$184 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
102 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Hotel Map

55.9501 -3.1924
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport (EDI) 7.8 miles North East of property
Area description
This historic listed building is located just off the Royal Mile on St Giles Street, the former Fleet Street of Scotland housing the Edinburgh Daily Mail and The Herald amongst others. Dating back to the 1800's the property boasts views across Princes Street Gardens to the Forth of Firth and beyond from it's pepper pot turrets. This marvellously central location allows you to explore Scotland's famous Capital city whether you are looking for culture, entertainment, shopping, fine dining or just a relaxing stroll through the old town. Business travellers will also find the city's main conference and meeting facilities close at hand along with many National companies conveniently situated within a mile. The warm and contemporary ambiance creates an individual character for each serviced residence. You too can experience the magical feel of staying in you're very own special room emulated by Scotland's most famous castle overlooking the property from the very top of the Royal Mile.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave.WiFi
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Wifi
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prattville, AL
May 24, 2011

Great location; great hotel

Fraser Suites is 38 steps from the Royal Mile. When you reach the Royal Mile, you are across the street from St. Giles Cathedral; a few blocks from Edinburgh Castle; and within an easy walk to the steps down to the Grassmarket. Also an easy walk from the train station...if you walk in the right direction. Next time, we'll walk in the right direction. It would be difficult to beat the location. The rooms are spacious, with high ceilings, and have a mini-fridge and a coffee/tea kettle. At least, ours did. Laundry facility in the basement (bring your own detergent, but no charge for washers & dryers), along with a fitness room you will not need, as Edinburgh is quite hilly, with lots of steps. One of the most beautiful cities I have ever seen, and a great place to stay, to experience it. An hour of wireless internet is reasonable, but you will need to sit in the (quite comfortable) lobby area to take advantage of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dewhee
Virginia
Apr 16, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Fraser Suites Edinburgh is in the heart of Edinburgh along the Royal Mile. I highly recommend the hotel. Our room was spacious and well equipped. With the exception of one individual staff member, all staff were helpful and friendly. We did find it strange that toiletries such as shampoo and soap were not replenished daily (although you could request more). We were more than pleased with the hotel, would recommend it to others, and would stay here again if traveling to Edinburgh in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Along the Royal Mile is a Starbucks, HOWEVER, just a few steps away is a small cafe called Chocolate Soup, that has the most incredible hot chocolate and other perfect warm (and iced) drinks. Save Starbucks for when you're home--Chocolate Soup when you're in Edinburgh!!!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dewhee
Virginia
Apr 16, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Fraser Suites Edinburgh is in the heart of Edinburgh along the Royal Mile. I highly recommend the hotel. Our room was spacious and well equipped. With the exception of one individual staff member, all staff were helpful and friendly. We did find it strange that toiletries such as shampoo and soap were not replenished daily (although you could request more). We were more than pleased with the hotel, would recommend it to others, and would stay here again if traveling to Edinburgh in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Along the Royal Mile is a Starbucks, HOWEVER, just a few steps away is a small cafe called Chocolate Soup, that has the most incredible hot chocolate and other perfect warm (and iced) drinks. Save Starbucks for when you're home--Chocolate Soup when you're in Edinburgh!!!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Apr 6, 2011

Outstanding Restaurant, Small Rooms

The Fraser Suites was designed within the constraints of the old building it occupies, and it does very well within the given constraints. Both the staff and the decor are high-class. The hotel restaurant is five-star! The room and common areas were beautifully decorated, and the room had a comfortable bed and good shower pressure. However, the room (because of the old building) was so small that you need to be very creative with storing luggage to be able to walk around without hazard. The location is excellent, a half block off the Royal Mile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Broadstreet Bistro restaurant at the hotel serves gourmet food that is fairly priced for the quality. The restaurant was so good, in fact, that I would recommend that non patrons of this hotel try the restaurant for an excellent meal. We had the braised shin of beef, horseradish mashed potatoes, and sweet roasted carrots; and the Scottish smoked salmon, poached salmon parfait, pickled beetroot, and dill crisp bread; and pan fried sea bass, parsnip puree, and roast potatoes. Everything was magnificent!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Apr 6, 2011

