Channings ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$74
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016
4.3 /5
Overall score
95%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Single
  • Occupancy: 1
Show Prices Superior Double
  • Size: 86 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Double
  • Size: 64 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The four-star Channings Hotel prides itself on an atmosphere that is more country-house than city accommodation. Channings enjoys a quiet location overlooking private gardens. Princes Street and all of Edinburgh's amenities are within easy reach. The hotel combines five Edwardian townhouses, one of them the former home of Antarctic explorer Sir Ernest Shackleton. Channings offers guests a warm welcome, great food and wine, and free Internet access.

Rooms

No two of the 41 rooms are exactly the same, in layout or décor. Rooms are available as single, double/twin, superior double/twin, four poster, and suite. The three top-floor suites and two slightly smaller Shackleton Rooms are named after Sir Ernest Shackleton and his fellow Antarctic adventurers. These new suites and their bathrooms are spacious, with separate baths and walk-in showers. The contemporary styling includes bold colors and striking, black-and-white photography of Shackleton's expeditions. All rooms and suites have free Internet, a television entertainment system, private bathroom, Molton Brown toiletries, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, trouser press, tea- and coffee-making equipment, and study/work area. Room service is available 24 hours. Guests can request laundry and dry cleaning services.

Property features

Channings Restaurant is a delightful, neighborhood bistro with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The hotel chefs have developed an impressive menu focusing on high quality, in-season, organic produce. The Sun Deck, which captures the sun all day, is an ideal spot to enjoy a quiet drink. The Wine Bar at Channings is perfect for a pre-dinner cocktail, some wine after work, or a late-night glass of sherry. Inverarity Vaults, a family-owned, independent Scottish company, supplies the wines.

 

Channings has three meeting rooms, with a maximum capacity of 50.

Highlights

  • Free Internet access
  • Restaurants and wine bar
  • Walking distance to Princes Street
  • All rooms non-smoking

Nearby attractions

  • Princes Street (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Charlotte Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Usher Hall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Royal Mile (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1.8 mi/2.9 km) 

Business

  • Three meeting rooms hold from 20 to 50
  • Free Internet access
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Transportation

  • Haymarket Rail Station (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

Dining

Channings Restaurant & Bar
Experience great food and flavoursome wine in a warm and welcoming ambience in Channings Restaurant. The team of Chefs has developed an impressive repertoire of modern and exciting dishes, which culminates in a menu focusing on seasonality and high quality, organic produce. Alternatively, relax in vibrant wine bar and enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, a light lunch or sit down to a meal from the extensive bar menu - a great place to meet any time of day!

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.8 / 5
$56
Guest score 5.0 / 5
$78
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$66
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$51
Guest score 4.8 / 5
$138

Palmerston Suites

★★★★
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$63

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

General

  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

4.3 /5 Overall score

95% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.6/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.6/5
  • Comfort: 4.2/5
  • Location: 4.3/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

There for 2 days

Would recommend Sun, Jun 22, 2014
Location is not great, walking for 25 min will take you downtown, taxi will cost about 8-9 pounds to get you downtown. Clean room and very friendly stuff. Overall good value.

Dining

Multiple pubs and small restaurants, about 25 min walk from hotel towards downtown

| El Paso, Texas Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent well situated weekend break hotel.

Would recommend Wed, Oct 30, 2013
A charming hotel with good facilities and within easy walking distance to Edinburgh centre. The staff are all very professioal,polite and helpful with good advice given by the reception on information requested. The hotel bar was friendly and the bar meals GVFM. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from.We ate at Lancers(Indian restaunt at Stocksbridge),Wildfire (Bistro in Rose Street) and visited the Scotch Whisky Experience on the Platinum Tour which included a meal. All restaurnts were very good and reasonably priced.

Time saver

Black cab taxi's are good value and willingly give good local knowledge/informatin for your holiday.

| Durham Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Stay

Would recommend Sat, Jun 1, 2013
The hotel is a short walk from the city center in a quiet neighborhood. The staff was very nice and helpful. Onsite restaurant and bar were great. Only downside is parking. Overnight parking is fine but there is no all day parking onsite. Have to feed a meter.

| California Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

One Night in June

Would recommend Tue, Jun 26, 2012
I spent one night here in June as I extended a business trip into a weekend holiday in Edinburgh. The two best features of the hotel in my (limited) experience there was the staff (very friendly and helpful) and the restaurant (excellent breakfast and a good dinner). The issues I had was a very small room (perhaps to be expected as it was a single) and that the wireless only worked around the lobby. However, I would recommend hotel to others. It is in the age and style as most of New Town is and has a certain amount of charm. It is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the Waverly train station, so its location is not the most convenient but is in a nice quiet residential area.

| Houston, Texas Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Another great weekend

Would recommend Wed, Feb 15, 2012
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in edinburgh. If i had 1 minor criticism its the pillows are too soft - but thats a personal choice, I asked for some firmer ones but they weren't provided

| Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good Hotel although a little tired and dated

