$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Hotel Map

55.9501 -3.1924
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport (EDI) 7.8 miles North East of property
Area description
This historic listed building is located just off the Royal Mile on St Giles Street, the former Fleet Street of Scotland housing the Edinburgh Daily Mail and The Herald amongst others. Dating back to the 1800's the property boasts views across Princes Street Gardens to the Forth of Firth and beyond from it's pepper pot turrets. This marvellously central location allows you to explore Scotland's famous Capital city whether you are looking for culture, entertainment, shopping, fine dining or just a relaxing stroll through the old town. Business travellers will also find the city's main conference and meeting facilities close at hand along with many National companies conveniently situated within a mile. The warm and contemporary ambiance creates an individual character for each serviced residence. You too can experience the magical feel of staying in you're very own special room emulated by Scotland's most famous castle overlooking the property from the very top of the Royal Mile.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave.WiFi
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Wifi
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Oct 4, 2010

Faser Suites Edinburgh

The pictures on the internet made the rooms look way bigger than they actually were. I thought the suites would have a kitchen but they only had a sink and a microwave and a desk no kitchen table and chairs. We asked for a room with a view and were given a view of a brick wall but the hotel did check our request and then quickly changed us to a room with a great view yeah! The variety of teas and shortbread cookies were a nice treat. The room was not air conditioned but since the temperature outside was fairly cool we opened the windows and that worked. The free washing machines and dryers were a great asset, they were open 24 hours and they were spotless. There could have been a place to sit to wait for the clothes to dry. The hotel booked a tour for us that was very good. The hotel shuttle was super but did not run too regulary and did not run on weekends. We took the shuttle once to the Queen's Summer Palace. We booked the shuttle to the airport and that was fabulous as we could share the fare with other guests. Both drivers were very courteous and friendly. We were surprised that most pubs stop serving food at 9:00 pm and numerous restaurants near the hotel were closed at 10:00 pm. The hotel staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Marks and Spencer (hotel advised) has a ATM Machine that does not charge for use, you just have to pay what your bank charges which eliminated extra charges. If you don't take the route turning right from the hotel the shorter way is to go left from the hotel and then right take the first exit through the steps (not easy to see just ask in one of the stores)the other way the steps are extremely steep especially if you came back this way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Sep 24, 2010

Great place to stay

Best location. In walking distance everywhere including the Royal Castle. Shops and restaurants all around. Very clean room with just about everything we needed. Best hotel we stayed at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the graveyard tour offered nightly at the St. Giles Cathedral. It's about 1 hour and 20 minutes and it's worth doing if you're into that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glasgow
Aug 25, 2010

lovely!

lovely hotel, lovely location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lasse
Business
Helsinki
Aug 5, 2010

Best value ever

A comfortable suite with a great with and in the middle of things for a moderate price. Best value I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 22, 2010

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

very nice hotel. excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

Great Location, Wonderful Rooms!

The experience was wonderful. Fraser Suites is in a great location - right off the Royal Mile - and yet the room was quiet and restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lkuhg
Business
a;ljfd
Jul 1, 2010

Sleeping in a sauna

The hotel would have been fine, but our room was very warm and there was no way to cool it other than the fan they gave us that didn't work well. We barely slept, sweating all night. The staff guy was not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver Canada
Jun 21, 2010

excellent facility

The location of the Fraser Suites can't be beat. Steps to the Royal Mile, easy walk to Princes Street and five minute walk to Waverley station. We arrived early, nine o'clock, and they let us into our room, an unexpected bonus after a trans-Atlantic flight. Everything about the hotel met and exceeded our expectations, we even had a great view of the old town and Calton hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to do one of the night walks, fascinating stories of Edinburgh's ghostly past

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fn
Business
Texas
Jun 17, 2010

Great Location and Clean!

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Great Britain, this was definitely the freshest. It was clean and minimalist (No fussy wallpapers and bedspreads). The location was great. Everything is very close.Instant coffee in the rooms as in all other hotels we stayed at (YUCK). Nice little kitchenette for people travelling with little children. Huge bath towels that were nice and white. Continental breakfast not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petit Paris- Great french food at a reasonable price. Only place that served free bread and water. I know this sounds silly, but during the three weeks we travelled around, we had to always ask for water with our meals. The Witchery- very good but pricey. We went for lunch and selected from the special lunch menu £13.50. Off the regular menu prices were very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasance fan
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 22, 2010

Great Location!

I went during the Fringe Festival, and the staff could not help with directions to the Pleasance Theatre, so they were unfamiliar with events/locations. I also asked where the closest double decker tour bus stop was, and they sent me to the main stop several blocks away, when the bus actually stopped a half block away. They didn't know that you could purchas a ticket at any stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top