$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3 stars
187 Clermiston Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Edinburgh trip

I loved the location, very picturesque. From the restaurant, you can look out towards the Forth of... See full review

  • Adam83NC
  • Apr 25, 2014
A gem outside the city!

We arrived very early before check in and went and had a coffee in the breakfast area, then within... See full review

  • Beckie Boo
  • Feb 21, 2014
Large hotel ideally situated for easy airport access
Edinburgh Capital Hotel is west of Edinburgh's city center, minutes from the airport. The hotel's wide variety of accommodations provides excellent values. The hotel is decorated in a modern, comfortable style and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Family-friendly
  • Book dinner at the on-site restaurant in advance
Rooms

Edinburgh Capital Hotel has 111 ensuite bedrooms, ranging in size from single to family. All have a desk, iron, and ironing board, as well as free toiletries. Fourteen bedrooms are accessible for guests with reduced mobility, and four are wheelchair-accessible. All bedrooms have a telephone, satellite television, and free Wi-Fi. Interconnecting rooms and cots are available on request. All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

The recently renovated Westview Restaurant uses seasonal local produce to create tasty, uncomplicated dishes. Westview Restaurant is popular with locals as well as guests, so book in advance. The restaurant is family-friendly, with a children's menu. The Westview Bar, between the restaurant and reception, serves lighter meals.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Buses to Edinburgh city center
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Murrayfield rugby stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Princes Street (5 mi/8 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

Hotel Map

55.956 -3.2797
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport
Area description
The M90 takes you over the Forth Road Bridge, stay on A90 to multi traffic lights at Barnton. Keep straight ahead through these lights, then get into right lane straight away and at lights turn right into Drum Bare North. Take second turn left up Drum Brae North to the top, then right and hotel is on the right

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Edinburgh Capital Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Edinburgh Capital Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with double bed, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe
Twin Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with 2 single beds, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Braepark: 1.4 mi
  • Wester Broom: 1.5 mi
  • Ravelston: 1.5 mi
  • Cramond: 1.5 mi
  • Maybury: 1.6 mi
  • South Gyle: 1.6 mi
  • Balgreen: 1.6 mi
  • West Craigs: 1.7 mi
  • Saughton: 1.7 mi
  • Gogarloch: 1.7 mi
  • West Pilton: 1.7 mi
  • Stenhouse: 1.8 mi
  • Cammo: 1.9 mi
  • Roseburn: 1.9 mi
  • Crewe Toll: 1.9 mi
  • Westfield: 1.9 mi
  • Broomhouse: 1.9 mi
  • East Pilton: 1.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Park: 2 mi
  • Bankhead: 2 mi
  • Craigleith: 2 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Sighthill: 2.1 mi
  • Turnhouse: 2.1 mi
  • West Coates: 2.1 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Longstone: 2.2 mi
  • Chesser: 2.2 mi
  • Pilton: 2.3 mi
  • Comely Bank: 2.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Dining in the Westview is a fresh, affordable and an enjoyable experience. The contemporary look is complemented by chef's use of Scotland's natural larder to create tasty simple dishes which will be sure to hit the spot!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philprof
Business
Greensboro, NC
Aug 31, 2011

Ideal if you have an early flight

A much better value than other hotels near the airport. VERY clean and comfortable, nice bar. Food is reasonably priced, although the lamb could be better prepared. Stick with the beef or order the porkchop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westlake Village, ca
Jul 1, 2011

great room for a great price

Just one night on our way home. Pleasently surprised by the size of the room. Very clean hotel, lovely room and friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westlake Village, ca
Jul 1, 2011

great room for a great price

Just one night on our way home. Pleasently surprised by the size of the room. Very clean hotel, lovely room and friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bonjovi fan
kilwinning
Jun 26, 2011

Fantastic stay

We went to the bon jovi concert at murrayfield, the staff was brilliant so helpful. The room was clean the bed huge, was a bit warm but nothing to complain about. i would go back again thanks very much to all the staff. only thing that i found a negative was the food was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the bus nr 26 takes you everywhere, and its just round the corner from the hotel

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young holiday maker
Cavan, Ireland
Apr 19, 2011

Perfect location to explore Edinburgh!!

We stayed at this hotel as it was unbeatable value for money. We were more than delighted with the service this hotel provided for us. The location was brilliant as we were just outside the city and the bus service running was just around the corner from the hotel, 2 mins walk literally. We stayed for 4 days and the hotel staff were more than helpful to us. As we were all quiet young aged 21-23 we thought we would be treated differently. The staff treated us the same as everyone else. Cant praise this hotel enough. Loved it!!! Would def stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lesleyag
Oakland, NJ
Dec 19, 2009

Convenient for me!

Very pleased with the hotel. I have celiac disease and e-mailed ahead to make sure they could accomodate a gluten free diet in the restaurant. They replied quickly and ordered gluten free bread for my stay. The staff in the restaurant were able to guide me through the menu. The room was downstairs and was a little difficult navigating the stairs with luggage. The only downside was an odd odor in the room. I suspect it was originally a smoking room. However after being in the room for a few minutes you didn't really notice it. The room was very quiet though I had read some other reviews complaining about noise I certainly didn't experience any problems. It may be a little far out for some but the area was great for me as I was visiting a relative close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lesleyag
Oakland, NJ
Dec 19, 2009

Convenient for me!

Very pleased with the hotel. I have celiac disease and e-mailed ahead to make sure they could accomodate a gluten free diet in the restaurant. They replied quickly and ordered gluten free bread for my stay. The staff in the restaurant were able to guide me through the menu. The room was downstairs and was a little difficult navigating the stairs with luggage. The only downside was an odd odor in the room. I suspect it was originally a smoking room. However after being in the room for a few minutes you didn't really notice it. The room was very quiet though I had read some other reviews complaining about noise I certainly didn't experience any problems. It may be a little far out for some but the area was great for me as I was visiting a relative close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top