i really wanted to check this hotel out and bring my mum up for a special weekend in a suite at a later date but now will give it a miss .aslso was thinking about staying at frasers in Soi 11 sukhumvit in Bkk at Xmas but this trip has put me off frasers suites bed was comfy tho

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can find good pubs and eating very nearby

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 13, 2009

Good God, Avoid at All Costs!

The manager [...] pooh-poohed our complaint that that the window dressing leaked and woke us up in the middle of the night; at 3:00 pm we awoke to a "drip drip drip" from the ceiling into our luggage on a chair! We called for 20 minutes trying to get help, but no one answered. Again, [...] thought this was acceptable. What if we needed an ambulance? Apparently, she doesn't care.Bottom line: this hotel has serious water issues, which might not be a problem in a place like Athens; but let's face it, in Edinburgh, there's always rain. Not only that, but she also tried to explain away a toilet that did not flush properly -- a complaint we did not lodge, but someone did.DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lkuhg
a;ljfd
Jul 1, 2010

Sleeping in a sauna

The hotel would have been fine, but our room was very warm and there was no way to cool it other than the fan they gave us that didn't work well. We barely slept, sweating all night. The staff guy was not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lkuhg
a;ljfd
Jul 1, 2010

Sleeping in a sauna

The hotel would have been fine, but our room was very warm and there was no way to cool it other than the fan they gave us that didn't work well. We barely slept, sweating all night. The staff guy was not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA USA
Jun 3, 2011

Mixed Bag

We had a two night stay at Fraser Suites. The first night they put us into a small attic room with no AC and a very small window. The heat blasted all night long and we got very little sleep. After we complained about the accommodations we were upgraded to a very nice executive suite for the next night. We returned the next week for a one night stay with another couple. Our room was fine with a nice street side view but our friend's room was excessively warm and they had no hot water for their morning shower. We heard at check out that the boiler had blown earlier in the morning. The hotel is in a great location but I think they have HVAC issues that need to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxies Wine Bar

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude thats been everywhere.
Seattle,Wa
Feb 23, 2011

Certain reception staff horrible!

We dealt with [...]upon arriving and from there it was a nightmare dealing with her. We had an executive room and all she did was give us lies upon lies as to why we were in a handicapped room instead and how we could not be in a different room.The next day things were supposed to be cleared up by the day staff and after returning to our upgraded room we were actually in a downgraded room by guess who?-yes, the same woman on staff in the afternoon. She said we had different reservations even though I showed her my confirmation form and even though she checked us in the day prior. Lied to us and said the manager wouldn't do anything and could not be reached, well after waiting in the lobby for the manager to return she finally took care of us and just made excuses as to why [...]was being a liar. Thank you [...]for your professionalism.We did not feel welcomed into that hotel and just being ignored by [...](only afternoon staff) every time we walked by was awkward.Summary: Bad reception staff, going up and down to different rooms because of a vindictive staff member, for who knows what reason, not getting a hello or goodbye as you enter and leave and feeling unwelcome to a hotel you payed good money to really made our first trip to Edinburgh memorable for bad reasons as I sit here and type this.Why they hired the most un-friendly person in Scotland to work the front desk is beyond me and sadly we went to another Hotel's concierge to ask for directions because of the bad demeanor [...]gave us. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JVFDenver
Denver, CO
Jun 8, 2012

Good Location

Good location. View from our window of a construction site. The bed was broken down on the side so that I felt like I was going to roll off the edge. The pillows were hard and flat. The bathtub was slippery and there was no rubber mat to stand on for showering. We liked the kitchenette with refrigerator and coffee service. Room was small. All in all, good price, but wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA USA
Jun 3, 2011

Mixed Bag

We had a two night stay at Fraser Suites. The first night they put us into a small attic room with no AC and a very small window. The heat blasted all night long and we got very little sleep. After we complained about the accommodations we were upgraded to a very nice executive suite for the next night. We returned the next week for a one night stay with another couple. Our room was fine with a nice street side view but our friend's room was excessively warm and they had no hot water for their morning shower. We heard at check out that the boiler had blown earlier in the morning. The hotel is in a great location but I think they have HVAC issues that need to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxies Wine Bar

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude thats been everywhere.
Seattle,Wa
Feb 23, 2011

Certain reception staff horrible!

We dealt with [...]upon arriving and from there it was a nightmare dealing with her. We had an executive room and all she did was give us lies upon lies as to why we were in a handicapped room instead and how we could not be in a different room.The next day things were supposed to be cleared up by the day staff and after returning to our upgraded room we were actually in a downgraded room by guess who?-yes, the same woman on staff in the afternoon. She said we had different reservations even though I showed her my confirmation form and even though she checked us in the day prior. Lied to us and said the manager wouldn't do anything and could not be reached, well after waiting in the lobby for the manager to return she finally took care of us and just made excuses as to why [...]was being a liar. Thank you [...]for your professionalism.We did not feel welcomed into that hotel and just being ignored by [...](only afternoon staff) every time we walked by was awkward.Summary: Bad reception staff, going up and down to different rooms because of a vindictive staff member, for who knows what reason, not getting a hello or goodbye as you enter and leave and feeling unwelcome to a hotel you payed good money to really made our first trip to Edinburgh memorable for bad reasons as I sit here and type this.Why they hired the most un-friendly person in Scotland to work the front desk is beyond me and sadly we went to another Hotel's concierge to ask for directions because of the bad demeanor [...]gave us. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stefanline
Business
High Point, NC
Feb 1, 2012

Should not be a Five Star Hotel

Not to dwell on the negative because this is located at the base of the castle and is a beautifully renovated building and the rooms are stunningly decorated, I felt I got stuck in the room that is the least desireable. It was 106, window right next to the public stairs that when folks would come up the stairs they would make so much noise you thought they were in your room. The mattress was the most uncomfortable I had slept on ever, pillows were like cardboard. No wifi in the rooms, only LAN cable connections which for business travellers a major inconvenience. The staff was very nice, and besides what I mentioned I feel the value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in Old Town and at the base of the castle

Back to menu Return to top