$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
View map of 12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lkuhg
Business
a;ljfd
Jul 1, 2010

Sleeping in a sauna

The hotel would have been fine, but our room was very warm and there was no way to cool it other than the fan they gave us that didn't work well. We barely slept, sweating all night. The staff guy was not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver Canada
Jun 21, 2010

excellent facility

The location of the Fraser Suites can't be beat. Steps to the Royal Mile, easy walk to Princes Street and five minute walk to Waverley station. We arrived early, nine o'clock, and they let us into our room, an unexpected bonus after a trans-Atlantic flight. Everything about the hotel met and exceeded our expectations, we even had a great view of the old town and Calton hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to do one of the night walks, fascinating stories of Edinburgh's ghostly past

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fn
Business
Texas
Jun 17, 2010

Great Location and Clean!

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Great Britain, this was definitely the freshest. It was clean and minimalist (No fussy wallpapers and bedspreads). The location was great. Everything is very close.Instant coffee in the rooms as in all other hotels we stayed at (YUCK). Nice little kitchenette for people travelling with little children. Huge bath towels that were nice and white. Continental breakfast not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petit Paris- Great french food at a reasonable price. Only place that served free bread and water. I know this sounds silly, but during the three weeks we travelled around, we had to always ask for water with our meals. The Witchery- very good but pricey. We went for lunch and selected from the special lunch menu £13.50. Off the regular menu prices were very high.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasance fan
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 22, 2010

Great Location!

I went during the Fringe Festival, and the staff could not help with directions to the Pleasance Theatre, so they were unfamiliar with events/locations. I also asked where the closest double decker tour bus stop was, and they sent me to the main stop several blocks away, when the bus actually stopped a half block away. They didn't know that you could purchas a ticket at any stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Falleg Vinkona
Business
Seatte, WA
Nov 30, 2009

Exceptional Edinburgh

This hotel felt like our own mini castle! It is built into the hillside and its location made for easy walking to all the major sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Castle, the National Gallery, and of course the Pubs!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori and Dave
Business
Aurora, Co.
Nov 3, 2009

Great place to stay!

Warm welcome, great location! One side of the bed sheets and pillow had a wierd stain. But was changed the next morning. Didn't get our wake up call, but we had a back up. Taxi ordered was there on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Nov 3, 2009

Nice Hotel

Hotel and room decor is excellent. Location is great! The heat in hallway was too high. We had to sleep with the windows open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and sight seeing within walking distance.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Aug 23, 2009

Best trip ever! Great Location!

This was the best trip my mom and I have ever taken. The hotel was wonderful! It was in a prime location, just feet from the royal mile. It is central to everything. The service was outstanding. The breakfast was fabulous. We had no complaints!! We wish we could go back today :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take Rick Steve's Great Britain travel guide. It has great tips! The hotel is just a short walk to anything! The train station, castle, palace...it's on the royal mile. No better location than this place :)

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clifton, NJ
Jul 14, 2009

A nice place to stay in central Edinburg

This is a great place to stay. The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators, generously sized queen beds, and flat screen as well as large bathrooms. Maid service was spotty - they make the beds rather than change them and don't refill the toiletries daily - but it was clean and quiet. They also suspend maid service on Sundays. We had an electrical failure in our room and they were able to move us to a nearby room with no problem. We had a great view of the Waverly bridge and the skyline from one of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Being right on the Royal Mile saves you a bundle in cab fare if you are a first-time visitor doing the major attractions.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 13, 2009

Good God, Avoid at All Costs!

The manager [...] pooh-poohed our complaint that that the window dressing leaked and woke us up in the middle of the night; at 3:00 pm we awoke to a "drip drip drip" from the ceiling into our luggage on a chair! We called for 20 minutes trying to get help, but no one answered. Again, [...] thought this was acceptable. What if we needed an ambulance? Apparently, she doesn't care.Bottom line: this hotel has serious water issues, which might not be a problem in a place like Athens; but let's face it, in Edinburgh, there's always rain. Not only that, but she also tried to explain away a toilet that did not flush properly -- a complaint we did not lodge, but someone did.DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top