$205 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
102 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave.WiFi
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Wifi
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9501 -3.1924
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport (EDI) 7.8 miles North East of property
Area description
This historic listed building is located just off the Royal Mile on St Giles Street, the former Fleet Street of Scotland housing the Edinburgh Daily Mail and The Herald amongst others. Dating back to the 1800's the property boasts views across Princes Street Gardens to the Forth of Firth and beyond from it's pepper pot turrets. This marvellously central location allows you to explore Scotland's famous Capital city whether you are looking for culture, entertainment, shopping, fine dining or just a relaxing stroll through the old town. Business travellers will also find the city's main conference and meeting facilities close at hand along with many National companies conveniently situated within a mile. The warm and contemporary ambiance creates an individual character for each serviced residence. You too can experience the magical feel of staying in you're very own special room emulated by Scotland's most famous castle overlooking the property from the very top of the Royal Mile.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlPal14
Bend, Oregon
Sep 8, 2011

Awesome location and room--but best to grab breakfast elsewhere.

This hotel was reasonably priced during the middle of The Fringe; however, the lack of the ability to pull our rental car up front to drop off our luggage made it difficult. But it was worth it to be in the middle of the Royal Mile and surrounded in activity, as well as steps from St. Giles Cathedral. We also loved our room, which was comfortable, modern, cozy, and had many amenities. We would strongly suggest spending your 12.50 elsewhere for breakfast. Our was not included, but we went anyway, and don't think it was worth the cost. Instead, we went to the small cafe next door the next morning, and had a wonderful meal for half the cost. Further, we watched more than 6 staff members perform rather poorly, leaving one patron sitting without being acknowledged, for more than 10 minutes; while another couple waited for 30 minutes for their food only to have to reorder after finally getting the waiter's attention. I think there is plenty of room for improvement in the breakfast room. Lastly, the front desk managers were friendly, warm, and very helpful; however, some of the international front desk staff was not and left us feeling less-than-welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally on the Royal Mile, between St. Giles, Princes Street, and the castle. The location can't be beat!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kono
edmonton ,Canada
Sep 7, 2011

Stay at Fraser suites , Edinburgh , Scotland

We enjoyed our stay very much . Restaurant delicious food--service excellent there also Its location afew steps from "Royal Mile" and a short walk to Princes Street great too. Next timewe will request higher floor for view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

nice,good prices ,excellent friendly servers Hotel staff extemely nice and helpful.. Very good shuttle vehicle and knoeledgable driver

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kono
edmonton ,Canada
Sep 7, 2011

Stay at Fraser suites , Edinburgh , Scotland

We enjoyed our stay very much . Restaurant delicious food--service excellent there also Its location afew steps from "Royal Mile" and a short walk to Princes Street great too. Next timewe will request higher floor for view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

nice,good prices ,excellent friendly servers Hotel staff extemely nice and helpful.. Very good shuttle vehicle and knoeledgable driver

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jul 17, 2011

Fraser suites

i was in a conference, and enjoyed the quiet, sophisticated atmosphere. It needs wireless in the rooms! The restaurant is really great and so is the service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jul 17, 2011

Fraser suites

i was in a conference, and enjoyed the quiet, sophisticated atmosphere. It needs wireless in the rooms! The restaurant is really great and so is the service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jun 18, 2011

Location!

The principal reason for rating this hotel high was its location--in the heart of Old Town, a few seconds off the Royal Mile on a quiet side street. Pleasant bonus was a high-quality, yet undiscovered, restaurant in the hotel. Good front desk staff, but inconsistent housekeeping service. No free Internet access. Small room was uncomfortably hot (no A/C), even when outside temperature was cool (apparently 5th and 6th floors especially); but view was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe right next door to the hotel was a cheaper breakfast option.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jun 18, 2011

Location!

The principal reason for rating this hotel high was its location--in the heart of Old Town, a few seconds off the Royal Mile on a quiet side street. Pleasant bonus was a high-quality, yet undiscovered, restaurant in the hotel. Good front desk staff, but inconsistent housekeeping service. No free Internet access. Small room was uncomfortably hot (no A/C), even when outside temperature was cool (apparently 5th and 6th floors especially); but view was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe right next door to the hotel was a cheaper breakfast option.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA USA
Jun 3, 2011

Mixed Bag

We had a two night stay at Fraser Suites. The first night they put us into a small attic room with no AC and a very small window. The heat blasted all night long and we got very little sleep. After we complained about the accommodations we were upgraded to a very nice executive suite for the next night. We returned the next week for a one night stay with another couple. Our room was fine with a nice street side view but our friend's room was excessively warm and they had no hot water for their morning shower. We heard at check out that the boiler had blown earlier in the morning. The hotel is in a great location but I think they have HVAC issues that need to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxies Wine Bar

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA USA
Jun 3, 2011

Mixed Bag

We had a two night stay at Fraser Suites. The first night they put us into a small attic room with no AC and a very small window. The heat blasted all night long and we got very little sleep. After we complained about the accommodations we were upgraded to a very nice executive suite for the next night. We returned the next week for a one night stay with another couple. Our room was fine with a nice street side view but our friend's room was excessively warm and they had no hot water for their morning shower. We heard at check out that the boiler had blown earlier in the morning. The hotel is in a great location but I think they have HVAC issues that need to be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxies Wine Bar

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prattville, AL
May 24, 2011

Great location; great hotel

Fraser Suites is 38 steps from the Royal Mile. When you reach the Royal Mile, you are across the street from St. Giles Cathedral; a few blocks from Edinburgh Castle; and within an easy walk to the steps down to the Grassmarket. Also an easy walk from the train station...if you walk in the right direction. Next time, we'll walk in the right direction. It would be difficult to beat the location. The rooms are spacious, with high ceilings, and have a mini-fridge and a coffee/tea kettle. At least, ours did. Laundry facility in the basement (bring your own detergent, but no charge for washers & dryers), along with a fitness room you will not need, as Edinburgh is quite hilly, with lots of steps. One of the most beautiful cities I have ever seen, and a great place to stay, to experience it. An hour of wireless internet is reasonable, but you will need to sit in the (quite comfortable) lobby area to take advantage of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top