$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3 stars
187 Clermiston Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
31 reviews
A gem outside the city!

We arrived very early before check in and went and had a coffee in the breakfast area, then within... See full review

  • Beckie Boo
  • Feb 21, 2014
Very pleasant hotel

This hotel should be rated as 4 stars hotel. The hotels offers free internet, free fitness centre... See full review

  • Tarek Nottingham
  • Jan 1, 2014
Large hotel ideally situated for easy airport access
Edinburgh Capital Hotel is west of Edinburgh's city center, minutes from the airport. The hotel's wide variety of accommodations provides excellent values. The hotel is decorated in a modern, comfortable style and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Family-friendly
  • Book dinner at the on-site restaurant in advance
Rooms

Edinburgh Capital Hotel has 111 ensuite bedrooms, ranging in size from single to family. All have a desk, iron, and ironing board, as well as free toiletries. Fourteen bedrooms are accessible for guests with reduced mobility, and four are wheelchair-accessible. All bedrooms have a telephone, satellite television, and free Wi-Fi. Interconnecting rooms and cots are available on request. All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

The recently renovated Westview Restaurant uses seasonal local produce to create tasty, uncomplicated dishes. Westview Restaurant is popular with locals as well as guests, so book in advance. The restaurant is family-friendly, with a children's menu. The Westview Bar, between the restaurant and reception, serves lighter meals.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Buses to Edinburgh city center
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Murrayfield rugby stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Princes Street (5 mi/8 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

Edinburgh Capital Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with double bed, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe
Twin Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with 2 single beds, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Edinburgh Capital Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.956 -3.2797
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport
Area description
The M90 takes you over the Forth Road Bridge, stay on A90 to multi traffic lights at Barnton. Keep straight ahead through these lights, then get into right lane straight away and at lights turn right into Drum Bare North. Take second turn left up Drum Brae North to the top, then right and hotel is on the right

Nearby points of interest

  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Braepark: 1.4 mi
  • Wester Broom: 1.5 mi
  • Ravelston: 1.5 mi
  • Cramond: 1.5 mi
  • Maybury: 1.6 mi
  • South Gyle: 1.6 mi
  • Balgreen: 1.6 mi
  • West Craigs: 1.7 mi
  • Saughton: 1.7 mi
  • Gogarloch: 1.7 mi
  • West Pilton: 1.7 mi
  • Stenhouse: 1.8 mi
  • Cammo: 1.9 mi
  • Roseburn: 1.9 mi
  • Crewe Toll: 1.9 mi
  • Westfield: 1.9 mi
  • Broomhouse: 1.9 mi
  • East Pilton: 1.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Park: 2 mi
  • Bankhead: 2 mi
  • Craigleith: 2 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Sighthill: 2.1 mi
  • Turnhouse: 2.1 mi
  • West Coates: 2.1 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Longstone: 2.2 mi
  • Chesser: 2.2 mi
  • Pilton: 2.3 mi
  • Comely Bank: 2.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Dining in the Westview is a fresh, affordable and an enjoyable experience. The contemporary look is complemented by chef's use of Scotland's natural larder to create tasty simple dishes which will be sure to hit the spot!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Rex Traveler
Tulsa, OK
May 24, 2013

Great Price for Family Hotel

Great Hotel, between downtown and the Airport. Staff was very nice and made checkin easy, the room was clean and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Agalar
Airdrie, Lanarkshire
May 9, 2013

Overnight Stay

Having booked on the morning of our arrival the hotel didn't let us down. Handy location with free parking, local buses taking you into the city on your doorstep plus leisure facilities and very helpful, pleasant staff. Worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carvery meal good value

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Golfer Girl117
Brooksville, Florida
Apr 30, 2013

Nice Hotel

This hotel was everything we needed. Right by the bus stop...so we got a weekly bus pass & rode all over the city. The indoor pool ,steam room,sauna,& exercise room were great! Especially after a day of sightseeing & walking for miles. We did not eat there. The only problem we had was we never got our wake-up call at 3AM, luckily we woke up , because we had to catch the 4:21 am bus. There was a hot pot in the room and coffee or tea, so we'd just pick up muffins or sweet rolls the night before & that was our breakfast . All in all a nice place to stay. Beware or creaky floors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

daily bus pass 3.5 pound...weekly bus pass 20 pound also includes the airlink bus back to the airport...excellent value if you are going to be sightseeing and going to town everyday. Also groupons & wowchers for eating save you a lot of money!!

