$147 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

4 stars
12-26 St Giles Street, 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1PT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
102 reviews
Ideal Location

The Frasier Suites sits on a side street of the Royal Mile right across from St. Giles Cathedral,... See full review

  • Ebrennan87
  • Nov 22, 2013
Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is the best located in Edinburgh and at a great value! The room didn't have temperature... See full review

  • Maria0172
  • Sep 4, 2013
Popular with our customers, these luxury boutique suites are perfectly placed just off the Royal Mile, what better location for your city break! Near to Edinburgh Castle boasting great views over the city skyline the suites are designed with you in mind. In addition, you can enjoy use of the laundry and modern gym plus the bistro style breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. You are within easy reach of all the city tourist highlights including, Holyrood Palace, National Museum and the National Gallery of Scotland. Further afield you can hike to the top of Arthur Seat, take the bus to Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith, shop in George Street with its designer stores or just enjoy Edinburgh's cafe culture, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is on business or leisure, our team at Fraser Suites are welcoming and they will do their best to ensure your trip to Edinburgh is a memorable one. Full Breakfast is available at an extra cost of 14.95 per person

Hotel Map

55.9501 -3.1924
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport (EDI) 7.8 miles North East of property
Area description
This historic listed building is located just off the Royal Mile on St Giles Street, the former Fleet Street of Scotland housing the Edinburgh Daily Mail and The Herald amongst others. Dating back to the 1800's the property boasts views across Princes Street Gardens to the Forth of Firth and beyond from it's pepper pot turrets. This marvellously central location allows you to explore Scotland's famous Capital city whether you are looking for culture, entertainment, shopping, fine dining or just a relaxing stroll through the old town. Business travellers will also find the city's main conference and meeting facilities close at hand along with many National companies conveniently situated within a mile. The warm and contemporary ambiance creates an individual character for each serviced residence. You too can experience the magical feel of staying in you're very own special room emulated by Scotland's most famous castle overlooking the property from the very top of the Royal Mile.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Suites Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Fraser Suites Edinburgh Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE
Junior Suite with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished and spacious open plan living area, LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave.WiFi
ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT
One Bedroom Apartment with queen size double bed. Beautifully finished, spacious rooms with separate living room and bedroom full of historic Edinburgh character. LCD flat screen television, kitchen with integrated dishwasher, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathroom with designer toiletries.Wifi
CLASSIC DELUXE
Classic Deluxe room with queen size double bed. Spacious and beautifully finished with LCD flat screen television, ensuite Villeroy and Boch bathrooms with designer toiletries and extra facilities such as a fridge and microwave. WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.8 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.8 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1 mi
  • Newington: 1 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.1 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 1.1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1.1 mi
  • Dalry: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Broadsheet Bistro
Situated on the ground floor of the Fraser Suites, The Broadsheet Bistro offers contemporary dishes using the very best of fresh Scottish produce. Full Breakfast is available at a cost of 14.95 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
jefferson city,TN
Jun 17, 2012

The best

Me and my wife went to Scotland for 12 days and this was the top hotel we stayed in.It is in the city so you can walk to everything and it is so clean and the everyone was so helpful. We will stay their next time we go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out side you are where everything is

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JVFDenver
Denver, CO
Jun 8, 2012

Good Location

Good location. View from our window of a construction site. The bed was broken down on the side so that I felt like I was going to roll off the edge. The pillows were hard and flat. The bathtub was slippery and there was no rubber mat to stand on for showering. We liked the kitchenette with refrigerator and coffee service. Room was small. All in all, good price, but wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rcd n sjd
New England
May 31, 2012

OK, not great

The staff who greeted us and checked us in were cold, at best. The room was 2 levels below street level. That means we were in the basement with a view out the window of a stone wall. The room felt cramped for 2 adults. I'd requested a twin room and got a single, full-sized bed. My adult son and I were okay with that for one night but, as I said, it felt cramped. The location is excellent, though. A few minutes walk from the train station and many sites, like the castle. This was an acceptable place for one night but I might think of other places the next time I go to Edinburgh. Not a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Des687
Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Edinburgh

