$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
102 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Hotel Map

55.9501 -3.1924
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport (EDI) 7.8 miles North East of property
Area description
This historic listed building is located just off the Royal Mile on St Giles Street, the former Fleet Street of Scotland housing the Edinburgh Daily Mail and The Herald amongst others. Dating back to the 1800's the property boasts views across Princes Street Gardens to the Forth of Firth and beyond from it's pepper pot turrets. This marvellously central location allows you to explore Scotland's famous Capital city whether you are looking for culture, entertainment, shopping, fine dining or just a relaxing stroll through the old town. Business travellers will also find the city's main conference and meeting facilities close at hand along with many National companies conveniently situated within a mile. The warm and contemporary ambiance creates an individual character for each serviced residence. You too can experience the magical feel of staying in you're very own special room emulated by Scotland's most famous castle overlooking the property from the very top of the Royal Mile.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave.WiFi
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Wifi
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billhamm
Lafayette, CA
Aug 25, 2013

Best Location in Town!

Right in the heart of Old Town, Fraser Suites offers comfort and Avery friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Howie's on Victoria Street offers very good food at reasonable prices.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fonz
Southern California
Nov 6, 2010

Excellent Location - 5 Min walk 2 Castle

Able to get parking on street out front, but normally staff provides discount coupon for public parking blocks away. fantastic location for The Royal Mile and Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Sky Girls MT
Helena, MT
Oct 30, 2010

Great stay!

This was my first international trip and even though the prices are alot more than what you would spend in the U.S. it was worth it. I probably read over a 100 reviews and I personally found the staff to be very helpful even sent someone to our room to explain the light switches and needing a outlet converter for our electronics. Our rooms were cleaned every day and on our last day I did laundry and was plesently surprised that it was free. We stayed in a jr. ste and the room was great and just like everyone else the beds were incredibly soft like a giant fluffy pillow. Location perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harvey Nichols Fourth Floor had the view, great food, we went with no reservations and had no problem being seated and the prices are very reasonable.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily - First Time In Edinburgh
New York
Oct 29, 2010

Amazing Location!!!

Fraser Suites was in the absolute best location in Edinburgh! It was literally steps to the Royal Mile, everything was right outside our door. You have Edinburgh Castle at one end and then the Holyrood Palace at the other - we really couldn't have picked a better location. The surrounding buildings are stunning and we felt that the hotel had a great modern feel to it. The rooms were very comfortable and had a convenient little kitchen area (with mini fridge, microwave, sink). When we go back to Edinburgh we will 100% stay at this hotel again, I cannot recommend it enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael
Not Provided
Oct 23, 2010

A great hotel with excellent staff

A great hotel with excellent staff and high standard accommodation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Canada
Oct 4, 2010

Faser Suites Edinburgh

The pictures on the internet made the rooms look way bigger than they actually were. I thought the suites would have a kitchen but they only had a sink and a microwave and a desk no kitchen table and chairs. We asked for a room with a view and were given a view of a brick wall but the hotel did check our request and then quickly changed us to a room with a great view yeah! The variety of teas and shortbread cookies were a nice treat. The room was not air conditioned but since the temperature outside was fairly cool we opened the windows and that worked. The free washing machines and dryers were a great asset, they were open 24 hours and they were spotless. There could have been a place to sit to wait for the clothes to dry. The hotel booked a tour for us that was very good. The hotel shuttle was super but did not run too regulary and did not run on weekends. We took the shuttle once to the Queen's Summer Palace. We booked the shuttle to the airport and that was fabulous as we could share the fare with other guests. Both drivers were very courteous and friendly. We were surprised that most pubs stop serving food at 9:00 pm and numerous restaurants near the hotel were closed at 10:00 pm. The hotel staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Marks and Spencer (hotel advised) has a ATM Machine that does not charge for use, you just have to pay what your bank charges which eliminated extra charges. If you don't take the route turning right from the hotel the shorter way is to go left from the hotel and then right take the first exit through the steps (not easy to see just ask in one of the stores)the other way the steps are extremely steep especially if you came back this way.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fremont, CA
Sep 24, 2010

Great place to stay

Best location. In walking distance everywhere including the Royal Castle. Shops and restaurants all around. Very clean room with just about everything we needed. Best hotel we stayed at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the graveyard tour offered nightly at the St. Giles Cathedral. It's about 1 hour and 20 minutes and it's worth doing if you're into that.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
glasgow
Aug 25, 2010

lovely!

lovely hotel, lovely location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lasse
Helsinki
Aug 5, 2010

Best value ever

A comfortable suite with a great with and in the middle of things for a moderate price. Best value I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 22, 2010

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

very nice hotel. excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 13, 2010

I stayed at Fraser Suites twice

I stayed at Fraser Suites twice within a span of a week, first in a Junior Suite and second in a classic room. Location-wise, it is centrally-located just under 10 minutes (uphill) walk from Waverly train station and 15 minutes from Princes Street. The decor is classic cream with high ceilings. The junior suite had an amazing view of Scotts Monument and Princes Street while the classic room faced a tall brick wall. Facilities within the room were good. There was a small kitchenette with cutlery, tea making facilities, sink, fridge and a microwave (dishwasher in the suite). There was an iron and ironing board, hairdryer and wall-mounted flat-screen tv and iPod dock. I would definitely recommend staying here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search