$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
View map of 12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billhamm
Lafayette, CA
Aug 25, 2013

Best Location in Town!

Right in the heart of Old Town, Fraser Suites offers comfort and Avery friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Howie's on Victoria Street offers very good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily - First Time In Edinburgh
Business
New York
Oct 29, 2010

Amazing Location!!!

Fraser Suites was in the absolute best location in Edinburgh! It was literally steps to the Royal Mile, everything was right outside our door. You have Edinburgh Castle at one end and then the Holyrood Palace at the other - we really couldn't have picked a better location. The surrounding buildings are stunning and we felt that the hotel had a great modern feel to it. The rooms were very comfortable and had a convenient little kitchen area (with mini fridge, microwave, sink). When we go back to Edinburgh we will 100% stay at this hotel again, I cannot recommend it enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Oct 4, 2010

Faser Suites Edinburgh

The pictures on the internet made the rooms look way bigger than they actually were. I thought the suites would have a kitchen but they only had a sink and a microwave and a desk no kitchen table and chairs. We asked for a room with a view and were given a view of a brick wall but the hotel did check our request and then quickly changed us to a room with a great view yeah! The variety of teas and shortbread cookies were a nice treat. The room was not air conditioned but since the temperature outside was fairly cool we opened the windows and that worked. The free washing machines and dryers were a great asset, they were open 24 hours and they were spotless. There could have been a place to sit to wait for the clothes to dry. The hotel booked a tour for us that was very good. The hotel shuttle was super but did not run too regulary and did not run on weekends. We took the shuttle once to the Queen's Summer Palace. We booked the shuttle to the airport and that was fabulous as we could share the fare with other guests. Both drivers were very courteous and friendly. We were surprised that most pubs stop serving food at 9:00 pm and numerous restaurants near the hotel were closed at 10:00 pm. The hotel staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Marks and Spencer (hotel advised) has a ATM Machine that does not charge for use, you just have to pay what your bank charges which eliminated extra charges. If you don't take the route turning right from the hotel the shorter way is to go left from the hotel and then right take the first exit through the steps (not easy to see just ask in one of the stores)the other way the steps are extremely steep especially if you came back this way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Sep 24, 2010

Great place to stay

Best location. In walking distance everywhere including the Royal Castle. Shops and restaurants all around. Very clean room with just about everything we needed. Best hotel we stayed at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the graveyard tour offered nightly at the St. Giles Cathedral. It's about 1 hour and 20 minutes and it's worth doing if you're into that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glasgow
Aug 25, 2010

lovely!

lovely hotel, lovely location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lasse
Business
Helsinki
Aug 5, 2010

Best value ever

A comfortable suite with a great with and in the middle of things for a moderate price. Best value I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 22, 2010

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

very nice hotel. excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

Great Location, Wonderful Rooms!

The experience was wonderful. Fraser Suites is in a great location - right off the Royal Mile - and yet the room was quiet and restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lkuhg
Business
a;ljfd
Jul 1, 2010

Sleeping in a sauna

The hotel would have been fine, but our room was very warm and there was no way to cool it other than the fan they gave us that didn't work well. We barely slept, sweating all night. The staff guy was not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver Canada
Jun 21, 2010

excellent facility

The location of the Fraser Suites can't be beat. Steps to the Royal Mile, easy walk to Princes Street and five minute walk to Waverley station. We arrived early, nine o'clock, and they let us into our room, an unexpected bonus after a trans-Atlantic flight. Everything about the hotel met and exceeded our expectations, we even had a great view of the old town and Calton hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to do one of the night walks, fascinating stories of Edinburgh's ghostly past

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fn
Business
Texas
Jun 17, 2010

Great Location and Clean!

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Great Britain, this was definitely the freshest. It was clean and minimalist (No fussy wallpapers and bedspreads). The location was great. Everything is very close.Instant coffee in the rooms as in all other hotels we stayed at (YUCK). Nice little kitchenette for people travelling with little children. Huge bath towels that were nice and white. Continental breakfast not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petit Paris- Great french food at a reasonable price. Only place that served free bread and water. I know this sounds silly, but during the three weeks we travelled around, we had to always ask for water with our meals. The Witchery- very good but pricey. We went for lunch and selected from the special lunch menu £13.50. Off the regular menu prices were very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top