Would recommend Sat, Jan 7, 2012
Location was good, only a 10 minute walk into the city centre. Breakfast was superb and the staff very helpful and nice. The hotel is not meant to be new and contemporary but the room was quite dated and tired looking and really could do with decorating. There were stains on the wallpaper above the radiator, the bath antislip mat had seen better days and was grubby, the bathroom could do with updating although the beds were very comfortable and the sheets and towels luxurious. It could be a great hotel but in its current state, just average. We managed to get a good deal on it which is why we rated the value good but if we had paid the actual rack rate would have been disappointed... although hotel accommodation in Edinburgh generally is quite expensive so maybe it is reasonable.

| Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A Lovely Week at Channings

Would recommend Mon, Oct 3, 2011
We stayed at Channings for 6 nights in September. It's not like other hotels I've stayed at in European cities, it's relatively small, fancier than I usually book (I'm usually a budget traveler but this was very affordable), and off by itself in a quiet suburb of Edinburgh. You have to walk about 15 minutes past the end of the New Town to get there, but the walk is on a street with enough traffic and in a nice enough neighborhood that I never felt unsafe, even late at night. There was good bus service nearby once we figured out how to use it. And as we discovered over the trip, although at first this seems out on an edge, and isn't close to the Castle and Old Town (probably a thirty to forty minute walk), it's surprisingly convenient to other Edinburgh sites like the lovely little in-city villages of Dean and Stockbridge, the Royal Botanical Garden, and the Royal Yacht Britannia. The hotel was lovely, a row of old houses that were decorated in a way that made you feel like you were at the gentleman adventurer's club, as fits a former house of Ernest Shackleton. The room was comfy, great high ceilings, a good shower and bath with plentiful hot water and pressure, and big beds. The only thing I would have wished for was a safe in the room. We were right off the lobby but never heard a sound from other guests from in our room. We had the full Scottish breakfast, in which all the components were well done, although even the continental breakfast was better than at some of the places I've stayed. The hotel restaurant had some very reasonable options if you just needed a tide-me-over and the dinner menu looked lovely, although we never took advantage of it. We dealt with the concierge and front desk three times, and they were always helpful, prompt, and enthusiastic. If you don't mind being a little bit away from the usual tourist path in Edinburgh (and it really isn't that far), then I highly recommend Channings. I would stay here again anytime.

| Williamsburg, VA, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Channings, Edinburgh

Would recommend Sat, Jan 8, 2011
One of the reasons we keep going back to Channing's is they're consistent quality and homey "feel." This time was no exception.

Dining

Dinner at the Indian Calvary Club, followed by nightcaps in the Balmoral Hotel Bar at the other end of Prince's Street.

| Santa Clara, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A disappointment

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 13, 2010
I arrived with high expectations after reading all the great reviews.The hotel is in a beautiful part of town and looks very nice.Reception staff were very pleasant. Interior of hotel looks very nice.Getting to my room there were clear signs of wear and tear.Stains on the carpet,scrapes on the walls and chips of the furniture;not 4 star at all.In the bathroom the washbasin did not drain.The showertemperature proved almost impossible to set.From freezing to scalding hot. Going down to dinner in the bar area ,the seats and the floor looked grubby.The food was mediocre.I slept well it was very quiet outside.In the morning after the struggle with the shower{I heard other guests having the same problem}I went downstairs to breakfast.There they serve the worst coffee I have ever tasted.A very bitter brew.Breakfast is nothing to write home about.Afterwards I asked housekeeping for some extra instant coffee sachets to have a decent cup of coffee in my room,which they happily supplied.Front desk staff and housekeeping are very pleasant and helpful.This hotel is in need of maintenance and loving care. I will not stay again,and can not recommend.

Attractions

Botanical gardens are a treat.

| amsterdam Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Very nice, quiet, romantic

Would recommend Thu, Aug 12, 2010
Very nice stay. Quiet, Romantic Hotel. Great Value. Recommended.

| Bethlehem, PA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Comely Bank 0.2 mi
Dean Village 0.3 mi
The Grange 0.3 mi
Stockbridge 0.4 mi
Dean Gallery 0.4 mi
Georgian House 0.5 mi
Trinity House 0.5 mi
Craigleith 0.5 mi
Haymarket 0.7 mi
West Coates 0.8 mi
Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh 0.8 mi
Scott Monument 0.8 mi
Ravelston 0.9 mi
Dalry 0.9 mi
Princes Street 0.9 mi
Edinburgh Castle 0.9 mi
East Pilton 0.9 mi
Canonmills 0.9 mi
Roseburn 0.9 mi
Ferry Road 1 mi
National Gallery of Scotland 1 mi
Fountainbridge 1 mi
National Portrait Gallery 1 mi
Outlook Tower 1 mi
Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre 1 mi
Lochrin 1 mi
Inverleith 1 mi
Grassmarket 1.1 mi
Writer's Museum 1.1 mi
Princes Mall 1.1 mi
Warriston 1.1 mi
Crewe Toll 1.1 mi
Gladstone's Land 1.1 mi
Lauriston 1.1 mi
St Giles Cathedral 1.2 mi
Parliament House 1.2 mi
Pilton 1.2 mi
Drylaw 1.3 mi
Powderhall 1.3 mi
Ardmillan 1.3 mi
Cowgate 1.3 mi
Tynecastle Stadium 1.3 mi
Royal Museum 1.3 mi
Museum of Scotland 1.3 mi
Underground City 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$74
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016