$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

2 stars
10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh, EH7 5JR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
23 reviews
Great Location on the Fringe

The Cairn is located a short walk from Waverly Station on the fringe of the New Town. Great... See full review

  • Urban Spaceman
  • May 6, 2013
Great place to stay

the hotel was great it was staffed by caring people...Very helpful...Its is within walking distance... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 14, 2011
City center hotel close to top tourist attractions

Cairn Hotel is a 52-room establishment in Edinburgh's theater district. The hotel is easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10-minute walk away. The new meeting room Rendezvous can accommodate up to 15. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
  • Close to Edinburgh's historic old town and Castle
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

Cairn Hotel has 52 bedrooms -- 34 double or twin, nine single, and nine family. All rooms come with en suite bathroom and complimentary toiletries. Free coffee- and tea-making equipment and a direct dial phone are available in bedrooms. Hairdryers, ironing boards, and cribs are available free upon request. Connecting rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are available.

Features

Continental breakfast is served daily for an additional fee.

 

The traditional Indian menu at Classics restaurant, which is located next to the hotel, also offers standard European food.

 

The hotel offers a range of alternative relaxation therapies, such as reflexology, Reiki, yoga, meditation, hypnotherapy, and handwriting analysis.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.6 mi/13.84 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center
Nearby attractions
  • Scottish National Portrait Gallery (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (1.1 mi/1.77 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1.2 mi/1.93 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11km)
Business
  • Rendezvous meeting room can accommodate up to 15
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.7 mi/2.73 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cairn Hotel Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Rooms

Standard Double/Twin
Room offers 1 double bed or 1 twin with private bathroom hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Single
Room offer 1 twin bed with private bathroom hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Calton Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.5 mi
  • Easter Road: 0.5 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.6 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.5 mi
  • Easter Road: 0.5 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.6 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.7 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Leith Waterworld: 0.7 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Meadowbank: 0.9 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity House: 1 mi
  • Warriston: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Georgian House: 1.1 mi
  • Lauriston: 1.1 mi
  • Restalrig: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.2 mi
  • Jock's Lodge: 1.3 mi
  • Meadow park: 1.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Continental breakfast is offered to guests each morning at a cost of 5 pounds per person. There is a comfortable and spacious lounge with modern furnishings. It is an ideal place for customers to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 23
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Spaceman
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 6, 2013

Great Location on the Fringe

The Cairn is located a short walk from Waverly Station on the fringe of the New Town. Great location and close to many amenities. The hotel itself is divided into a main and annex across the street; my room was in the annex on the ground floor. The room, at the back away from the street overlooking an overgrown garden, was clean, pleasant and blissfully quiet, so quiet the birds chirping outside were a welcome change from the hard sounds of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the opportunity to share a local pint or a peaty whisky in one of Edinburgh's older pubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Southernmost Steampunk
Business
Key West, Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Solo Sojourn

I arrived early, so they had to stow my luggage for a few hours while I went to find something to do. When I arrived back, checking in went well enough, but there is no elevator. I had to carry my bags up to the next level and then manoeuvre through a few fire doors. A bit of a hassle, but nothing major. The room itself was quite narrow and I had a hard time finding space for myself and luggage.The en suite bathroom was tiny, though compared with the room, it wasn't surprising. Everything looked a bit worn, but wasn't filthy thankfully. The tv was new, and there was a big window with a view of the street. However, because of the window the room also got quite warm. The window was open when I arrived, but i decided to close it since it was a bit chilly. The next day when I decided to try to open it, I found it to be quite difficult. The location was great, but besides that I found the experience to be underwhelming. Also, the front desk sold postcards, but no international postcard stamps. Thankfully there was a post office just a block away. On leaving, I did notice the room next me was slightly bigger and also a single, so your experience may vary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a block away is a very nice Italian restaurant. I went there for lunch while waiting for my room. The storefront and interior weren't spectacular, but the food was good. Probably one of the best pizzas I had on my trip(and I had quite a few).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JREWORLD
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 12, 2012

Motel 6 of Edinburgh

Not recommended for more than a one or two night stay. Linens and towels where not changed, nor was the room cleaned. Room was in the basement with poor ventilation. Smelled musty and there was mold all over the shower area. Location is a 15 minute walk to Waverly Station. Plenty of eateries around. I did not eat at the hote restaurant given the condition of my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spamcho
Business
Europe, World
Apr 9, 2012

Not as expected

Everything was very good but these two things: 1. There was something like a hole in the window, so it was pretty cold in the room, so that I had to turn the heating system, which was not enough and I managed somehow to full that hole with the curtain. 2. There was no toilet brush... nothing more to say, this is something essential if you want to keep your toilet clean. However I would recommend staying in this hotel, it is a nice place with minor mistakes, which can be easily fixed :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

John Lewis center, there is a place where almost everything can be found for one pound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 14, 2011

Great place to stay

the hotel was great it was staffed by caring people...Very helpful...Its is within walking distance of all major attractions...my bed was so comfortable..all around great time....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 12, 2011

Great tourist hotel!

Staff was great, and the room was very clean and in good order. It is in a great neighborhood that is a short walk away from the royal mile and other touristy locations. I'll definitely be using this hotel when I go back. The restaurant was so-so. Breakfast, as with many hotels, was less than expected but a fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyssa, The Travelling Student
Business
Orono, ME
Nov 16, 2010

Great Surprise

I loved it! The staff were great and friendly. The lounge was clean and comfortable. It was a great location and really inexpensive. The restaurant downstairs had amazing food and the men that run it are very nice to talk to. The only downside was that my room got a total of about three or four tv stations which was actually good because it kept me out and about in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your student ID if you go to college. Everything in the city has major discounts for students.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rae
Business
ramsgate
Nov 10, 2010

noisy

great location, easy walking distance to princes street, castle and waverly station. unfortunately room was a bit shabby, stained carpet. and most of all the night time noise of traffic, barely slept. as no double glazing or secondary glazing. if had a room at back it may not be as bad. hotel was tired and dated, though was expecting more as had read reviews that was been refurbished i saw no evidence of this. being a single room it was small and had no bath just a shower. but room wasnt expensive so perhaps shouldnt expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lloyds bar two min walkaway open for breakfast from 7am

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patunia
Business
Montana
Sep 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for thr price

1st trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Edinburgh, UK really does not have street signs on poles at corners like other towns. Get a good map and you will find the names of the streets edged in stone on the building. Each corner of the building might have a different street name or different place name. Most of the buildings are Georgian design, so don't reley on a place and then turn at that corner because alot of the buldings are similar in color or size

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Good value

While this is a no-frills hotel, the price is reasonable and the location is relatively convenient. The staff were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top