This was a perfect location. Just off the royal mile , easy to walk to everything including Waverly Station, the main train terminal. The rooms were beautiful. Coffee, tea, a kettle, iron hairdryer, a little fridge. Every room also includes silver ware & dishes. Shower was great, lots of hot water & pressure. I was very impressed with everything in this hotel for the price we paid, which I felt was reasonable. The restruant was also very good. Staff was very helpful & always freindly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SC cat
South Carolina, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Great location in Old town. The staff was amazing! When we checked in there was a problem with our room (the previous occupant was still in the room!) but the staff handled everything quickly and professionally and even gave us a bottle of wine as an apology! Every member of the staff was top-notch for our 2 day stay! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. G. C.
South of Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2012

Nice Minus

Well-located and reasonably priced. Not a 5 Star property. Stayed here for 5 days, and they didn't bring in another shower cap or bar of soap until we requested one after three days. The first 10 tv channels didn't work for 2+ days. Wi Fi was free in the lobby but required repeated requests for a password which changed every hour or so. Bathrooms were very modern and attractive while hallway carpets were tattered. Major deficit was no luggage rack. No air conditioning but room cooled with the window open. Bed was comfortable. Small exercise room with adequate equipment. On site free washers and dryers. Neighborhood restaurants were varied and some were excellent. A ten minute walk from the high-toned George Street shopping district. Altogether, a nice and reasonable priced hotel, but not as luxurious as one might have expected with a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1.) 5 minutes to the Elephant House for a nice breakfast and light dinner Cafe (where J. K. Rawlings wrote Harry Potter. 2.) Vittoria Restaurant (close to Elephant house) and a Vittoria Group companion, Divino Enoteca, another 5 minutes walk under the George IV Bridge for excellent Italian food and wine. 3.) 3 minute walk down the Royal Mile to the Royal MacGregor Restaurant/ Bar for fish & chips, other seafood and locally available produce. Family run, fresh, very well prepared, and a great value.

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jen and jack
jarrow
Mar 24, 2012

excellent and in a prime location

Really good value for money, one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Even though the hotel is very central to bars and shops, the room was very quiet. Staff were really friendly and helpful and even offered to check us in early, instead of just holding our bags for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great city center location!

My daughter and I spent 1 night at this hotel. Location is perfect, right in the middle of the historical center of the city. All the attractions are walking distance. Very quiet. We were there on a Saturday night and the city can get a little rowdy, we did not hear a thing. The entire place is spotless, beautifully decorated, very calming and relaxing atmosphere. Staff is always available and helpful. Our room (304) had a little kitchen area which could come handy if you plan on staying for a few days. THIS HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE A PARKING. If you have a car, you will need to go and park it about 1/2 mile and walk . This is not in the hotel description and we found out the hard way. Overall a very good hotel if you do not have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoyabean
Durham, County Durham, UK
Feb 23, 2012

Brilliant Hotel

We checked in and the receptionist staff was super friendly and we got our room right away. The room was gorgeous and completely modern - the shower was amazing! It has a small sink, fridge, microwave and toaster if you needed it but it was so close to everything we just popped out. I cant recommend this place enough and plan on returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay here go down to Viva Mexico on Cockburn for some amazing Mexican food!

Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stefanline
Business
High Point, NC
Feb 1, 2012

Should not be a Five Star Hotel

Not to dwell on the negative because this is located at the base of the castle and is a beautifully renovated building and the rooms are stunningly decorated, I felt I got stuck in the room that is the least desireable. It was 106, window right next to the public stairs that when folks would come up the stairs they would make so much noise you thought they were in your room. The mattress was the most uncomfortable I had slept on ever, pillows were like cardboard. No wifi in the rooms, only LAN cable connections which for business travellers a major inconvenience. The staff was very nice, and besides what I mentioned I feel the value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in Old Town and at the base of the castle

Back to menu Return to top

Change search