Outstanding Restaurant, Small Rooms

The Fraser Suites was designed within the constraints of the old building it occupies, and it does very well within the given constraints. Both the staff and the decor are high-class. The hotel restaurant is five-star! The room and common areas were beautifully decorated, and the room had a comfortable bed and good shower pressure. However, the room (because of the old building) was so small that you need to be very creative with storing luggage to be able to walk around without hazard. The location is excellent, a half block off the Royal Mile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Broadstreet Bistro restaurant at the hotel serves gourmet food that is fairly priced for the quality. The restaurant was so good, in fact, that I would recommend that non patrons of this hotel try the restaurant for an excellent meal. We had the braised shin of beef, horseradish mashed potatoes, and sweet roasted carrots; and the Scottish smoked salmon, poached salmon parfait, pickled beetroot, and dill crisp bread; and pan fried sea bass, parsnip puree, and roast potatoes. Everything was magnificent!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude thats been everywhere.
Seattle,Wa
Feb 23, 2011

Certain reception staff horrible!

We dealt with [...]upon arriving and from there it was a nightmare dealing with her. We had an executive room and all she did was give us lies upon lies as to why we were in a handicapped room instead and how we could not be in a different room.The next day things were supposed to be cleared up by the day staff and after returning to our upgraded room we were actually in a downgraded room by guess who?-yes, the same woman on staff in the afternoon. She said we had different reservations even though I showed her my confirmation form and even though she checked us in the day prior. Lied to us and said the manager wouldn't do anything and could not be reached, well after waiting in the lobby for the manager to return she finally took care of us and just made excuses as to why [...]was being a liar. Thank you [...]for your professionalism.We did not feel welcomed into that hotel and just being ignored by [...](only afternoon staff) every time we walked by was awkward.Summary: Bad reception staff, going up and down to different rooms because of a vindictive staff member, for who knows what reason, not getting a hello or goodbye as you enter and leave and feeling unwelcome to a hotel you payed good money to really made our first trip to Edinburgh memorable for bad reasons as I sit here and type this.Why they hired the most un-friendly person in Scotland to work the front desk is beyond me and sadly we went to another Hotel's concierge to ask for directions because of the bad demeanor [...]gave us. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude thats been everywhere.
Seattle,Wa
Feb 23, 2011

Certain reception staff horrible!

We dealt with [...]upon arriving and from there it was a nightmare dealing with her. We had an executive room and all she did was give us lies upon lies as to why we were in a handicapped room instead and how we could not be in a different room.The next day things were supposed to be cleared up by the day staff and after returning to our upgraded room we were actually in a downgraded room by guess who?-yes, the same woman on staff in the afternoon. She said we had different reservations even though I showed her my confirmation form and even though she checked us in the day prior. Lied to us and said the manager wouldn't do anything and could not be reached, well after waiting in the lobby for the manager to return she finally took care of us and just made excuses as to why [...]was being a liar. Thank you [...]for your professionalism.We did not feel welcomed into that hotel and just being ignored by [...](only afternoon staff) every time we walked by was awkward.Summary: Bad reception staff, going up and down to different rooms because of a vindictive staff member, for who knows what reason, not getting a hello or goodbye as you enter and leave and feeling unwelcome to a hotel you payed good money to really made our first trip to Edinburgh memorable for bad reasons as I sit here and type this.Why they hired the most un-friendly person in Scotland to work the front desk is beyond me and sadly we went to another Hotel's concierge to ask for directions because of the bad demeanor [...]gave us. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fonz
Southern California
Nov 6, 2010

Excellent Location - 5 Min walk 2 Castle

Able to get parking on street out front, but normally staff provides discount coupon for public parking blocks away. fantastic location for The Royal Mile and Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fonz
Southern California
Nov 6, 2010

Excellent Location - 5 Min walk 2 Castle

Able to get parking on street out front, but normally staff provides discount coupon for public parking blocks away. fantastic location for The Royal Mile and Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Sky Girls MT
Helena, MT
Oct 30, 2010

Great stay!

This was my first international trip and even though the prices are alot more than what you would spend in the U.S. it was worth it. I probably read over a 100 reviews and I personally found the staff to be very helpful even sent someone to our room to explain the light switches and needing a outlet converter for our electronics. Our rooms were cleaned every day and on our last day I did laundry and was plesently surprised that it was free. We stayed in a jr. ste and the room was great and just like everyone else the beds were incredibly soft like a giant fluffy pillow. Location perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harvey Nichols Fourth Floor had the view, great food, we went with no reservations and had no problem being seated and the prices are very reasonable.

Back to menu Return to top