$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3 stars
View map of 187 Clermiston Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UG

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie elle
Business
UK
Oct 6, 2012

Comfortable, convenience for any occassion

fab staff, comfy room, great bar/room service. easy to drive into edinburgh centre. got room for great price which made it better. wouldn't pay premium price but definitely use again if can get discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheila B
Business
Oldbury
Sep 27, 2012

Good 3 star for minibreak

I was in Edinburgh for a minibreak (shopping and sightseeing). I was a little underwhelmed by the lobby on arrival and, on the way to the room, felt the corridors were a little shabby (scuffy wallpaper, chipped skirting boards, grubby carpets). However, the room itself was clean and well presented with the standard tea/coffee, tv, trouser press. The room was decorated in tones of brown and beige with a small table and chairs by the window. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but the shower a little tricky to get right. There was a swimming pool, sauna & steam room with gym facilities as part of the fitness centre which was very good - well maintained with good changing facilities. The restaurant was fine - decent prices, ok food. There is free wifi but I thought it was a bit slow. The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and professional. All in all a good 3 star with a few minor points that could be improved. One major downside was a lot of noise late Monday night to early Tuesday - queried it with the staff next day but no idea what it could have been. I travelled to Edinburgh by plane & got a taxi from the airport. There is an airlink bus from the city centre directly to the airport, £3.50 & about 20 mins. It would have fairly simple to get to the hotel by bus but would have involved at least one change. For the rest of my stay, I travelled by bus as there is a stop just around the corner & a daysaver cost £3.50 for unlimited travel - took about 15-20 mins to get to city centre. I visited Edinburgh Castle, the National Museum, the Art Gallery, took a bus tour, etc. A very picturesque city with many beautiful buildings. There is some disruption at the moment as they are putting a tram system in and also some building work in the very outer areas of the castle. The hotel itself is on Corstophine Hill which has plenty of scope for walks & good views, if your room is to the rear. It is very near to Edinburgh Zoo. The trip compares well with other visits to cities in the UK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

On the last day, I had to check out a lot earlier than my flight time so I left my bag at Waverley train station rather than carry it around all day.

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabre Hockey coach
Business
Naperville, Illinois
Aug 18, 2012

Edinburgh option

Great location not too far from airport and away from hectic city center traffic yet close enough to hop over to center. Very attentive staff. Nice hilly park right across road and many walking/ running options in adjacent residential neighborhood. Free spacious parking. Windows open for great fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debby85
Business
London, UK
Feb 21, 2012

Romantic Couple Week-end getaway

It was a fantastic week-end! The hotel is 15 min from the airport by taxi and 20 min to the city centre by bus, staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Room very clean and comfortable, Fitness centre with swimming pool, sauna and steam room is just what we need it after a long cold day, so relaxing! Definitely i would recommend this hotel! Thank you for the lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great Food, good service, the Restaurant has an amazing view!

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ncsimpson
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Just fine

although the hotel is configured a little funny and the room was hard to find, the hotel was quiet and relatively easily accessible. the food was pretty good for the price. they don't offer a complimentary service to the airport, but they did schedule a taxi for me at 4am. beds are pretty uncomfortable. shower is so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Su W
Business
Birmingham, England
Oct 21, 2011

Friendly and quiet

Far enough out of the city to be quiet but only an easy 15 minutes bus ride from the city. Staff all friendly and helpful. Food in the evening good quality, tasty and good value. Breakfast was pretty good although the choices were a little limited. Would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a daysaver bus ticket for £3.20 and you can travel anywhere all day. Buses are supper clean and run every couple of minutes.

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ncsimpson
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Not the greatest, but not not the worst by any means

While the location of the hotel is a little out of the way, the overall aesthetic of the hotel itself was lovely. Although neither the bed nor the pillows weren't comfortable in the slightest, the room service was quick, the food was averagely good and all of my requests were taken care of - like a 4am wake up call and taxi ride to the airport. I would stay here again as a spot of transfer to get me closer to the airport, but not as a place to stay for a week on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Oct 10, 2011

why stay here?

The lobby looks good. The hotel and rooms have been recently renovated according to the staff. However, the beds are soggy, rooms are dimly lit. Cups and spoons for tea were not clean. Why would you stay here? My husband picked the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jssb
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Business Stay

Hotel is 15 min (~7 GBP) by cab from airport; great for travel. A bit far from central Edinburgh (i.e., Royal Mile, castle) for site seeing by foot. Hotel is well equipped for business traveller; great Scottish breakfast buffet. One night stay that had a water interruption, but staff made sure bottle water available until water authority fixed problem (2 hrs, still had time to shower before leaving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Sky Greg
Business
Bozeman, Mt, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Green Foodie in Edinburgh

I chose this hotel becuase of the large greenspace across the street with trail running it, which turned out to be tremendous for morning runs. Beyond that the motels was immaculate, the bed comformtable, and the meals....they were amazing! I have never had A+ hotel food like this (and it was reasonably priced to boot). My friends also told me that the Beattle stayed here once when it was called Fox something. All in all, I will stay here again. Only down side for some, is it's distance from the city center -- if something else calls you to Edinburgh, that shouldn't be a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurants are usually mediocre. This hotel had amazing food. I would look twice at the wine list though, as the glass poors left something to be desired.

Back to menu Return to top