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Canny Traveler
Kensington, MD
Apr 13, 2013

Great location for college visiting

We stayed at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel in order to visit St Andrews and Edinburgh University. The hotel was well located for this purpose, easily reachable from the airport and with quick access out of the city towards the Firth of Forth Bridge, but also convenient for city sightseeing and visiting. The gym facilities are excellent, with a full fitness center and large indoor pool on site - as a guest you are even entitled to attend classes at the fitness center which include yoga, aerobics, etc. The on-site dining options are a little limited, and we felt that the restaurant was pricy for the quality of food, but it was convenient for a meal when all we wanted to do was eat and go to bed after our long flight. I would definitely stay here again and recommend for families and travelers looking for a cost-effective alternative to being in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
orlskie
ireland
Mar 20, 2013

great hotel

we really enjoyed our stay,every staff member was lovely,the leisure centre and pool are fanastic, we had 2 course early bird dinner for £10, that was great. we had breakfast in town as we went out early. it is located in a mostly housing area but the bus stop is just outside and bus is £3.50 for day pass, supermarket is also nearby,taxi costs about £13 to and from airport. this is a really great hotel, the room was very warm and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

not about the hotel, everything was great there, just edinburugh itself is very very cold in march, we didnt bring enough warm and waterproof clothes

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Keith Flynn
Malta
Mar 5, 2013

My Stay At The Capital Hotel _Keith

I have stayed at this particular hotel on a number of occasions, and am never disappointed with the experience. The room is comfortable, clean and serviced daily, which is a pleasure to find when I have been out all day and wish to relax. I did not take advantage of any meals, so can't comment regarding this aspect of the hotel. The reception area is manned by friendly and welcoming staff, which deserves particular mention. First impressions count and it's hard to find fault with either the interior or the fast and efficient staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Rosie elle
Business
UK
Oct 6, 2012

Comfortable, convenience for any occassion

fab staff, comfy room, great bar/room service. easy to drive into edinburgh centre. got room for great price which made it better. wouldn't pay premium price but definitely use again if can get discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sheila B
Oldbury
Sep 27, 2012

Good 3 star for minibreak

I was in Edinburgh for a minibreak (shopping and sightseeing). I was a little underwhelmed by the lobby on arrival and, on the way to the room, felt the corridors were a little shabby (scuffy wallpaper, chipped skirting boards, grubby carpets). However, the room itself was clean and well presented with the standard tea/coffee, tv, trouser press. The room was decorated in tones of brown and beige with a small table and chairs by the window. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but the shower a little tricky to get right. There was a swimming pool, sauna & steam room with gym facilities as part of the fitness centre which was very good - well maintained with good changing facilities. The restaurant was fine - decent prices, ok food. There is free wifi but I thought it was a bit slow. The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and professional. All in all a good 3 star with a few minor points that could be improved. One major downside was a lot of noise late Monday night to early Tuesday - queried it with the staff next day but no idea what it could have been. I travelled to Edinburgh by plane & got a taxi from the airport. There is an airlink bus from the city centre directly to the airport, £3.50 & about 20 mins. It would have fairly simple to get to the hotel by bus but would have involved at least one change. For the rest of my stay, I travelled by bus as there is a stop just around the corner & a daysaver cost £3.50 for unlimited travel - took about 15-20 mins to get to city centre. I visited Edinburgh Castle, the National Museum, the Art Gallery, took a bus tour, etc. A very picturesque city with many beautiful buildings. There is some disruption at the moment as they are putting a tram system in and also some building work in the very outer areas of the castle. The hotel itself is on Corstophine Hill which has plenty of scope for walks & good views, if your room is to the rear. It is very near to Edinburgh Zoo. The trip compares well with other visits to cities in the UK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

On the last day, I had to check out a lot earlier than my flight time so I left my bag at Waverley train station rather than carry it around all day.

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sabre Hockey coach
Naperville, Illinois
Aug 18, 2012

Edinburgh option

Great location not too far from airport and away from hectic city center traffic yet close enough to hop over to center. Very attentive staff. Nice hilly park right across road and many walking/ running options in adjacent residential neighborhood. Free spacious parking. Windows open for great fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Debby85
London, UK
Feb 21, 2012

Romantic Couple Week-end getaway

It was a fantastic week-end! The hotel is 15 min from the airport by taxi and 20 min to the city centre by bus, staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Room very clean and comfortable, Fitness centre with swimming pool, sauna and steam room is just what we need it after a long cold day, so relaxing! Definitely i would recommend this hotel! Thank you for the lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great Food, good service, the Restaurant has an amazing view!

Back to menu Return to top