$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3 stars
View map of 187 Clermiston Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
A perfect one nights stay

Efficient and friendly check in. The room was spotlessly clean and a pretty good size. Flat screen... See full review

  • JC31
  • Jul 12, 2015
Great Hotel

The main thing I always want in a hotel is cleanliness and this hotel certainly had it. Super clean... See full review

  • Laura M.
  • May 7, 2015
Edinburgh Capital Hotel is west of Edinburgh's city center, minutes from the airport. The hotel's wide variety of accommodations provides excellent values. The hotel is decorated in a modern, comfortable style and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.
Rooms

Edinburgh Capital Hotel has 111 ensuite bedrooms, ranging in size from single to family. All have a desk, iron, and ironing board, as well as free toiletries. Fourteen bedrooms are accessible for guests with reduced mobility, and four are wheelchair-accessible. All bedrooms have a telephone, satellite television, and free Wi-Fi. Interconnecting rooms and cots are available on request. All rooms are non-smoking.

Property features

The recently renovated Westview Restaurant uses seasonal local produce to create tasty, uncomplicated dishes. Westview Restaurant is popular with locals as well as guests, so book in advance. The restaurant is family-friendly, with a children's menu. The Westview Bar, between the restaurant and reception, serves lighter meals.

Highlights
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Family-friendly
  • Book dinner at the on-site restaurant in advance
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Murrayfield rugby stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Princes Street (5 mi/8 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Buses to Edinburgh city center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Edinburgh Capital Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Edinburgh Capital Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with double bed, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe
Twin Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with 2 single beds, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Braepark: 1.4 mi
  • Wester Broom: 1.5 mi
  • Ravelston: 1.5 mi
  • Cramond: 1.5 mi
  • Maybury: 1.6 mi
  • South Gyle: 1.6 mi
  • Balgreen: 1.6 mi
  • West Craigs: 1.7 mi
  • Saughton: 1.7 mi
  • Gogarloch: 1.7 mi
  • West Pilton: 1.7 mi
  • Stenhouse: 1.8 mi
  • Cammo: 1.9 mi
  • Roseburn: 1.9 mi
  • Crewe Toll: 1.9 mi
  • Westfield: 1.9 mi
  • Broomhouse: 1.9 mi
  • East Pilton: 1.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Park: 2 mi
  • Bankhead: 2 mi
  • Craigleith: 2 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Sighthill: 2.1 mi
  • Turnhouse: 2.1 mi
  • West Coates: 2.1 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Longstone: 2.2 mi
  • Chesser: 2.2 mi
  • Pilton: 2.3 mi
  • Comely Bank: 2.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Dining in the Westview is a fresh, affordable and an enjoyable experience. The contemporary look is complemented by chef's use of Scotland's natural larder to create tasty simple dishes which will be sure to hit the spot!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarek Nottingham
Business
Nottingham, uk
Jan 1, 2014

Very pleasant hotel

This hotel should be rated as 4 stars hotel. The hotels offers free internet, free fitness centre facilities, sauna, swimming pool. The bus stop just at the corner for easy reach to city center. Wonderful staffs. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beckie Boo
Business
Swindon, Wiltshire
Feb 21, 2014

A gem outside the city!

We arrived very early before check in and went and had a coffee in the breakfast area, then within a couple of hours we were told we could check in early. Which after a long trek up we needed our bed! The bed was enormous. Two singles attached well together. Very comfy as well. Great size rooms, big bathroom and it was all in great condition and very clean. Breakfast was discounted to £10 each but had plenty of choice. My partner being a vegetarian still had plenty to choose from as well. Cooked and continental. The staff were all fantastic and couldn't do enough to help. They were chatty and friendly and so polite. The pool, sauna and steam room are lovely. Shame there isn't a jacuzzi/ spa. We didn't use the gym but looked good. Yes it is a fair way from the city. Took about 15-20 minutes on the bus. But there is a huge car park if you have a car. Plus I think its free. All in all a lovely place, great staff and we can't wait to return soon. Thank you everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus day ticket is great value. Unlimited stops.

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam83NC
Business
Sylva, NC
Apr 25, 2014

Edinburgh trip

I loved the location, very picturesque. From the restaurant, you can look out towards the Forth of Firth (I think) and see the airport, but the views are spectacular. The room was nice and fit my needs as a lone traveler perfectly. The staff were very accommodating and made me feel very welcome. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day pass for the Buses. It was £3.50 and you can use it all day until midnight. The 26 bus will pick up by Rannoch Road and the 1 bus will drop you off right behind the hotel.

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young holiday maker
Business
Cavan, Ireland
Apr 19, 2011

Perfect location to explore Edinburgh!!

We stayed at this hotel as it was unbeatable value for money. We were more than delighted with the service this hotel provided for us. The location was brilliant as we were just outside the city and the bus service running was just around the corner from the hotel, 2 mins walk literally. We stayed for 4 days and the hotel staff were more than helpful to us. As we were all quiet young aged 21-23 we thought we would be treated differently. The staff treated us the same as everyone else. Cant praise this hotel enough. Loved it!!! Would def stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debby85
Business
London, UK
Feb 21, 2012

Romantic Couple Week-end getaway

It was a fantastic week-end! The hotel is 15 min from the airport by taxi and 20 min to the city centre by bus, staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Room very clean and comfortable, Fitness centre with swimming pool, sauna and steam room is just what we need it after a long cold day, so relaxing! Definitely i would recommend this hotel! Thank you for the lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great Food, good service, the Restaurant has an amazing view!

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie elle
Business
UK
Oct 6, 2012

Comfortable, convenience for any occassion

fab staff, comfy room, great bar/room service. easy to drive into edinburgh centre. got room for great price which made it better. wouldn't pay premium price but definitely use again if can get discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orlskie
Business
ireland
Mar 20, 2013

great hotel

we really enjoyed our stay,every staff member was lovely,the leisure centre and pool are fanastic, we had 2 course early bird dinner for £10, that was great. we had breakfast in town as we went out early. it is located in a mostly housing area but the bus stop is just outside and bus is £3.50 for day pass, supermarket is also nearby,taxi costs about £13 to and from airport. this is a really great hotel, the room was very warm and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

not about the hotel, everything was great there, just edinburugh itself is very very cold in march, we didnt bring enough warm and waterproof clothes

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Light Sleeper
Business
Devon
May 24, 2013

Great for a quiet stay in Edinburgh

Situated halfway between airport and city centre makes this hotel a great choice if you like quiet locations. There is a fantastic bus service (26) that runs every 12 mins from just around the corner from the hotel and is only £1.50 each way. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is worthy of 4 stars (though it is only 3). Breakfast & evening meals were wonderful. We would gladly go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FKCOM
Business
Coventry
Jul 17, 2013

Excellent Family getaway

The hotel, facilities and staff performance were completely outstanding and above expectation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Gym, Free swimmimg pool, free parking etc

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ken678567
Business
New Forest, Hampshire
Oct 17, 2013

Capital Hotel

Comfortable large room, excellent pool, sauna etc. and terrific breakfast, all at a good price.. ALL the staff were unfailingly helpful. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top