$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
View map of 12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cheryl2012
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Hotel

My last two trips to Edinburgh, I stayed in other 5 and 4 star hotels, but neither of them can match the value, comfort, services, or location of the Fraser Suites. It was perfect from beginning to end. We were there during Hogmanay, and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a perfect stay. The beds were comfy, the rooms and baths were spacious, and as an American, I found that to be a big plus. The location is perfect....right off the royal Mile, close to the train stain station, and an easy walk to Princess Street Gardens and the shops on Princess Street. I cannot say enough good things about my stay at Fraser Suites Hotel. This is now my hotel of choice when I visit Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bobcut
Business
Aberdeen, Uk
Dec 30, 2011

location -great, room cleanliness-poor

Great Location. Hotel Staff not too friendly. Room not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LBKnight
Business
London via Dallas, Texas
Dec 16, 2011

Perfect!

this place, for the price we booked at, can't be beat. Luxury rooms and great bathrooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergio FP
Business
Brasil
Dec 4, 2011

Best hotel ever

Excellent location. Very comfortable rooms. Totally recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoNonsenseTraveler
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

This hotel was a great find when we traveled in October 2011. Rooms were modern and comfortable but didn't seem to have any air conditioning. Fine for the fall weather when we stayed. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to see. If you want to stay in the old town at a nice looking hotel this will be hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast in the hotel was very popular (i.e., long wait for hot food), but didn't wow us. We went next door our second day and had quicker service at a much cheaper price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlton
Business
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oct 26, 2011

Fraser Suites Edinburgh October 2011

We were visiting Scotland for a couple of days and we were very pleased with this hotel in Edinburgh that we stayed at. Restaurants and attractions are all a short walk away. Except that it does not have internet service, everything else was outstanding. It's one of best hotels we've ever stayed, and we've stayed at over 30 hotels across the US, Canada, Mexico, Caribbean, and Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The starting point of the Hop-on Hop-off Bus tour of Edinburgh, as well as the Bus Station, is just a short walk away from Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scouting through Scotland
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

Perfect location

Great place to stay, right in the heart of things, just off the Royal Mile. My only complaint was that the room needed a thorough cleaning. There was a large swath of the shower that had mould and mildew and the floors could have stood to be really cleaned. Otherwise, location and the design aesthetic were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe next door is a lovely place for breakfast or a glass of wine later in the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. L
Business
Ithaca, NY, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Snazzy convenient hotel

The Frazier Hotel is in a great location on a quiet side street off the Royal Mile. It is just up the hill from the train station and an Air Link bus stop (2-5 minute walk depending on luggage). Beautiful hotel in a building that housed a newspaper in it's former life. Great staff, comfortable, chic rooms. I ate at the hotel restaurant which was both reasonable and yummy. This hotel would be great for an extended stay with spacious romms and a mini kitchen or for an overnight to catch an early flight or train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whereami
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Location, Location, Location

Very good. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a wedding rehearsal lunch in their restaurant and were very happy with the service and food. Are located half a block from "The Royal Mile". Lots of shops, restaurants, and Edinburgh castle within walking distance. Heating was hard to regulate - but, hey, this is a stone building that is probably older than the U.S.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlPal14
Business
Bend, Oregon
Sep 8, 2011

Awesome location and room--but best to grab breakfast elsewhere.

This hotel was reasonably priced during the middle of The Fringe; however, the lack of the ability to pull our rental car up front to drop off our luggage made it difficult. But it was worth it to be in the middle of the Royal Mile and surrounded in activity, as well as steps from St. Giles Cathedral. We also loved our room, which was comfortable, modern, cozy, and had many amenities. We would strongly suggest spending your 12.50 elsewhere for breakfast. Our was not included, but we went anyway, and don't think it was worth the cost. Instead, we went to the small cafe next door the next morning, and had a wonderful meal for half the cost. Further, we watched more than 6 staff members perform rather poorly, leaving one patron sitting without being acknowledged, for more than 10 minutes; while another couple waited for 30 minutes for their food only to have to reorder after finally getting the waiter's attention. I think there is plenty of room for improvement in the breakfast room. Lastly, the front desk managers were friendly, warm, and very helpful; however, some of the international front desk staff was not and left us feeling less-than-welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally on the Royal Mile, between St. Giles, Princes Street, and the castle. The location can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top